We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urbain Hiroshima Executive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Urbain Hiroshima Executive to your Saves list
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-13 Wakakusa-cho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0053, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
1 review
“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the JR station (just a few step away on the right of north exit). Rooms are quite small but very clean and a ladies welcome pack is offered. Breakfast was average in quality but huge in quantity. Free beverages and hot drinks in the lobby.
The hotel is very convenient for visiting Hiroshima ( Hiroshima castle, Shukkei garden and A-bomb dome) by foot. Departing from the JR station the JR line take you straight to Miya-jima.
Street-cars at the JR station south exit will take you downtown where you will enjoy local oysters and okomiyaki.
The staff is extraordinarily helpfull and kind.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    117
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
88
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location was convenient and the hotel was spotless and trendy, but Oh the room was so small, even by Japanese standards. The handbasin was in the bedroom, there was no space for our 2 bags (one small and one medium.....we were travelling for a month) and to get into bed we had to crawl up from the foot end, no space at the sides. I put my back out trying to put on my shoes in the tiny shoe area and hold the door open at the same time......so sorry....this was the worst hotel experience in many years of travel in Japan. Sadly there was no wifi either.

Room Tip: Ask if they have larger rooms and ask to see them before you confirm. We booked on the internet. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Loved our stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were small but adequate. the breakfast was a small selection but really delicious. We were given a pair of slippers and pyjamas which was great and there was unlimited free drinks available in the lobby. We also had opportunities to do laundry here which was really useful for our backpacking holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel's location is excellent - right next to main train station of Hiroshima. Rooms are small, like everywhere in Japan.
A small spa (Jacuzzi and sauna) is free of charge - men and women have separated hours.
Free use of washing machine and dryer.
Nice breakfast, nice (though not so helpful) staff.

Funny to see hotel guests wondering around in green pyjamas (provided by hotel)

Major minus - no WIFI at all.
Overall - okay stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Many of the things others have mentioned are accurate - by Western standards, the rooms are small, but having stayed in a few hotels in Japan, this seems to be fairly normal. The breakfast is included, and laundry is free (50 yen for washing powder). You also get a cabled internet connection with no restrictions - many places we've stayed at have 'blocked' Skype, so it was great to be able to use this here. The hotel is very close to the train station and tram stops, making it very easy to get around. The bed was fairly comfy, and the bathroom, while small for a tall person like myself, was adequate. Overall, a good, convenient hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I echo some of the reviews that have gone before me. My personal thoughts after spending 2 nights here in November 2012:

Good points:
1. Local is convenient if you have a lot of luggage and don't want to have to carry it around the city to find your hotel - you are 5 minutes away from Hakata Station.
2. Room prices are very cheap for Japan.
3. Free breakfast is reasonable.
4. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
5. Free laundry service is a saviour when you are backpacking!

Less good points:
1. It is a bit of a long walk into central Hiroshima if you prefer to stroll around a city.
2. The rooms are tiny, even by Japanese standards.
3. The building is designed so that there is effectively an atrium that is open to the outside. That makes the hotel very cold, and the rooms become stuffy as you ramp up the heating to compensate for it,

No massive complaints, but probably would give somewhere else a go when I return to Hiroshima next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall good value for money. Not too expensive, free breakfast, free laundry (incl dryer)! (only had to buy washing powder 50 yen from reception), nice communal bath with powder room type area with combs, razors etc., amazing state of the art shower. Good-ish location - 5-10min walk from hiroshima train station.

Breakfast was a mix of western and japanese food, there was scrambled eggs, bread (incl crossiants and few rolls), rice, pickles, salad, miso soup. Also 24-7 free coffee and tea (in addition to what you get in your room), juice, and cold drinks (incl coke! wow). Sure breakfast wasnt equivalent to a 5 star hotel or cafe food which you get at home, but it's decent and filling...and FREE! We even got fresh pyjamas every day! (first time in my life! - not yukatas, but pyjamas!)

The only downside i think was the size of the rooms (to which it lost a star), i knew it was small from the reviews, but it is really small! We had a double bed which was small, but enough for both of us (we were 2 girls) but i dont think it would be enough for someone who was much bigger/taller. And location-wise if you want to stay closer to the main attractions plus the main city this is not the place to stay (need to take a tram - 10min away). Good place to stay if all you need is a bed to sleep ( and a nice bath to soak after a long days' walk!)

Room Tip: choose a bigger room - perhaps 2 single beds?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urbain Hiroshima Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbain Hiroshima Executive

Address: 16-13 Wakakusa-cho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0053, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urbain Hiroshima Executive 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, EasyToBook, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Urbain Hiroshima Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbain Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urbain Hiroshima Executive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.