We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hiroshima Hana Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hiroshima Hana Hostel to your Saves list
Hiroshima Hana Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1-15 Kojinmachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0807, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good and cheap hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was recommended to stay at Hana Hostel, and it was indeed a very good stay.

It is located near the JR Hiroshima Station. The tram will get you to the downtown in a few minutes.

We stayed in a private twin ensuite room with private bathroom in Japanese Style.

Everything was correct, the room was big enough , with a TV and Wi-Fi. It also has an elevator to get to the floor of our room. Everything was clean, and the personnel was nice to us as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
48
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had a great time staying at hana hostel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There was an okonomiyaki party organised one evening, which is great opportunity to meet other travelers. It's also well-located as it is very close to the main station. Great place, I would go back without hesitating!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a hostel so I will based this on that criteria, not bad price, a double size bed technically not a queen. Ensuite with shampoo and soap. They could have provided a robe or a JP robe and towels though. The aircon had a smell but it went away after some time but returns if you restarted it. WiFi and ethernet internet access are provided. Good location, safe, quiet, laundry facilities are good too, a wash using 100Yen coins and the dryer for my few items incl sport socks get dried after 3x or 45mins in total. Friendly staff, good English. Ideal for solo and young couple for the purpose of travelling. But you might not get a bright white modern bathroom or a hotel quality bedding ... for those you might want a JP business hotel one step down from a international hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my partner and were very happy with Hana Hostel. It's a stones throw away from the train station, which was perfect for us since we could walk there with all our bags. You can hear some trains at night, but it wasn't a nuisance for us. You could take the tram all the way down to the Peace Memorial Park, but we opted to walk as it was a nice day. This takes about 45 minutes one way, and it's a very nice walk. The staff was super friendly and helpful. One of the girls gave us a suggestion for a place to get Okonomiyaki, a local Hiroshima specialty, and it was right around the corner, cheap, and delicious! The rooms were really nice. We had a 4-bed dorm, arranged in two bunks. A bit small, but still enough to store our bags. Each bed had a privacy curtain, a reading light, outlet, and was super comfortable with ample blankets and linen. A small bathroom across the hall with separate shower and toilet closet, both super clean and a hallway sink. There was also a nice tatami room with a TV, cushions, and low table. They had laundry facilities and a place on the roof to dry your things in the sun, even though we didn't need to use it. There is a common room downstairs with couches, TV, public computers, and a really nice large kitchen for self caterers. Besides being close to the train station, it's not in a particularly busy or noisy spot. The day we checked out we were able to store our bags, go out and explore, come back and shower and relax in the common room before we had to catch our overnight bus. I found Hana Hostel to be great value and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I spent 2 nights here while visiting in May 2013 and I found it to exceed my expectations by some way!
Our check in was smooth and the clerk was very friendly, there were also a wide range of maps and information booklets in the lobby area.
Our room was very comfortable and I really liked the curtains round your bed which gave you extra privacy.
The hostel is also in a great location, a 10 minute walk from JR Hiroshima Station, 5 mins from Mazda Zoom Zoom stadium and around 20-25 mins from A-Bomb Dome, Peace Park etc.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who's travelling Japan on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent two nights here. First in a twin bed room, second in a dorm. Hostel's location was very good close to railway station and trams. Was a bit tricky to locate though. Follow their written instructions but PASS the rwy xing in street level but turn right before the overpass rwy xing. Staff was friendly, gave me a sip of sake. Rating 3-4 pts out of 5

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Hana Hostel in Hiroshima is one of several (four or five?) hostels with the same name all over Japan. The staff actually speaks good English and the booking for one night in a Single Room - Japanese Style went without problems. Even though the homepage states that a credit card is necessary for booking online it was possible to make a reservation without cc if you reconfirm your booking two days prior to your arrival.
I was really impressed by the Japanese style single room I got for 3700 Yen: quiet large, very clean, included a television set, private toilet and lavatory and clean comfortable Japanese futon. Wireless LAN is available on all the 5 floors and connection speed is decent. There even are a coin laundry and laundry rack on the roof of the building from which one has a nice view over the neighbourhood.
The shower was very clean and it's also possible to rent bath towels for 70 Yen in case you don't want to carry a wet towel with you the next day.
The location of the hostel is great, too. It takes about 5 minutes walking from the Hiroshima main station to the hostel. The staff has prepared a lot of information for guests like various sheets detailing information and locations about restaurants and bars in the near vicinity. They are also very helpful regarding any question one might have. I was able to borrow a power outlet adapter free of charge since I forgot to bring mine. They only require you to deposit 1000 Yen which you get back once you return the adapter.
Something very special are the events that are organized by the staff on a regular basis: on Thursdays, there are all-you-can-eat okonomiyaki- or takoyaki parties for the guests of the hostel for just 300 Yen! It was really funny to meet many Japanese and foreigners that evening and we had a blast of an evening! In a similar fashion the staff also organizes "free sake tasting" every Wednesday and Sunday on the reception. Which other hostel offers something like that?
All things considered, this place offers great and friendly staff, hotel quality for a normal price one would expect from a hostel and some nice special events on top! Clearly one of the best budget places I have stayed at in Japan so far!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hiroshima Hana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Hana Hostel

Address: 1-15 Kojinmachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0807, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiroshima Hana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Hostel Hiroshima started the business in August 2008. The building used to be a local “business hotel”.We remodeled this into an advanced international hostel. As we are very close from the station and the guest rooms are well-equipped, we will be an good option to stay for not only backpackers but also for ordinary tourists with suits cases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hiroshima Hana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiroshima Hana Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.