We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi

Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi
2-6-25 Hikari-machi Higashi-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0052, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Did not have any problem walking to this hotel after getting off at Hiroshima Station. The rate was a little high on 14 December 2011 (Wednesday) at 6982Y for economy double, so I used our free room night (Toyoko Inn’s stay 10 nights and get 1 night single-room free scheme for members) we had chalked up earlier. Only paid 1000Y to convert the single room to a double room.

Checked with reception for estimate on how long it takes to get to Peace Park from the hotel – the lady said to go by tram, as it would take too long to walk. How long? At least half an hour she said. That was fine with us as half an hour’s walk is nothing, especially nice in a new city we’ve arrived in. We’d be seeing the city streets, looking at people, getting a feel of the place as we walk.

Walked back towards Hiroshima Station, then used the underground pedestrian walkway. Keep going straight till you can’t go further (it was rather short, actually), then walk the rest of the way on the surface.

After Peace Park and the museum, we walked to Honduri shopping street nearby, and had okonomiyaki lunch. Then we took a tram back to Hiroshima Station in order to get to Miyajima faster. TIP: The JPRail site has great pictorial direction for getting to Miyajima, which I had printed out to follow. So we did Miyajima as well the same day with our JR pass.

This Toyoko Inn was pretty much like any of the 12 Toyoko Inns we stayed in during our trip. It’s walking distance from Hiroshima Station, very clean, safe and provided breakfast – all with good value for money and that’s what I wanted.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed there with my family in January, hotel is very simple but clean and very good service. Walking distance from train station but not in the side of city center. You have to go to station to take the bus to visit tourist sites.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night in August of 2010 with my brother while traveling through Japan. It was my second time to Japan and I have stayed in many other Toyoko Inns.

Location: Located about a five minute walk from the north exit of the Hiroshima JR station, this hotel is quite convenient for those traveling with JR passes. The surrounding area itself has some restaurants and attractions, but most of the cities shopping and historical sites are located a short tram ride away. It has to be noted that the tram station is located at the south exit of the JR station and to get to there (the short way) you need to cross through the interior of the station (requiring a JR Pass).

Hotel: The hotel itself is built and run like a typical Toyoko Inn. You get a good value stay without many amenities. No problems encountered with anything in the hotel. There were two computers downstairs with internet access and free breakfast. They also helped us keep our bags before check in and after check out so we can maximize our day in Hiroshima.

Room: Small room typical of hotels in Japan. Bed is hard but functional. The air conditioning unit is self controlled; however, we had trouble reading the Japanese labels on the remote and didn't know how to control it. Eventually after playing around a while, we got it to work. The washroom is small but functional. The most important thing is that it is clean. The cleaning staff certainly do a great job with this.

Overall: With this hotel you know what you get when you pay for it. It is a good value and you will receive a solid, clean and functional hotel room. I would recommend for any traveler with a JR pass that is only spending a short time in Hiroshima. This allows you to not have to drag your luggage around on trams to get to your hotel deeper in the city. You can simply drop off your luggage at the hotel right outside the JR station and walk back to the Tram station. Similarly, when departing, you are close to the JR station. One of the best values in Japan is the Toyoko Inn branch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was by far the nicest hotel i stayed in during my time in Japan. It was quiet modern (or atleast appeared that way). The rooms were large by "business hotel' standards, the staff were helpful and smiling, and the general atmosphere of the hotel was just generally great.
Cons: Could have been a little close to JR Hiroshima, it is on the 'wrong side' of the station so if you wanted to get to town you had to go through the station (i had a JR pass so this wasn't a problem). I don't want to harp on this issue and it was a minor downside to what is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi

Address: 2-6-25 Hikari-machi Higashi-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.