We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and clean, but we couldn't get the aircon working!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Hiroden

Save Saved
You added Hotel New Hiroden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel New Hiroden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0821, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic and clean, but we couldn't get the aircon working!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel New Hiroden is well located, just 5 minutes walk from Hiroshima station. There are a number of good cafes and a great bakery near the station, as well as lots of places for cheap and delicious dinners (okonomiyake!).

The room was large by Japanese standards, though the decor was a little tired. There is free wifi in the lobby, which few Japanese hotels seem to have. Wired Internet is free in the rooms. The hotel bar also has a daily happy hour, which pleased our fellow group travellers.

The only real problem was that we couldn't work out how to make the aircon work, and so the room was quite hot, and after showering, really humid as well! I suspect that the aircon has been limited by thermostat or something similar to prevent people setting it very low. It would have been fine if we could open the window, but they seem to be locked closed.

All in all, New Hiroden is fine. It's cheap and well located and the staff on the front desk are friendly. It seems like standard Japanese business hotel fare.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    110
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
42
48
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for visitors as it is a very easy 5 minute walk from the train station, There is also plenty of good restaurants and attractions nearby. The hotel itself was clean, the rooms were on the larger size for Japan and were very comfy. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and accomodating, would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the New Hiroden as part of a group while visiting Hiroshima. The hotel was comfortable, but you can see that the decor is dated. Everything was very clean, and that is the most important thing to me. The room was very small, but that is normal for Japan. My husband and I chuckled a bit when we came into the room and realized we each had our own twin bed! We were unofficially celebrating our 12th anniversary, so that was cute!
The restaurant was ok...nothing to get too excited about, but it served us a decent meal when we were just too tired to go out and find dinner. They use a local salt, check that out...it was very good! The breakfast buffet was not good at all for westerners. They had scrambled eggs, but they were unseasoned and undercooked. I decided to grab a coffee and eat elsewhere both mornings we were there.
I didn't notice the noise from the street or from the trains and I am a light sleeper. I was on the 12th floor, so maybe that helped.
Overall, I enjoyed my visit there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is well located, an easy two minute walk to the main station. En route to the station is a lovely bakery (self service) which is a great place to grab breakfast and a coffee. The staff in the hotel were helpful and there is free wifi in the lobby, though not the rooms (but you can connect to the internet for free in your room if you have a laptop/cable). There are also plenty of vending machines in the hotel for drinks.

They had run out of twin rooms when we arrived, so they gave my friend and I a single room each for no extra charge. The single rooms were fine - clean and comfortable and had a kettle as well. They were fairly small but that's the same for all Japanese hotel rooms. The hotel was quiet and I got a great night of sleep.

Hiroshima is fairly walkable as a city, but took the tram a few times (you pay when you get off - there are change machines on the tram if you don't have the right money) and there is a major tram depot outside the main station, so this is also very close to the hotel.

Overall, nothing remarkable but a decent enough place to stay as a base for sightseeing/a visit to Hiroshima.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is just 2 blocks from the train station, where several streetcar lines that lead to the main city interesting sites have their first stop. This very convenient location has a consequence, though: the building is close to the train tracks, so although the acoustic isolation is good we did hear the trains. This was not at all a problem for us because our room was on a high floor and the noise was really faint, but maybe it's worse in lower floors.

As always in Japan (in my experience), staff was courteous and efficient, and all premises were perfectly clean. There's free wifi available in the reception lobby. Our room was of the standard Japanese size (i.e. not very large), but floor space was made even more scarce by the size of the unnecessarily large beds, and looked oldish, specially the bathroom that would welcome a renovation.

Breakfast was good, with a reasonable choice of Japanese an Western food.

I can't comment on value because we stayed as part of a package trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very good location. 5 minute walk from main train station. Free wifi in lobby. Rooms small but very clean. Staff helpful. Tv in room but all japenese channels. Vending machines on site for drinks. Ideal spot for exploring Hiroshima. Seven 11 across road with international ATM

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice, clean hotel with very good service. Nice restaurant too. Very helpful and informative. Good view of Shinkansen.

Room Tip: They are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Hiroden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hiroden

Address: 14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0821, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Hiroden 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel New Hiroden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hiroden Hotel
New Hiroden Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Hiroden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.