We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hiroshima Hana Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hiroshima Hana Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hiroshima Hana Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1-15 Kojinmachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0807, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Devon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hostel with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a spacious room, with an en suite toilet and sink (but communal shower). Our room and toilet and sink were clean and comfortable, the communal shower was small and fairly clean. Nice little kitchen and seating area, with good wifi. Staff were very helpful and friendly and welcoming. Location is great too, about a 5 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    67
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
46
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed one night at Hiroshima Hana Hostel. I wanted a private japanese room so I booked a double room for a single person. However, they kindly only charged me for one person. It is located close to the station which will easily take you to all the major sites. The room space was spacious by japanese standards for one person. The bathroom was a bit small but that's what you'd expect. It was clean.Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a private twin, very nice room with closet and private toilet. Very nice staff and common areas to meet other travelers. Very clean. Location was pretty good, we walked with our packs from the train station easily and from the sights back to hotel. Bike rental available as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in Hiroshima for 4 days in September 2012 at the Hana Hostel.

The Hostel staff are some of the friendliest people I have met and the daily/weekly hostel events seem to generate a great turnout of people also staying there.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and large for Japan, with a max of 4 people to a bunk style room or 2 in a traditional Japanese (Tatami mat) room.

Hana features a combination kitchen/hangout room on the main floor and I found that I spent most of my downtime in this area. Fellow guests were tidy and respectful, but also great for company and conversation.

The hostel is easy to find and the map on the website guided me right to the front door from the Shinkansen station.

The staff were a big help for both local activities, time to get to places and general information of good eats, activities and general help.

Overall was an amazing stay I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've really enjoyed my stay in this clean and cheap hostel very close to the station. I spent 3900 with bathroom, and i had a double bed...
4 minutes walk from the station. English speaking staff: a rarity here in japan!
Definitley raccomand it, pity they don't have a branch in Tokyo (i think).
100% worth it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

close to train station, baseball stadium, tram line. The staff is remarkable. They even had cheering baseball bats for me to borrow for a game, I (almost) fit right in with all the coordinated cheers! There are clear directions for how to get to Miyajima and they sell the all-day tram ticket. I will stay here again when I come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsue, Japan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just needed a cheap place to spend the night before catching the ferry the next morning, and they were very willing to accomodate my early check-out. The staff was very responsive to booking requests, changes, and questions upon arrival. Even with a suitcase it was easy walking distance from the bus center, with the peace memorial along the way. The Dobashi tram stop is even closer, and there were lots of local dining options and a 24-hour grocery store in the immediate neighborhood, so the location was great. The guests were a good mix of Japanese and international travelers, so I was a lot more social than I was planning on being, but that's a good thing.

The downside is that it's fairly cramped--the living room filled up very quickly on a Friday night. Also, like most hostels, the quality of sleep wasn't great, especially in the mixed dorm full of people and bunk beds. If this is important to you, book a private room.

Room Tip: If sleep is important to you, book a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hiroshima Hana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Hana Hostel

Address: 1-15 Kojinmachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0807, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiroshima Hana Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Hostel Hiroshima started the business in August 2008. The building used to be a local “business hotel”.We remodeled this into an advanced international hostel. As we are very close from the station and the guest rooms are well-equipped, we will be an good option to stay for not only backpackers but also for ordinary tourists with suits cases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hiroshima Hana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiroshima Hana Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.