We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views & Vehicles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 734-0012, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Hiroshima
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Views & Vehicles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Paid extra - well worth it - & got a large room with a scenic view back to Hiroshima city. The room was an odd, triangular shape but very comfortable, so not a problem . It had panoramic windows so the outlook was good, although we did look back across the hotel car park to the city. But the view was lovely at night, twinkling lights in the distance. The room was well furnished with a long straight sofa (used for storage) across one wall & a small, round coffee table for that pre-prandial drink!! The bathroom had a good view through a large window. We didn't use the bath - only the shower, which was excellent. There were two (mismatched - one blue & one turqouise) wash-hand basins - one in the bathroom and one next to it in an ante-room. This isn't a problem though a little odd!!
We knew in advance about the shuttle bus to & from the JR station - although this isn't well advertised on the hotel website - & asked our Japanese friend to enquire about times so that we could ensure it would coincide with our train arrival. This worked well & we used it on arrival & departure, as well as for going into town for sightseeing & for travel to Miyajima. We didn't use the hotel ferry but instead took the shuttle bus into town, used our JR pass on the train to the ferry port & then used the JR pass on the ferry. It was pretty quick and not at all inconvenient.
We didn't eat in the hotel but did walk up the road about 15 minutes & found a fusion Italian restaurant, which was very nice. We had drinks in the bar one evening (a tad expensive) but the view goes a long way to compensate & there is a nice ambience!! We were lucky enough to see a bride walk up the glass stairway, all lit up in blue & it was interesting to see cultural differences.
After reading other TripAdvisor reviews, our opinion was that it was an excellent hotel, very quiet & attractive. perhaps there are some areas that might need refurbishing, but generally we were delighted with this hotel.

Room Tip: If paying for a panoramic room, ask for one on a high floor & be aware that the windows may eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    224
    73
    16
    11
See reviews for
191
110
27
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located just a short ferry ride from Miyajima Island, the Grand Prince Hiroshima is an ideal choice for tourists looking to explore the island. It's not located centrally to Hiroshima, although there is a free shuttle operated by the hotel as well as a city bus that comes regularly that heads downtown and to the train station. We booked expecting scenic oceans views and the hotel delivered on this quite well. The bathroom was small and didn't include the 'Heavenly Bathtub" that they advertise, which is available for an upcharge. Service was impeccable. Due to its secluded location from the city center, area restaurants are extremely limited, so expect to dine at the hotel. We had dinner on one of the top floors in the Chinnese restaurant which was okay - it wasn't fine dining, but fit the bill after a day of traveling. I had the pork and shrimp dumplings, which I preferred to the main dish. Overall, the price per night swayed from expensive to very affordable, so overall the stay was a good value. Also, you can hike nearby trails or walk along the seafront, which was nice,

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is good if u have u own transport cos the location is quite far to town and no jr train but the hotel provide free shuttle service to the nearby jr station.
Room is very big but the room looks aged. Is convenient travel to miyajima cos can buy speedboat ferry ticket from 2 way Jpy 3200 per pax from 8:30 am until evening. The ferry take 30 minutes to miyajima.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were impressed from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The hotel itself was beautiful and the view from the breakfast buffet on the top floor was phenomenal! The staff was so warm and accommodating. They took so much pride in their jobs! We would definitely return.

Room Tip: I think they are all great! But if possible, a higher room facing west would give a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel to unwind and relax at the end of a long tiring day (which was the case with my group) then this hotel is the right place for you! Not only does it have its own spa, the rooftop bar of the hotel is also a great place to unwind and catch drinks (not expensive!).

While the rooms are mostly for sleeping and one cannot really laze there, the lobby is spacious and quiet enough if you want to just sit there for a while and read a book or catch up on emails (wi fi connectivity was in the lobby area only). As mentioned by other travelers, the rooms are not ornately decorated but rather spartan looking; however I did find mine comfortable and user friendly. Also my room overlooked the bay so the morning sunrise view was excellent.

Breakfast next morning was good (better than in some other hotels in Japan) and the staff is courteous enough to entertain specific requests.

I stayed here for only 1 night so those looking for longer stays in Hiroshima should browse through other reviews for a better opinion on connectivity to airport/ trains etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is too far out of town to consider a walk around after hours, however the view across the harbout to the lights of Hiroshima were fantastic.

Room was a little on the small side and bed a little too firm. Breakfast was as good as most Japanese quality hotels

OK as a stop over but would not stay there if you intend to spend a few days in Hiroshima

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a reasonably new hotel, well appointed, spacious rooms with helpful staff. It allowed us a very comfortable stay. The hotel is out of central Hiroshima but right on the bay so it has a very pleasant outlook. I recommend it but with slight reservations because of the location.

Room Tip: Check that you room is facing the bay (water).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 734-0012, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#5 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.