We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to transportation and walk to attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Hiroden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New Hiroden to your Saves list
Hotel New Hiroden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0821, Hiroshima Prefecture (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Close to transportation and walk to attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

ROOM:
Room size is a bit bigger than usual Japanese size which is nice. Plenty of closet/luggage space which is rare. Bathroom is also a bit bigger than usual Japanese standard and clean. There is no in-room wifi (only downstairs in lobby) so either you use the ethernet cable for Laptop/Netbook or bring your own wireless router if you have phones/tablets that can't plug in.

NEARBY:
There are a few 24hr convenience stores around the corner and small eateries under the overpass bridge. And of course the Hiroshima Station is just a 5min walk away for even more food options. From the hotel you're 10min walk across the bridge to Shukkeien, 15min walk to Hiroshima Castle, 30min walk/15min streetcar to Genbaku Dome).

TRANSPORTATION:
Hotel is a quick 5min walk from Hiroshima Station. It's the same station for Shinkansen and for the local lines which can connect you to nearby attractions like Miyajima (via JR Sanyo Main Line, get off at Miyajimaguchi, then take the JR Miyajima ferry). The interesting Hiroshima streetcar also stop/begin at Hiroshima Station and is worth at least a ride if only for nostalgic reasons.

Stayed in Sep 2013

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, ask for a high floor room away from the train tracks which are almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    136
    62
    12
    4
See reviews for
46
66
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my Family stayed one night in The hotel in the beginning of Aug. 2013, and found the hotel a short walk from the central Hiroshima JR station. The rooms was Nice with a bit of more "plastic style" Décor. The room itself was functional, but small. Has an Automatic Parking next to the Hotel that will cost you 900 Yen per day. very basic. Very Nice and clean. The stuff are very helpful. Near all the very big names of car rental companies in Japan, so you can rent or bring back your rental car quickly and easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

2013 Aug 08. We stayed one night and found the hotel a short walk from the central station, but still the room was large by Japanese standards and a quiet location overlooking the river.
We walked to a Hiroshima Carp baseball game --- great fun after the sombre part of the day at the Peace Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Our one night experience at this hotel was a good one. Air conditioning was cold and the room was clean. It is close to the train station so getting any where in the city is easy. We walked from Hiroshima castle to the hotel in about 25 min.

The breakfast buffet was average at best. Pricing was ok. I'm ultra critical since I'm used to American style breakfast being one of my favorite meals of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Hiroden Hiroshima for 2 nights in one of their double rooms. The room itself was functional, but tiny (small even for a Japanese hotel room!). There was no wifi in the room, only in the lobby, though there was cabled internet in the room. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and the hotel is in a great location - lots of eateries in the neighbourhood, it's very close to the station, and it's an easy walk to Peace Memorial Park and Hiroshima Castle. The staff were great too, they spoke great English and were really helpful. Good value for money if you want something basic and functional.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Hotel New Hiroden recently. It is located about 5 minutes from the right of the south exit of Hiroshima Station. In fact, the building is quite tall. This made it very easy to recognise from a distance. There were many eateries and a supermarket (that closed quite late) within Hiroshima Station. The tram terminus is just outside the station. This made the hotel a really convenient place to commute within the city.

The exterior and the spacious lobby of the hotel looked impressive. After a quick check-in, I was given a room at level 12 of the property. However, I was less than impressed of the room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The design was slightly dated which could benefit from a refurbishment.

The air-conditioning was not working well and I had to leave my window opened. Since my room faced straight on the railway tracks, noise was an issue. In fact, I could still hear the sounds of the trains after closing my window.

As usual, Wifi was only available at the lobby and there were no bottled waters in the room. Vending machines were located throughout the property for my convenience. Breakfast came with extra which I didn't try given the abundance of breakfast places within the vicinity.

All in all, I liked the location of New Hiroden for its easy access to shops and transport. The staffs were quite helpful and friendly. However, I guess if the room was more comfortable, it would have been a perfect stay for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the railway tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSB
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during our visit to Hiroshima. It came in a package of flight and hotel. Hotel New Hiroden is a few minutes walk from the Hiroshima station, about 15 minutes from the bus stop. It was a little difficult to find the first time. We followed the access information from the hotel website. We entered the station building, came out the station building again, and eventually found the entrance to the underpass in front of the station. In short, as we came out of the bus from airport, we should not enter the station building. The underpass entrance is in front of the building. Following the suggested path, there were a few stairs to climb. We later found that we could avoid stairs by using the elevator right after the underpass (marked as B in the hotel access map). The elevator leads to point E in the access map. Then, coming out of the elevator and exiting the building, turn right to walk to the hotel (about another 7 mins walk). The hotel room was really comfortable.  It was spacious.  The layout was nice in the air-conditioning position, the room and entrance lobby has  a door in between giving homey feel.  It had sound system to play music, with controls right at bed top.  Beds were comfortable.  Pillows were fine for me, too high for my wife. No view from the room, although there are windows and they can be opened. However, we spent most of the time outside the room and the room served a comfortable base.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Station
Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand
Hiroshima Station
Viainn Hiroshima
Viainn Hiroshima
#31 of 123 in Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
#17 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Station
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
#18 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#2 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Hotel JAL City Hiroshima
Hotel JAL City Hiroshima
#29 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hiroden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hiroden

Address: 14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0821, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Hiroden 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your Hotel New Hiroden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hiroden Hotel
New Hiroden Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Hiroden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.