We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location by peace garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima to your Saves list
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-20 Naka-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0037, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good location by peace garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Modern business hotel, recently re furb'd so in good nick

Small rooms well laid out with good views over the city 

Free wifi in receptions and bars, not in your room - free plug in computer service 

European breakfast fine 

Ground floor bar closed at 9pm - 22 floor bar is open late with good views 

Clean and tidy, concierge very helpful on recommending and booking restaurants - I'd happily stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANACP広島三國, 広報担当マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at our ANA CROWNE PLAZA HIROSHIMA.

We are so glad that you are satisfied to stay at our hotel, and appriciate to give us many good comments.
Your good comments make our staff to be more professional.

Our hotel is located at the center of Hiroshima City, and it is easy to access many places.
Unfortunately, Miyajima Island is a little far from our hotel, but you can easily go to there with the using the Tram Line.
(It takes about hour and fifteen minutes)
Miyajima Island is really beautiful place, and good to visit especially Spring and Fall, so please come back to Hiroshima again on that season.

Thank you very much for your staying again, and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    385
    89
    17
    6
See reviews for
161
239
116
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here two nights in December last year. This hotel is very well located - close to the tram line for connections to trains, and walking distance to the Peace Park. Spotlessly clean rooms, with excellent amenities. Staff were very polite, professional, and had excellent English, which helped me a lot. Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant was excellent - a good selection of both local and international food. Free internet available in the lobby. I will stay here next time I am in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANACP広島三國, 広報担当マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at our ANA CROWNE PLAZA HIROSHIMA.

We are so glad that you are satisfied to stay at our hotel, and appriciate to give us many good comments.
Your good comments make our staff to be more professional.

Our hotel is located at the center of Hiroshima City, and it is easy to access many places.
Unfortunately, Miyajima Island is a little far from our hotel, but you can easily go to there with the using the Tram Line.
(It takes about hour and fifteen minutes)
Miyajima Island is really beautiful place, and good to visit especially Spring and Fall, so please come back to Hiroshima again on that season.

Thank you very much for your staying again, and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Pros:
- Decent quality hotel (its a little faded in parts, but parts were being renovated during my visit)
- Very close to the "Peace Park" (with Museum, A-Bomb Done) and main shopping streets (each only ~10 mins walk away) as well Tram's to take you further afield
- Also within walking distance of Hiroshima Castle (and a fairly direct route - turn left outside the hotel, past the Shine and then turn first right and keep walking) !
- Free (wired) broadband in the room, of good enough quality for a Skype Video call home
- Buffet breakfast is slanted towards local (Japanese) tastes, but is of good quality


Cons:
- my room felt a little dated (but was perfectly fine)
- beware that although the pool is advertised, in common with other Japanese hotels there is a charge (1,500 yen) and the opening times were fairly limited

Tips:
- ask the concierge for their map. Its pretty simple, but has the main attractions
- buy the two-day pass (2,000 yen) from the tram station outside the main train station to make the trip to Miyajima Island : even if you are only planning a one day excursion (because the ticket will include free use of the "rope way" [cable cars] up the mountain
- there is an anniversary promotion at the moment (perhaps only applies to Priority Club members, so apply in advance) which gives discounts on restaurant use - but this includes breakfast (cutting the cost from 2,200 to 1,870 for the buffet)
- bring a printed address for the hotel for use with Taxis (its 850 yen from the station) - and stress that its the ANA Crowne Plaza (it seems to be known as the ANA)

Room Tip: I opted for 20th floor room to get a view. Make sure you specify non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANACP広島三國, 広報担当マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your recent trip to Japan, and comments this time.
We will try to improve our service for making our guests’ stay the most comfortable and enjoyable.
We are looking forward to serving you again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A typical corporate chain hotel with very efficient and courteous staff. Check in was quick and easy. We were fortunate enough to have a room on the 14th floor so had views of the river and was really quiet. Room and bathroom was a good size (unusual for Japan) and super clean, very well soundproofed so a great night's sleep.
They provide umbrellas which was handy and we requested a late check out which was honoured free of charge.
Perfectly located for Peace Memorial/Museum which is a 5 min walk across the bridge, mainline station is 20 mins by tram which stops 100 metres away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANACP広島三國, 広報担当マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for comments about us.
It was our pleasure to serve you here.
We hope that you had a precious stay in Hiroshima.
We are looking forward to seeing you in near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As most ANA hotels this hotel is starting to feel the weight of time despite a few attempts to modernize here and there.

