We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - Next to Hiroshima station.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae to your Saves list
Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-11 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel - Next to Hiroshima station.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

3 minutes walk from Hiroshima station and from here trams down into town (5 mins). The hotel is a little away from a main expressway but surprisingly quiet - staff are very helpful and rooms are spotless. Typical mid-range option, clean room, good facilities and good service. Hiroshima has a lot to offer - must-see museums, good nightlife and if you can't find something gorgeous to eat then you are really struggling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
16
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the APA Hotel Hiroshima Eki-mae suring April 2013. The hotel was in the process of having their lift renovated when we arrived, but this was of very little inconvenience as we were situated on the 2nd floor. Rooms are quite spacious for a business hotel and a bathroom that has a tap system which is more like a Rubik cube! The bed is very comfortable and all rooms have free wifi - the wifi code is displayed on the TV when it is turned on. The hotel itself is very close to the station, very close to the streetcar station. Staff at the Hotel are very helpful and will try their best to help you with any query. It is good to learn a bit of Japanese before you go to Japan as this will make your experience far more worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Apa Hotel in Hiroshima was in the process of getting renovated when my girlfriend and I arrived for 2 nights to experience Hiroshima. This didn't disrupt our experience though. The hotel staff were extremely graceful and helpful. The staff provided information and maps for the area upon arriving. They kept our suitcases for us as we arrived a couple of hours before check-in time. We had a decent room size (twin room) and best of all, very affordable. The hotel is a short distance from the JR (main railway) station.

The bottom line...the hotel was very affordable & clean in one of my favourite cities in Japan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The APA hotel is a 3 minute walk from Hiroshima station. We got a bit lost the first time, so here are instructions: You exit through the south exit, walk to the right (around the bus stop area), past the post office. Cross the road at the pedestrian crossing near the post office, walk straight ahead one block, turn right and you'll see the sign 50 metres along.
It's a typical Japanese business hotel, with tiny rooms, minuscule bathrooms and smaller than normal double beds. (Seriously consider what this can mean to a decent night's sleep. On our 2nd night, one of us slept on a blanket on the floor, because we kept waking each other up in such close proximity). The room has everything you need, (other than space), including shampoo, conditioner, body wash, brush, toothbrush and paste, razor, TV and free internet connection (plug in). The reception is 24 hour, and although the English is limited, very helpful. The main shopping/tourist area is a few blocks away. If you don't want to walk, catch a tram or bus from the bus stop area outside the station.
This isn't a modern or luxurious hotel, but it's very clean with good location and service. It' an excellent place to stay if you're visiting Miyajima Island, because the train to the ferry terminal is right there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I went here and though it was a bit tight it was a great hotel. Really clean and located right in the shopping area. Lots of fun to have with a great location, but just be realistic with your expectations of size.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights with my girlfriend.

The hotel is situated minutes away from the JR station which is great if you have just came on train direct from Narita after a long flight.

The tram stop for the peace park is also located just outside the JR station. It takes about 10 mins to the park and costs about 150 yen single.

The hotel is very clean like most other hotels in Japan. It is small but you will be hard pushed to find much bigger for what you pay and who stays in the room all that long anyway.

Staff spoke some English which is hand for direction. They will also supply you with maps of points of intrest if you want.


Lawson and 7/11s are located a few seconds outside the front of the hotel and Im sure they are open 24 hours.


I had a non smoking room and didnt smell any smoke in it or anywhere else in the hotel which is good if your a non smoker but if your a smoker I think you need to go outside and find a side street to go smoke in like I did.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during our Hiroshima visit. The hotel itself was very conveniently located near the JR Hiroshima Station. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was actually smaller than another business hotel we stayed in, but it was to be expected anyway from the Japanese business hotels. Unfortunately, the bed was a bit sunken in, and on the 2nd day, the cleaning staff did not change the used cups in our room. However, the staff at the front desks were always helpful with our questions and requests. They helped us with our luggage sending as well. Because of this reason, overall, we were pleased with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae

Address: 10-11 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apa Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.