We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-78 Motomachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0011, Japan (Kamiyacho Higashi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. We took the airport bus from the airport. The bus stop is very close to the hotel. We took the escalator down from where the bus dropped us off, turned left and it was a very short walk (less than one block) to the hotel.

We had a room on the 23rd floor with an incredible view of the city. As others have noted, the decor is a bit dated, but everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was a tea kettle and a mini fridge for snacks. There was adequate lighting to read at night. The bathroom had the usual more than adequate amenities that are the norm in Japan. It's minor, but we noted there was no CNN or other English language news channel on the TV. Since we had free internet, we could look on-line. The wi-fi speed was fine.

I reserved our room directly from their web site. I didn't realize that breakfast (buffet with lots of choices) was included with our reasonable room rate, which was nice. The waffles, pancakes and eggs were a bit cold, but since it was included with the room, I forgave it. They had plenty of other things, including Japanese choices, yogurt and fruit.

This hotel is perfect for sightseeing. Everything was within walking distance or a short tram ride away. We walked everywhere. There were plenty of food and shopping choices near the hotel.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. All of the staff, from the front desk to the restaurant and housekeepers, were very professional and welcoming and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    196
    55
    22
    4
See reviews for
79
106
51
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were in Japan for a 16-day trip. Hiroshima was our third stop after Tokyo and Kyoto. Upon arrival in Hiroshima station, proceed to tram station which is located outside the train station. Tram no. 2 and 6 will bring one to Kamiya-cho Nishi (about 8-10 stops away) in less than 15min. Look for Sogo which is just in front of the tram stop. The hotel is located behind Sogo which is about 3min walk away.

Rihga Hotel in Hiroshima is conveniently located near the Peace Memorial Park (where the Genbaku Dome and museum are (about 10min walk) and is one of the more affordable hotels that we stayed in for our trip. For the price we paid, we got a corner room on the 34th floor that afforded us an almost 180 degree view with the Hiroshima castle right in front of us with magnificent mountains as backdrop. To the extreme left, we could get a glimpse of the Dome. There's a table for two set in front of the window and we found ourselves admiring the scenery upon checking in. The room was spacious with the usual bathroom amenities. The nice scenery was definitely a boon for us.

There are unfortunately not many things that one can do in Hiroshima, esp if you have come here after visiting bigger cities like Tokyo and Kyoto. We spent a solemn morning at the Peace Memorial Park, visiting the Dome and the museum. After which, we had a lovely alfresco lunch at Café Ponte located at the edge of Peace Park which is right in front of the river where tourists take the boat to Miyajima. The café serves delightful oyster-based dishes and fresh orange juice. We then went to Hondori Shopping District – this is like the shopping arcade in Kyoto, just that the scale is very much smaller. Things were much cheaper here, full of smaller shops which we didn’t find very exciting. We did find a gem here - St Marc’s Café at the end of the street (near Parco) serves really delicious pastries and bread.

Miyajima, on the other hand, is a lovely island to visit and for spending a day out. From Rihga hotel, there are three ways to get to Miyajima. One, take the boat at the Peace Park in front of Café Ponte directly to the island. Two, take the tram No. 2 in the direction of Miyajimaguchi and alight at the Miyajimaguchi station from which you can take the ferry to Miyajima. Three, take the tram No. 2 in the direction to Hiroshima station and take the JR train at Platform 1 to Miyajimaguchi station, then transfer to the JR Ferry. We took the third route because the train and ferry journey was covered by our JR pass. The JR pass cannot be used on the tram and for the river boat ride from Peace Park. All three routes take about the same amount of time to reach Miyajima.

I strongly recommend the restaurant Anago Meshi which is located near the Miyajimaguchi station and serves delicious rice with eel. We reached Miyajimaguchi around 10-ish in the morning and waited for an hour at the restaurant before our turn but it was worth it. The menu is in Japanese and no staff speaks English. Just ask for the no. 1 bestseller (Ichiban).

If we ever come to Hiroshima again, we would definitely choose to stay in Rihga Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here one night on our 3 week vacation in Japan.

Took a trolley from the train station into town. The hotel is located one block north of where you are let off. About a 6 minute walk. It is the tallest hotel in Hiroshima and is easy to see from around the area...makes it rather easy to return to your area, just from seeing it in the skyline.

A bit on the formal and lux. side, there are numerous shops in the lobby and even a barber shop. Check- in was pleasant. I think a lot of business people stay here.