The rooms have been renewed partly but still feel outdated. The bathrooms have not been renewed so they are typical of the bathroom from the 80s. Yet, it is still acceptable though the color scheme makes the room very dark with dark carpet and dark furniture.
As mentioned in another review, there is no wifi in the rooms, you only get it in the lobby which can be quite troublesome, having to go down to the lobby to check mails if you use a device without LAN cable.

Service wise we found the staff efficient but not with the level of politeness you would expect with a Crowne plaza cobranding. The staff would get to the point efficiently but there was never the extra "enjoy your stay, it s my pleasure, thank you for staying with us" those little phrases that makes you feel you are dealing with high level hospitality staff.

Location is pretty good, within a short walk to the peace memorial and the main shopping and dining area Hondoori. The tram stops nearby as well so it s easy to get around.

Price is acceptable but definitely this place will need an uplift soon to keep up with competition.

Overally this hotel is more of a slightly improved business hotel than a normal crowne plaza. But this is pretty much the case of all ANA crowne plaza in Japan which are definitely still more ANA than crowne plaza.
Still it is not that bad choice for Hiroshima with a good location and a acceptable pricing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANACP広島三國, 支配人 at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for staying at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima and making a valuable comment on Trip Advisor.
The guest room refurbishment has been planed step by step to keep up the trend and partial renovation is scheduled next year.
Regarding service, we will further strive to welcome our guests with better hospitality.
We sincerely hope business or pleasure will bring you back to Hiroshima and look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Happy holidays to you and your family and best wishes for the coming year.
Thank you again for your patronage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a 4 night stay through the priority club website and got a good deal on a double premier room.When we arrived there was no mention of an upgrade when we were checking in so yet again we had to ask for this. Come on HIG management this is happening more and more with hotels in Asia for Platinum members. I’m beginning to think this is deliberate

However this was rectified without any hesitation or question by the check in staff after asking if the room was going to be changed. The staff were efficient and communication was good with a nice welcome.

We were given a mini suite at the end of a corridor on a high floor away from the lifts, excellent.

The room was large, bright modern and well furnished and immaculately clean, 3 large windows with a great views over Hiroshima and the mountains made all the better by the fantastic weather.

Two very comfy double beds with great bedding and (almost) European sized square feather pillows, bliss. I did order two other bean pillows along with oil from the sleep menu and these were delivered quickly. Not too sure about the bean pillows (boy these are so heavy) though but it was nice to try them. Also in the room were a selection of relaxing bath products and warming sleep masks which were great help with jet lag which are just for ANA hotels apparently.....

Along with a large desk with good work lighting, the sofa, footstool and table the sitting area was very comftable. There was all the usual large TV, mini bar, kettle iron etc. A double entry wardrobe with robes and PJ’s and slippers, all immaculate. You could also open the windows to get fresh air in which I always find a bonus. We found the room to be extremely quiet and never heard any other guests at all.

The bathroom was large with a separate loo (more all singing and dancing than normal) and separate enclosed glassed bath and free standing shower area. Plenty of space for all your ‘stuff’ and a dressing table area. Excellent white, fluffy large bath/hand towels no skimping on size at all. Again the bathroom was immaculately clean, but I really did not like the toiletries (they have changed from the normal Crown Plaza, etc products) the smell was awful.

Cannot comment on the restaurants as we did not eat in the hotel but they did appear to be well used. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions to a larger supermarket and as mentioned before the location is well suited to get around. The staff outside always spoke and were very polite.

I would certainly recommend a stay here and would choose to stay again if I was visiting the area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here on december 2011. It was a great price and the room was EXCELLENT, definitely a change from the small uncomfortable rooms throughout Japan. I didn't interact with the personnel, but I didn't have to as everything was in order. Lack of wi-fi in the room was the only bummer but I couldn't care less (got internet at my BlackBerry).

I'm definitely thinking of staying here again on my next visit to Hiroshima.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANACP広島三國, 広報担当マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for staying at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima for your recent trip to Japan and posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
Taking your valuable comments seriously, we will further improve our service and quality to make our guests’ stay the most comfortable and enjoyable.
We hope that your business or pleasure will bring you back to Hiroshima and it is a great honor for all our staff to welcome you at ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima in the near future.
Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima

Address: 7-20 Naka-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0037, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#5 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima established in the economic and cultural center of Japan's Chugoku-Shikoku region, stands testament to city s renowned hospitality. Modern amenities, chic design and friendly, personal service awaits your stay at the hotel, one promised to be memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Crowne Plaza Hiroshima Hotel Hiroshima
Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
Hiroshima Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.