We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly ryokan-excellent accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chizuru Ryokan

Save Saved
You added Chizuru Ryokan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chizuru Ryokan
2.5 of 5 Ryokan   |   4-12 Fukuro-machi, Naka-Ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0036 , Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hiroshima B&B and Inns
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly ryokan-excellent accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at the Chizuru Ryokan over the New Year break. There were 3 families ( 11 of us) including teenagers and we had an excellent time. The owners were very accomodating, even preparing a special traditional New Year's breakfast as a treat for us- which was a very nice gesture. The ryokan is extremely conveniently situated within walking distance of the Hiroshima peace park and museum and excellent shopping and eating. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and also very good value for money. It was extremely cold in Hiroshima when we were there but our futons were warm and the rooms had good heating. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this ryokan- just book in early as we did, especially if you have a larger group travelling. They even sent us a thankyou email upon our return. We will definitely be returning- Hiroshima is a great town and this ryokan an excellent choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Basic accomodation in the center of town, but friendly owners, good location, walking distace to the must sees. nice futons. Quiet rooms, a lot of space in the room, absolutely clean, but a lack of mood.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Correct and acceptable, no more, no less. Spent one night there, so was more looking for a place to crash than a place to enjoy and relax in. Room was adequate, wi-fi was working. Price was very affordable.

Location is great, 2 minutes from the tramway, a few minutes walk to the Peace museum area, and at a walkable distance to pretty much everything else, since Hiroshima is not very big (30 mins walk for some remote art museums, if you enjoy walking). Going to and from the train station is easy : take tram 1 for about 15 minutes.

The host did not speak good english but was trying really hard to communicate. Not ideal and could affect service, but let's say it was part of the experience. we're in the Japan country side after all.. Otherwise, she was courteous.

The bath experience was not as good as my other Ryokan stay, because the bath area itself was small and very plain, so don't expect a spa-like moment in there. It also felt more like a hotel, the host was never really present or active, However I must admit I was not in house during most of the day. But when I was there, no service, no drinks offer, no Japenese bath preparation, etc. Don't expect an "experience" here.

Some small details may be noteworthy : No breakfast. No meals. Bathroom is shared and very tiny. The floors are really cracky and you have the feeling you're waking up the whole house if you come back late. Curfew is 11PM so it is not for the party crowd.

Overall, If you don't expect an "experience" and consider it as a place to sleep, I would give it between a 3 and 4 stars rating and perfectly acceptable :it is convenient, well located, affordable (50$), you have wi-fi in room, many restaurants, coffee places and shops around, getting to/from the train station is easy.

If you want an authentic Ryokan experience, I would advice to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We only stayed 1 night, but found the location very convenient, walking to many places. We are a family of 4 & our room was huge. Traditional Japanese welcome with tea was a lovely start. One of us speaks Japanese so didn't have any language problems. Stairs are quite narrow & steep, could be difficult for very young children or seniors. We enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

3 weeks in Japan and this was one of my favorite places we stayed!

The location is superb - walkable to all the sites, cafe & convenience store at the corner, close to the pedestrian shopping area and a 15 minute walk to Nagarekawa. It's close to one of the tram stops too, but we just took the taxi from the train station with our luggage and walked everywhere once we were settled. If you prefer taxis, there is also a taxi stop about 2 blocks away.

The owner is very sweet. She immediately took us to our room and served us tea and cookies - she took care of the check in process while we enjoyed our snacks. Plus our room was HUGE - especially by Japanese standards. It was basically two rooms turned into one, which was great considering there were only two of us...think we may have been the only guests at the time. The hallway light shines through the screen at night, but I just turned it off when we were going to bed.

Shared bathrooms, but they were nice and very clean. Shower/bath was on the first floor.

Overall - loved it! Highly recommended and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great location. I walked everywhere, Peace Park, Castle etc. Very close to shopping malls + food, internet, etc. Can catch the tram from Rijo Dori (the closest major rd) all the way to Miyajima. Very welcoming place, although I don't think English is her strongest point. Traditional Japanese. Very good although I've done the Ryokan thing now so I probably wouldn't stay again. No internet from memory and I think I had to pay in cash upon arrival, no credit card.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Not much to add from the previous reviewer --
Ryokan Chizuru is in a great location, within 10 minutes walk from the Peace park and close to a streetcar stop. It is probably a 15-20 minute walk to the castle (we went a round-about way). The price, for Japan, is hard to beat (7500Y, no breakfast)
On arrival to Hiroshima Station we took a taxi there to help get our bearings (~1000Y, ~8 minutes). It was easy enough to navigate by streetcar after that -- from Hondori Streetcar Station, just go down the small street at the Family Mart.
The hotel itself has Japanese style rooms with a TV (never turned it on), and a set-up for tea making. It's a bit worn, but very clean and our room was very large. The lady took out a map as soon as we got there and showed us how to get places and where to get okonomiyaki. We spoke a combination of Japanese and English - we don't speak much Japanese, but it worked fine. We told her we would take showers in the morning, and there was no water in the ofuro (bathtub) which was okay.
There was one strange thing, the light in the hallway remained on, and was shining through the shoji screen all night. I'm sure they would have helped us turn it off if we had asked, but we didn't want to bother them. We were tired enough it didn't bother us much, and it was very, very quiet. The pillows were also harder than we're used to, even in other Japanese style rooms. (I'll admit we actually used the seat cushions as pillows, which worked great...)
They were extremely nice and helpful overall, and let us keep our bags there until around 13:00pm our last day when we left for Miyajima.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chizuru Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chizuru Ryokan

Address: 4-12 Fukuro-machi, Naka-Ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0036 , Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chizuru Ryokan 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Chizuru Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chizuru Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.