Our room was on the 14th floor and had a very large picture window. Very nice, clean views, especially at night. Room that face east/southeast would most likely have a view of the Peace Park. Room was small but we opted for the least expensive room category when I made the reservation. Just a lot of things in the room...almost every table, counter was full of "things" for you to use, read, see, etc. Closet was nice size and actually had many hangers in it. Bathroom was small too but everything was functional and very clean. A/C worked just fine. Hallways are rather hot, they either do not have a/c or they choose not to use it. There is an attached parking garage, if needed. Cabs are right at the main entrance for easy and reasonable transportation. An English speaking greeter made sure we and the cab driver were clear on where we were going.

Location is hard to beat if you are here to see The Peace Park and Museum. A simple walk west, about 8 minutes and you will be there. It is a bit spread out so have your walking shoes on. Very moving.

But, saving the very BEST for last, is the top floor...SKY LOUNGE. Please go, even if you are not staying at this hotel. We did not know how wonderful it was and arrived, by accident, an hour or so before sunset. It is almost like being in the Geek Islands. I think the water we saw is the Seto Sea, and islands out there, just so lovely. With Miyajima, the largest and closest to view. They say they charge a 1,000 yen(about $10.00US) per person, table charge. They did not, on the end tab on ours. We were there about 3 hours, by choice. We enjoyed the VERY pretty views...both day and especially at night. Drinks were fair charge...the food was a tad high. We ordered a terrific beef sandwich. Resembled a small club sandwich, in size and style. It was about $30.00US. Certainly, VERY good but over priced for sure. Music was old school hits(we enjoyed it very much :)

I really think you will have a nice stay at this higher end, upscale, accommodating hotel. A very memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very good hotel right in the heart of the city, lots of eating places and convienence stores near. The rooms very very good exceptional large and well furnished, we had a room at the front of the hotel with a fantastic view. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at Rihga Royal for a night before our day tour. I was impressed with the service of the staff and would recommend the hotel as a place to stay in Hiroshima. Two top reasons as to why, location and service.

1) Staff is pleasant and quick. We had a tour snafu and they helped us out, which was a great help. Additionally, I called with the company rate, and they worked with me to make sure I get the company rate based on the offering. They didn't see it in their system, but I sent them the screen shots and they honored it.

2) The hotel was just a 10 min ride via the trolley system. By taxi probably 5 min. It is located right next to a huge mall on one side and in front of the hotel, you have the Hiroshima art museum; to the left the sports complex; and past the museum there is a Hiroshima castle. So, you are close to everything.

3) We got the breakfast included. It wasn't anything special, but they are the only hotel that did offer fruit. Considering the prices of the fruit in Japan, that was very nice of them.

4) the room was nice size with a large bathroom. We got lucky to stay on 26th floor and the views were magnificent. So, ask for a higher floor. Oh yes, no king size bed. Queen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed, initially one night but liked the hotel so much we stayed an extra night. The location is a major attration being so close to transport, restaurants, shopping and sites. The rooms are older style but clean and comfortable. Staff are polite and efficient, something that may not go together in a large hotel. Overall a very pleasant stay in Hiroshima and we will certainly be back in the near future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We found this to be a very grand type hotel with big rooms and picture windows giving great views out over Hiroshima. It is located near to the main attractions and not far from the Street Car, which is the best way to reach the hotel from the JR station.

Unfortunately we lost our bearings coming out the JR station and dragged our cases to the hotel in the full heat of the Japanese summer sun...not recommended!

Although we had JR Passes we also used the Street Car to ride to ferry port for Miyajima. Worth noting that you can use your JR Pass for the (inexpensive) ferry ride. However, thought Miyajima was rather 'touristy', but if you take the cable car up the mountain it is well worth making the effort to complete your visit with the quite strenuous walk to the top of Mount Misen.

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Rihga Royal and wish we had scheduled longer for our visit to Hiroshima Hope to return again in the future and spend a few more nights in the Righa Royal.

Room Tip: We had two twin rooms, which were next to each other and identical. The single beds were not far of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 6-78 Motomachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0011, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Kamiyacho Higashi Station , Kamiyacho Nishi Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stylish exterior designed in the image of Rijo, Hiroshima's famous "Carp Castle", the RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima offers a wealth of facilities and services befitting a hotel of the 21st century. This new symbol of Hiroshima, an international city of peace and culture, is sure to meet your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Hiroshima
Hiroshima Rihga Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.