We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3-20 Kokutaijimachi, Naka-ku | Yomiuri Hiroshima building, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0042, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
plymouth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We had booked a semi-double which made it very good value though the room was small - bed against the wall. However, given the good price/location and the cleanliness and helpful reception staff I would say it was good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    65
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
39
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

- very close to Memorial and Museum + cable car station (only 15 minutes to go to JR station)
- nice room (double non smocking) with big bathroom
- helpful staff (they booked popular restaurants for us)
- breakfast is OK (many choices) and is served in the small restaurant
- very cheap for the period (only 50 euros per night)
I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed in Hiroshima for one night so having a small room was not a big issue. The bed was at least queen sized and comfortable. Could have done with a larger pillow though. Despite the size it was well appointed in that there were all the usual facilities including a number of bath salt options, shampoo AND conditioner and a shower cap! (Previous hotels we have stayed in did not offer shower cap.) On arrival we were offered a range of dripolator coffees (which you can make in the cup) and the aforementioned range of toiletries. The in room wifi was excellent with a high strength signal, enabling us to down load our daily news from our SMH subscription. Tips: very well located within a short walk to the Peace Park, lunch in the restaurant next to the lobby can be bought for as little as 7000 yen and was excellent value in our opinion. We paid 8000 yen for the room, having booked it through Booking.com in Australia. Daiwa Roynet is a chain of hotels across Japan so may be worth considering elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel was far from the train station so we had to take a taxi to get there. It was good, clean, the double bed was a bit small for us westerners esp. since one side is against the wall. A little cramped walking over cases and bags but we survived. We got the breakfast package which was well worth it . They don't give you refills on coffee so you have to buy extra from a ticket machine. This was new for us. There are the conven. stores about 4 blocks down and also a neat street car that goes all over. We rode it to the Miyajima ferry and enjoyed it alot. The fried oysters are a must in Hiroshima they are the best I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Ask for a double even if you are alone. The double is like a double bed in the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and were not impressed. The location is great (10 min walk to Peace Park) but there are other hotels within the same distance to the park so next time I'd stay somewhere else. From the train station you can take a cab for 1200 Yen which is pretty cheap.

The rooms were small, but that was expected considering the price. What we did not expect is a bathroom smelling of sewage... that's not cool. The hotel claims to have WiFi in the rooms but the service is not good and very sporadic. The only nice thing about this hotel was the staff that was very nice and helpful. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The rooms are a bit larger than what I had found in Tokyo, but don't expect any view: there are buildings surounding the hotel. So, unless you have a room overlooking the street in front of the hotel, you'll be facing on of the walls of the nearby buildings. But I didn't spend much time in my room. The hotel is a stone throw from a streetcar station, Chuden-mae. To go to the A-bomb dome or the Peace museum, take the purple Streetcar (#3) or green (#7) almost right in front of the hotel, (be sure to take the streetcar in the right direction) and get off 4 stops later at Genbaku Dome-mae (Atomic Bomb Dome). The Streetcar is a tramway that runs on the street. The ride costs 150 yen ($2) and it’s a flat fee. The driver makes change for you in a machine sitting next to him, so no worries if you don’t have change. Getting off the streetcar, you’ll see the top of the dome. It’s a sight to see!!! The other attractions are all within walking distance (the Children’s monument, the Peace Memorial, etc.) You can even take a short cruise on the Motoyasu-gawa River.

The hotel has only one restaurant, and it’s rather small. Though the portions were small, I really liked the variety offered by the restaurant in their breakfast: eggs, some kind of salty fish –very tasty, an equally tasty soup, even rice (in the morning). Then next to the restaurant, there is a convenience store (of a popular chain in Japan). That C-store sells pre-packaged meals and they will warm it up for you in the microwave. Of course, that doesn’t beat a real meal from a real restaurant. But if you happen to come by late, that family mart stays open quite late. So, you can grab something.
To go to the airport, do NOT take a cab (unless you have heavy luggage). Otherwise, for 150 yen ($2), take the streetcar again (#3 or #7) and get off 3 stations later (i.e. one station before the A-bomb dome stop). Inside the shopping center across the street is the bus terminal (you will see the sign) where you buy a ticket (I think it’s 3,000 yen) for the airport limousine (which is a coach). The bus is comfortable, they load up your bag for you, and the drive is peaceful. Taking a taxi will likely set you back at least 12,000 yen or 15,000 yen (so $160 -$200).
To go to Miyajima (where the floating shrine is), take the green (#7) from the hotel to the last stop of Yokogawa station (do NOT take the purple as it doesn’t go to Yokogawa), and at Yokogawa train station, buy a ticket and take the train to the stop called Miyajima-guchi. You could also get off the green line (#7) before it gets to the last stop at Yokogawa and change at Tokaichi-machi for the Streetcar #2 (Red line). But the red line is a streetcar, and it has about 26 or 27 stops before the Miyajima station. The train get you there in 8 stops and goes WAY faster than the Streetcar which seems to go no faster than 30 miles/hour. The train goes above ground or underground most of the time. So if you want to enjoy the scenery and doon't min the time spent while the Red line streetcar drive across Hiroshima's streets, take the streetcars all the way.

