We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-0012, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Hiroshima, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Staff is courteous and helpful. A few of them can speak English. The view from the 23rd floor is amazing. Good restaurants are located in the hotel. A taxi from the JR Hiroshima would cost around 5,000 Yen

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    305
    100
    27
    14
See reviews for
245
160
34
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Positives: great views towards islands and sea, good breakfast, friendly, clean, extremely helpful staff (they found my money and posted it urgently to my next hotel).

Negatives: 8 km (5.5 miles) away from the train station. Couple of furnitures are slightly tired looking.

Tips: use bus 21-1 or 21-2 to the hotel for only 230 yen. Some may not go further than the port so check on the front or you will have to walk for 10 min to the hotel.
Taxi will cost you 2800 yen to the train station, one way.

Room Tip: Go to the floors 16 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga,
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel. The hotel offers a free shuttle that travels between the Hiroshima Station and the hotel. You can even drop off your bags at the Swallow Travel Agency (next to the Hiroshima Station) and pick them up at the hotel. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I booked a twin room for single occupancy. The room was bigger than a typical Japanese hotel room and it was clean. The view was excellent. My room didn't include breakfast but I decided to pay for breakfast on the top floor of the hotel. The view was simply awesome. You can take the high speed boat at the hotel's boat dock to the Miyajima Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel is approximately 40mins from Hiroshima train station by taxi, and there is almost no amenities outside the hotel surrounding, although there are a number of good restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast view from the 23rd floor is breathtaking. Bathroom is quite small but well-equipped. Main dissatisfaction is the absence of wifi in the room, and only in the lobby -- which immediately disqualified the Prince as a business hotel for me. Should you take the tram from the city, the walk from the main road to the hotel is a brisk 20min walk.

Room Tip: choose room that faces the sea/pier, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

To reach this hotel, you really have to exert effort since this is far away from the city center. From Hiroshima station, there is a bus service so it won't be that bad. I stayed in a twin room and I was quite surprise to see that the room was smaller than what I was expecting a twin room would be. Nevertheless, I loved the sky lounge located in the 23rd floor. The view is just great.

Room Tip: If you would prefer a larger room, you really have to spend. The regular room is quite small. Still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First impressions, great. Yes, far out from Hiroshima center but that was ok with us...the views are to die for and there's a great park next door with a good running path. We are a family of four...wandered downstairs at 6:35 to seek out dinner. So here's a hotel with 5 restaurants...in the middle of nowhere, so it seems you need to be able to feed your guests. We went to two out of the 5 restaurants and were told for both that they were full even though we could see many open tables. Went to the front desk to see how we could get dinner for our children and they confirmed all of the restaurants were full. We were not dressed as hooligans, we were not loud and vulgar. I don't understand how you can have a hotel far I'm everywhere and refuse to seat guests staying at the hotel. So here we are...two hungry kids and no resolution. That has completely soured this hotel for me.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were travelling across Japan on a budget and came across a great weekend deal for the Grand Prince and so decided to treat ourselves. Whilst the room price as very reasonable, we were disappointed by the number of "hidden" costs. For example, Service was added for taking up our bags, even though we tried to take them ourselves, when we had a drink in the 23rd floor bar ( the reason we chose the hotel) they added an 8 dollar music charge for the live musician who played a few songs an hour, there is extra charge for the swimming pool and the ferry to the shrine was 30 dollars (compared to 8 from Hiroshima). I appreciate these are all fairly minor but for travellers on a budget, this grated.
Of course if you have a bit more money to play with these are just minor points and there is much to recommend the hotel. The bus and luggage service from Hiroshima station is excellent, the lobby is pretty spectacular, the restaurants are reasonably priced (though soulless) for a hotel of this rating, the view from the roof bar is great and rooms are large by Japanese standards. I would recommend staying here if you want to get away from the bustle of Hiroshima (it's about 20 mins out by free pick up shuttle) or if you have children - the bowling and arcade is fun. However if you are slightly budget conscious avoid at all costs as Internet deals are misleading as costs mount once you reach the hotel. A great hotel for a certain holidaymaker, just not for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima
#1 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#2 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#3 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
#13 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
#12 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-0012, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 534
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.