We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Hiroden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New Hiroden to your Saves list
Hotel New Hiroden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0821, Hiroshima Prefecture (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was staying here for work, so I do not know the price of the room, but it was fine for what it was. It's not fancy, but the rooms are clean and typical for the other hotels I stayed in on this trip. Location is good--a quick walk from the main train station and not far from the Peace Memorial sites. The bathroom is typical for Japanese hotels, in that it's very small but includes one of the fancy toilets they so love in this country.

I had breakfast in the main hotel's buffet; it was good with a mix of Western and Japanese selections, but it was VERY crowded, and the seating is communal which kind of stinks. Still, it was good. One kind of odd thing (for Americans because I realize this is common in many parts of the world)--they have old fashioned metal keys with large plastic room numbers attached. You are supposed to leave them with the front desk when you tour the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    125
    53
    10
    4
See reviews for
44
58
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I first visited the Hotel New Hiroden in March 2011 and wrote a review at the time. I returned to Hiroshima in March 2012 and again stayed at the Hotel New Hiroden, so I thought I would do an update.

The Hotel New Hiroden is located overlooking the banks of the Kyobashi River, a three-minute walk from the south entrance of JR Hiroshima Station. Turn right upon exiting the station and follow the footpath to Johoku-dori Ave and then turn right. The hotel is 2 mins along on your right.

Please note that many Japanese hotels strictly enforce check-in times and this one is no exception. Check-in time is 2pm. If you try and check-in before this time you will meet with an answer you probably won't like (but they will hold your bags while you have a look around the city.) I always try to time my arrival to any hotel in Japan to coincide with the check-in time!

The rooms are not very large, but are spotlessly clean. They are serviced daily, although you can elect to have your bed linen and towels changed every other day if you wish.

The bed was the most comfortable of any that I have slept in at a Japanese hotel. I had the best sleeps of my trip here!

Hotel New Hiroden is in the process on installing wifi to the rooms and expect to have the work finished by April 2012. The room I stayed in did not have wifi, but I could access it in the lobby (free).

The hotel has a restaurant located off the lobby which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is also served in a separate room on the 2nd floor each morning. There was a good choice of western and Japanese items.

Unusually for a hotel of this size, they do have a bar. It is located downstairs from the lobby entrance to the restaurant, and a fabulous bar it is too! Very friendly staff and very reasonable prices. I paid 1270 yen for a whiskey in a hotel in Osaka, but only 808 or 818 yen (I forget which) for one at this hotel - and it was better-quality whiskey at HNH!

The rooms have a real key (not a card) and you must hand the key to reception whenever you leave the hotel.

There are vending machines in the lift lobby of most floors. There is also a Lawson convenience store outside the station and a McDonalds and a bakery and another convenience store in the station itself.

The staff at the hotel were uniformly friendly, especially the young guys I met in the bar. The staff speak English, some better than others, of course. You will not encounter any problems.

The Hotel New Hiroden in Hiroshima is not that big, but it has facilities of a much larger hotel.

It is not a luxury hotel by any means. But it is comfortable, friendly and exceptionally convenient, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAX
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night also using a JTB package. We booked single rooms and they were very tiny but clean and fine for one night though the bed quality wasn't the best. We did eat dinner in their restaurant also since the weather was so bad that evening and it was ok, nothing great but again, fine for one night. Breakfast was better, a large buffet, but there were a lot of people staying there at the time, businessmen and Japanese tourists, so arrive early! There was free wifi in the lobby which worked well. All in all, a good value with the train included.

Room Tip: If you book a single, be prepared for a very small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed in Hiroden for one night with a Shinkansen Bullet train package tour booked by JTB. I think the saving was good. The rooms were clean and spacious. Unfortunately not a good view from the window. We did eat here and hence cannot comment. It was walkable from the JR Shinkasen station and there awas tram stop right in front of the hotel, They offered us a one day unlimited train pass as a part of the package. No wifi was available, but we could use the computers located on the ground floor for internet access at no cost. I liked the little origami paper crane on the bed as we entered our room. Nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We got a good deal to ride the super fast Shinkansen (bullet train) from Tokyo to Hiroshima which included a night's stay at this cozy hotel so I can't comment on the price as it was included in our package.

The room we got was large indeed which was nice to see in Japan. My wife and I shared a queen sized bed and we had a big attached bathroom as well! The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and we got good sleep. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main Hiroshima railway station which was of great convenience. We were allowed to keep our baggage at the lobby after checkout as our train was in the evening the following day so this was convenient.

Hiroshima is a much quieter city compared to Tokyo so after taking in the sites such as the Peace Memorial and faraway MiyaJima-cho we didn't really catch much of the night life (not sure if there was any) but the location was walking distance to the mall and even the A-bomb dome.

Overall good hotel and good location!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Conveniently located near the train station and street tram. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Ideal hotel to use as your base if you're going around Hiroshima and Miyajima. Rooms were fairly large and were clean. Has free internet via cable, no wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights on our tour around japan. it is quite modern and only 3 min walk from the main station. the rooms were a good size. we didn't eat in the hotel though others in our group did and thought it was good. a good base for seeing about hiroshima as close to the station and tram station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Hiroden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hiroden

Address: 14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0821, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Hiroden 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel New Hiroden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hiroden Hotel
New Hiroden Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Hiroden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.