If you checked out early and left your bags to go sight-seeing, upon retun, you can do a bit of freshening up in the hotel's small washroom near the lobby that allows you to freshen up (no shower, but the sink is unusually large, so you have room to maneuver). Thehotel has an expedited check-out: you put the key in a device, and that's alldoin lessthan 10 sec). The lobby area is on the small side, and there are only 2 sofas which fill up quickly when people check out and sit to hang around. If you have a few hours to spare, rather than standing in the lobby or playing musical chairs with other guests, while waiting for the time to go to airport, might as well go to the shopping center where your airport limousine is departing from. Hang around there and watch Japenese young folks mill around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I didn't expect the Daiwa Roynet to be anything special - I chose it specifically for its location, since it's within walking distance of the Peace Park, which is obviously one of the main reasons for visiting Hiroshima. The hotel is also right on one of the main streetcar lines travelling between the Peace Park and the Station, so it's easy to get to other places as well, though you do need to allow the extra time for travel - by their nature, streetcars are not the fastest mode of transport.

At any rate, as promised, getting to the Daiwa Roynet from the Shinkansen area of the main station was straightforward - as long as you note in advance what stop you need, the announcements are easy to understand and as with the railways, all the stops and streetcars have signage in romaji.

Check-in was smooth and easy, and I also had luggage to collect that had been sent on ahead - this too was completed quickly and easily. The staff did not speak a lot of English but more than enough to deal with any enquiries I made, and certainly had more English than I have Japanese! There are machines at which you make your payments at this hotel, but don't worry - the staff can show you how to operate them and it's quite easy. I was also offered a selection of toiletries from a basket if there was anything I needed - I decided to try the bath cubes since they had been recommended on Tripadvisor and indeed I can vouch that the mint ones are very nice indeed for a relaxing post-travel soak!

The rooms were a nice surprise at this hotel - surprisingly roomy for a business hotel and plenty of room for my two small bags. There was also a coathook rail - I wish more Japanese hotels had these as it considerably adds to the hanging space for clothes without taking up too much room! You can expect all the usual things at the Daiwa Roynet - kettle, fridge, TV, Internet cable (though there was also a wifi connection that I managed to connect to once or twice - not sure if that was official or not since it's not in the hotel info *ahem*). One thing that they did have that I did not see anywhere else I stayed was a multi-adapter phone charger in the drawer with the Internet cable - it worked for my iPhone and also had adaptors for a number of other types of phone - nice touch!,

The bathroom was also slightly larger than those of other hotels in this class I stayed at. Having a soak in the bath was quite possible, and there was an array of toiletries provided apart from the ones that were on offer at check in. As usual there was also nightwear provided every day.

The hotel also provides a coin laundry on one floor, and communal microwaves, ice and vending machines too. You can eat breakfast in the restaurant next door for an extra cost though I didn't try it so can't speak to the quality.

The hotel itself is not in a busy area, though it is on a main road - it's sort of in a "between" area, so don't expect great views. However, there are three convenience stores and eateries close by (one of each are literally in the same block) and the tram stop outside can take you to the main drag in minutes if you want more food options. You can also get back to the station in 15-20 minutes if you want to take daytrips out to Miyajima, or south to Iwakuni and Yanai etc.

All in all I found the staff very efficient and friendly, and the hotel a good deal for the price, with larger rooms than I found in most other business-type places. I'd certainly stay there again and recommend it to other people. For the price,it's a good deal, and generally exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 1-3-20 Kokutaijimachi, Naka-ku | Yomiuri Hiroshima building, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0042, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Tingo, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.