We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive sized room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Hiroden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New Hiroden to your Saves list
Hotel New Hiroden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0821, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Impressive sized room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was definitely the biggest sized room we stayed in during our travels in Japan. It was made up of a lobby area with a desk, large cupboards, where we could store our rucksacks, and a mini fridge. Connected to that was a decent sized bathroom and then there was another room encasing a lounge area with sofa and tv and a large bed. It provided a great place to relax from a long day of sightseeing.
It was a hotel that was part of our guided tour of Japan and it was picked for its closeness to Hiroshima train station. Whilst it was a bit of a walk to get to other sights in Hiroshima, in general it was in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    120
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
43
52
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

ROOM:
Room size is a bit bigger than usual Japanese size which is nice. Plenty of closet/luggage space which is rare. Bathroom is also a bit bigger than usual Japanese standard and clean. There is no in-room wifi (only downstairs in lobby) so either you use the ethernet cable for Laptop/Netbook or bring your own wireless router if you have phones/tablets that can't plug in.

NEARBY:
There are a few 24hr convenience stores around the corner and small eateries under the overpass bridge. And of course the Hiroshima Station is just a 5min walk away for even more food options. From the hotel you're 10min walk across the bridge to Shukkeien, 15min walk to Hiroshima Castle, 30min walk/15min streetcar to Genbaku Dome).

TRANSPORTATION:
Hotel is a quick 5min walk from Hiroshima Station. It's the same station for Shinkansen and for the local lines which can connect you to nearby attractions like Miyajima (via JR Sanyo Main Line, get off at Miyajimaguchi, then take the JR Miyajima ferry). The interesting Hiroshima streetcar also stop/begin at Hiroshima Station and is worth at least a ride if only for nostalgic reasons.

Stayed in Sep 2013

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, ask for a high floor room away from the train tracks which are almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my Family stayed one night in The hotel in the beginning of Aug. 2013, and found the hotel a short walk from the central Hiroshima JR station. The rooms was Nice with a bit of more "plastic style" Décor. The room itself was functional, but small. Has an Automatic Parking next to the Hotel that will cost you 900 Yen per day. very basic. Very Nice and clean. The stuff are very helpful. Near all the very big names of car rental companies in Japan, so you can rent or bring back your rental car quickly and easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

2013 Aug 08. We stayed one night and found the hotel a short walk from the central station, but still the room was large by Japanese standards and a quiet location overlooking the river.
We walked to a Hiroshima Carp baseball game --- great fun after the sombre part of the day at the Peace Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Our one night experience at this hotel was a good one. Air conditioning was cold and the room was clean. It is close to the train station so getting any where in the city is easy. We walked from Hiroshima castle to the hotel in about 25 min.

The breakfast buffet was average at best. Pricing was ok. I'm ultra critical since I'm used to American style breakfast being one of my favorite meals of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Hiroden Hiroshima for 2 nights in one of their double rooms. The room itself was functional, but tiny (small even for a Japanese hotel room!). There was no wifi in the room, only in the lobby, though there was cabled internet in the room. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and the hotel is in a great location - lots of eateries in the neighbourhood, it's very close to the station, and it's an easy walk to Peace Memorial Park and Hiroshima Castle. The staff were great too, they spoke great English and were really helpful. Good value for money if you want something basic and functional.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Hotel New Hiroden recently. It is located about 5 minutes from the right of the south exit of Hiroshima Station. In fact, the building is quite tall. This made it very easy to recognise from a distance. There were many eateries and a supermarket (that closed quite late) within Hiroshima Station. The tram terminus is just outside the station. This made the hotel a really convenient place to commute within the city.

The exterior and the spacious lobby of the hotel looked impressive. After a quick check-in, I was given a room at level 12 of the property. However, I was less than impressed of the room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The design was slightly dated which could benefit from a refurbishment.

The air-conditioning was not working well and I had to leave my window opened. Since my room faced straight on the railway tracks, noise was an issue. In fact, I could still hear the sounds of the trains after closing my window.

As usual, Wifi was only available at the lobby and there were no bottled waters in the room. Vending machines were located throughout the property for my convenience. Breakfast came with extra which I didn't try given the abundance of breakfast places within the vicinity.

All in all, I liked the location of New Hiroden for its easy access to shops and transport. The staffs were quite helpful and friendly. However, I guess if the room was more comfortable, it would have been a perfect stay for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the railway tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Hiroden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hiroden

Address: 14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0821, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Hiroden 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel New Hiroden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hiroden Hotel
New Hiroden Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Hiroden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.