We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-1 Wakakusacho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0053, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Sydney
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A most pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our experience was immediately enhanced by the closeness of this hotel to the Hiroshima Shinkansen station (100 metres at the outside). Given our experiences in Tokyo, Takayama and Kyoto from a financial perspective this hotel was amazingly cheap and just as good as their more expensive counterparts that we had stayed in. actually quite unlike previous Sheraton experiences in the US and Bali
The staff were terrific in helping us find our way generally through Hiroshima and Miyajima Island.
Free Wi-Fi in the lobby, although why they continue to want to charge for the service in the room is beyond me, even if it is ethernet. perhaps they will catch-up with some notionally less sophisticated countries.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I found there's absolutely nothing I can fault this hotel...

First, for tourist, location is everything. And THE SHERATON is situated right next to JR station which gives great connections to train, airport, and all the local/tour buses which leaves right from here. Further more, the best is that Sheraton is on the quiet side of the station (Southern side) which is away from the bustling traffic so one can rest well and quietly in the night.

The room is surprisingly ROOMY and modern too. I have to say quite a few Starwood properties in Japan seemed a bit outdated, but this Sheraton is superior to it's peer. We had a club floor room, great bed, king size, separate WC, a nice big bath and shower, everything feels very stylish and new. Light wood decor, gives very relaxing mood. Great rooms!!!

Although the lounge is not very big, but it has all the essentials, especially the waitress there was so friendly in welcoming us, we felt very relaxed sipping wine and enjoying the city view in the lounge after a long day's sight seeing. Well, there's a whirlpool ( not so sure if it's heated ) next to the swimming pool if one needs another way for relaxation.

Last but not the least the service, was very efficient and helpful. Check-in & out was quick, but what impressed me was that when I required a courier service, the gentleman at the reception didn't just filled in the form for me, he also called to the receiver to confirm the postal address. I am grateful for their service.

As for food, the lobby restaurant seems to be very popular, is always packed at all time! Well, if one doesn't like hotel food, in the JR station complex, there're plenty of choices too. On the 2For 3F are some local eatery; and on the 6F there're good Japanese restaurant.

So, this hotel has the convenience, comfort, service & a touch of luxury, what else does one look for when holiday?

Room Tip: A room with city view is an extra bonus~
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juju1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights in this lovely, modern hotel recently during a two week self-guided trip around Japan. We agree about the rather strange, and completely non-private frosted glass doors to the bathroom and loo but, apart from this quirk, the rooms are gorgeous, modern, comfortable and offer every convenience. It's right next door to Hiroshima rail station, north exit but it has to be said that with all the underpasses around this huge station, it still takes some time to find your way back to the Sheraton after a day out! The Peace Park and A-Dome are a must; a hugely sobering experience, but we were there on a beautiful, sunny and bright day with the cherry blossom out everywhere and hundreds of families having picnics and enjoying themselves in this lovely park. Extremely touching. Miyajima Island is close by and is also a must - the 'floating torii gate' is sensational enough, but the whole waterside area is gorgeous, with tame deer, vast swathes of apple,plum and cherry blossom, hugely picturesque pagodas, shrines aplenty...The whole of picture-book Japan is on hand. Lovely. Hiroshima should be visited by all travellers during their stay in this wonderful country.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llamas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
311 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Hiroshima Sheraton for several nights while travelling with extended family through Japan and considered it excellent by any standards. While I am not a great fan of Sheratons in the US or Europe, I found this one a refreshing break from the inflexibility of the upmarket Japanese hotel brands. Our rooms were large, bright and airy by international (not just Japanese) standards. The beds real king beds. One could actually get CNN and BBC (and that’s about it). The bathroom area is great and expansive, but a bit open…so possibly not the best for those not extremely close (OK if you’re sharing a king bed it might not be an issue). We booked on line and got a charge for the room, rather than “per person”, which is a huge advance considering the antiquated Japanese way of charging double the single rate if two people occupy the same bed in one room. The location is excellent…steps from the back entrance of the central station which is a short tram ride to anywhere. There is a good cheap supermarket across the street.

We were impressed by the front desk….not often the case in Japan. We asked for a good simple sushi place and within seconds had directions to a place five minutes away which was indeed a great local fresh sushi place. They responded to any request immediately without awkward silences…not to be taken for granted in even the best hotels in Japan.

The downsides are typically Sheraton and also not unusual for anything claiming five stars in Jaoan…extra charge for internet (not awful at US$12 a day, but wired…free wireless in lobby), and for health club (US$25 a day). Factor this in and get a good basic internet rate and this will still be very good value for money for a five-star hotel in Japan.

Room Tip: A higher floor will get you better views. The kids loved watching the shiinkansens come and go way b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

For a very reasonable price we got a huge double room with an amazing bathroom and breathtaking views over the city. Placed just beside JR Station, it is a very convenient location close to everything.
Staff is friendly, facilities are top-notch. Room service is quick and effective.
On the bad side, as it usually happens in big chains, internet was paying as were the facilities of the hotel: swimming pool, sauna, even the locker rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaterZeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We spent one night here during our travels in Japan.

The Sheraton was located right next to the JR station - literally a 2 minute walk. 15 minutes by cab to the peacepark and museum.

We stayed in a deluxe King - and it was fabulous!!! So much space, and everything was very deluxe. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and very efficient.

One small thing was no Wi-Fi in the room - however they have computers and Wi-Fi down stairs for guests to use.

Make sure to visit Okinomimura for a fun filled dinner and tru Hiroshima cuisine!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdsnDaniPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Sheraton HIroshima. Location is excellent - right next to the train and bus station (don't let this put you off - in Japan these areas are extremely busy, safe and offer countless good value eateries). Hotel is only a year old so everything works as it should. Staff, as ever in Japan, couldn't have been more helpful and polite.

Two negatives - 1) strange bathroom which is effectively in the bedroom and separated by partially opaque glass screens (opaque below waist, clear above). If you're a man you can stand up to pee and still watch TV and chat to everyone in the room. This isn't actually much fun if you're a bit of a believer that the bathroom should be a relatively private affair! 2) WHY WHY WHY is there no wifi in the room?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#2 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#3 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#14 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
#12 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 12-1 Wakakusacho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0053, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing