We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima to your Saves list
Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1-8-9 Matoba-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0824, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hostel but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly and helpful staff and affordable.

But K's house Hiroshima was not the cleanest hostel compared to the other hostels I stayed at during my trip in Japan. But it might be because there were many people staying there, since K's House is quite popular among travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    37
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
36
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very good location to the main train station. Just about 10 minutes of walking distance to the train station. But you should check the map before, as this ho(s)tel is a bit in a backstreet and if you are not fluent in Japanese language, it might be a bit problem to ask locals.

The rooms are very, very clean and nice. There was a TV and airconditioning in my single japanese style room. It seems that every few days, the rooms are being cleaned and garbage thrown out. On the last floor I stayed was just another room, so there was shared bath and toilet for both rooms. But can't really complain, as this was more comfortable, as other hostels I stayed in during my 1 month Japanese trip.
Staff was really helpfull and nice. Can't remember her name, but she can speak English quite well, which was really nice, as my Japanese isn't that good. They can give you helpfull informations like where to dine out or nearest pubs.
From this ho(s)tel to the main attraction, the 原爆ドーム Genbaku Dōmu it's about few stations by tram or about 20 minutes walking distance. I'm sure I don't need to say why, but this city was completely rebuild, so I'd recommend you to walk from this hostel to the main city attractions.

The prices are bit higher than usuall, but for this small fee, you get very spacy and clean room. Although I was staying in a single room, there was room enough for two, maybe even 3 persons. There were also 2 futons and blankets+pillows.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was the first place I stayed in Japan, and probably the best!
I stayed in a private room with an ensuite and was very happy. I had a double bed, my own bathroom (which looks like a caravan bathroom stuck in a room, but that seems to be the theme in Japan), a tv, an air conditioner and it was quiet!
The location is pretty good. Just down the street is the tram which you pretty much have to catch to get to the main shopping area, or the Hiroshima memorial park, but that's not too big a deal for the price. I walked from the train station to the hostel as well, so if on my first day after a 30 hour trip I could do it, so can you.
Great people, great value for money. I would stay at all of the K's houses in Japan if you can get in!

Room Tip: Get the private with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is probably one of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in!
The beds are comfortable, the staff are lovely, there are cool common areas to hang out in and a kitchen you can use.
It's a short walk from Hiroshima station and just around the corner from a 7-11 and tram stop so it's very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was here in Feburary 2013 and stayed in a traditional Japanese room (Ryokan).
The place was very clean and the experience was fantastic. We had to roll our beds out into the room and put the sheets on but that was all part of the fun and experience. The communal showers and toilets were very clean and we didn't use the communal kitchen area so I can't comment on that. Staff were incredibly helpful, and actually made our holiday better by suggesting places we hadn't heard/considered before around Hiroshima that we really enjoyed. Additionally, we arrived very late at night and after calling the front desk, they made arrangements so we could get in.

I would definitely give friends the details of this hostel if they were to stay in Hiroshima, and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Really helpful staff, good English and knowledge of the area and what to do/see/eat! Really clean hostel with dorms and private rooms, nice bathroom facilities with hot water. Good kitchen and common room to hang out in...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Clean and good location in Hiroshima - we were pleased that there was an elevator to upstairs rooms, unlike other hostels which have you lugging your luggage up flights of stairs. The place has good heating/AC systems, and staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a private Japanese room for 4 adults, which was not palatial but very decent for Japanese standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima

Address: 1-8-9 Matoba-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0824, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.