We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Japanese Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1-8-9 Matoba-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0824, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Japanese Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was here in Feburary 2013 and stayed in a traditional Japanese room (Ryokan).
The place was very clean and the experience was fantastic. We had to roll our beds out into the room and put the sheets on but that was all part of the fun and experience. The communal showers and toilets were very clean and we didn't use the communal kitchen area so I can't comment on that. Staff were incredibly helpful, and actually made our holiday better by suggesting places we hadn't heard/considered before around Hiroshima that we really enjoyed. Additionally, we arrived very late at night and after calling the front desk, they made arrangements so we could get in.

I would definitely give friends the details of this hostel if they were to stay in Hiroshima, and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Really helpful staff, good English and knowledge of the area and what to do/see/eat! Really clean hostel with dorms and private rooms, nice bathroom facilities with hot water. Good kitchen and common room to hang out in...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Clean and good location in Hiroshima - we were pleased that there was an elevator to upstairs rooms, unlike other hostels which have you lugging your luggage up flights of stairs. The place has good heating/AC systems, and staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a private Japanese room for 4 adults, which was not palatial but very decent for Japanese standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hostel is a short walk (or two tram stops) from JR Hiroshima. The walk into downtown is a similar distance. Clean hostel with great facilities. Our double with en-suite was quiet if a touch small (but hey this is japan). Highly recommend a visit to the Mazda factory & Miyajimma.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As hostels go, this is pretty sweet. Spic'n'span shared kitchen, 2 sets of washers and dryers (available 24 hours, 300 yen to wash and dry), and clean common room. 10 minute walk from the train station. Once you've walked out of the station, you're actually halfway to the hostel.

We stayed in a private double with ensuite bathroom. Towels, 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner, and body wash were provided. The room was only big enough for the bed and an extra 3 feet on one side of the bed to get in and out of the room. If you had more luggage than a roll-aboard or backpack, the room would have been too small.

The bed was rock hard. I like me a firm mattress, but this was firmer than a super firm futon. Perhaps a Japanese-style room would have been better.

For couples staying in a private double ensuite, this is not so great of a deal. We came to Hiroshima on a 3 day weekend (in Japan), so all the hotels that were normally $100 a night were $300 a night -- K's rates, however, are always 3,900 yen pp in the double ensuite (about $90 USD at the current exchange rate). Do the math: For a couple, staying in a hostel costs about the same as a 3-4* hotel on a non-holiday weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

K's House boasts of very best location in Hiroshima. It's only 10 minutes walk from the main JR Hiroshima station, 3 minutes walk from the tram stop. Can't imagine a better location for a city sightseeing. I stayed in a four person bunk bed room. The room was very clean and the bathroom was fine. I really liked the rooftop where you can meet other backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is an easy 6min walk from theJR and Shinkansen stations.

The hostel is spotless and very clean. Today a gentlemen spent an hour or so cleaning my floor. They do a great job!

The memorial park is about 20min flat walk through the main part of town.

I would def reccomend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima

Address: 1-8-9 Matoba-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0824, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.