We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Active Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Active Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Active Hiroshima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-3 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0016, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The price was nice and the hotel was even better. Hotel Active is everything I could hope for in a budget hotel while travelling in Japan. Its location is convenient, the building is new, clean and well maintained and the amenities include a laundry room, complimentary breakfast, and baggage storage prior to check in.

If I could describe the decor and atmosphere of the building it reminds me of a place you could have furnished by playing the Maxis videogame "The Sims". If you know what I mean look at my pictures and perhaps you'll see a bit of what I mean. Nothing lavish but extremely modern and quite trendy.

My advice and detailed comments are as follows:

1. Very close to the Kanayam-cho Hiroden (Streetcar) stop. It's the 3rd station from the JR station on the 1 (orange sign) ,2 (red) ,6 (Yellow) trams. The tram stops at each stop so don't worry about requesting a stop just worry about getting off. You will have crossed over 2 rivers by the time you get to the hotel. When you do get off the tram, look UP - the most dominant feature of the hotel is a massive black and white sign on top that says "HOTEL ACTIVE!". Peace Park is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel at a reasonable pace.

2. Check-in: If possible pay cash - our 8900 yen room (as per reservation) drops to 7500 yen so bring extra to account for this expense. Check-in front desk English level is not bad. Other staff may know just enough words to get the point across. Elevators are to the left upon entry, front desk is directly ahead, lounge chairs/couches/vending machines to your left and right. You can leave your baggage until check-in which must be at 3pm because it's not a big hotel and cleaners come at 12pm.

3. Room floor lobbies: When you elevator door opens at your floor you will see that certain amenities normally in your room are available in a communal space where you can obtain a kettle to bring into your room, extra desk lamps (for lighting beyond what is in the room), and a Nescafe machine and Microwave.

4. Room - A work desk, mirror, and the bed (which was flush to the wall on one side) dominate the smallish (but not the smallest I've ever seen in Japan) room mostly decorated in white, black, dark brown and silver. Alarm clock built into bed headrest, GREAT buckwheat pillows, slightly hard mattress relative to western standards. The work desk includes a small Toshiba LCD with typical pay per view card machine below, a mini-fridge and of course a "Sims"-ish fake wheatgrass plant and phone. Desk space was long/narrow but adequate for my needs. Free internet is not wireless so you connect via LAN cable. No closet however to save space - just 3 hangers. Window is a tiny rectangle but being in Japan - it's part of the package. Bathroom is typical pre-fab but water pressure is good. Toilet seat is extra warm and the bidet works just fine!

5. Complimentary Breakfast Buffet - When you check-in you will be requested to pick up a breakfast card and a 20 minute time slot between 7-9am. It's all for managing space constraints and they don't check your card. when you come to breakfast. Breakfast is in the "Guest Saloon" to the right of the check-in counter which is a room with a large main table that seats about 30 and 15 additional seats on seats facing the window. The communal table is more fun and I'd recommend it.

Food selection is huge. From beginning to end:
- Juices (Grapefruit, Orange Juice, Apple Juice, Milk)
- Hot water/tea station
- Onigiri (triangle shaped rice "balls") with various toppings (seaweed, furiakake, etc.)
- Pickled vegetables (daikon, cucumber), potato salad, eggs (lightly tempura covered omelette, hard boiled)
- Pastries and toast (toaster)
- Cereal (Chocolate O's, Corn Flakes - bleached and non-bleached, fruit granola with milk to serve
- Hot items - Mackerel (1 day steamed the next day breaded with Thousand Island dressing)
- Shrimp wonton, spring rolls
- Scrambled eggs (runny, with some sort of yellow sauce, sausage
- Soup station (Nescafe machine with beef consomme, cream corn soup, miso soup) - miso bowls are separate
- Salad and fruit station - Agar jelly with fruit cup variety fruit, thinly sliced cabbage, lettuce, grape tomatoes, wakame for salad with 5-6 different dressings (I tried the sesame)

Unpretentious staff who are friendly and helpful top of the experience. Oh yes, and you pay for your room in advance so check out consists of simply returning your key. I'm in Kyoto at a hotel that is 6000 yen more expensive (which is budget already) and I get less than half of what I got here. I highly recommend this hotel for the balance of potential pros and cons emerging from the description above.

I love this hotel because it gives me everything I need - no more and no less.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    62
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
69
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Very reasonable priced and extremely clean! The breakfast is the best that we had during our stay in Japan. Very extensive selection!! Yes, the room is small, but spotless. It is a great hotel with friendly staff and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed at the Active hotel for 2 nights in November. It was the cheapest hotel we stayed at in Japan, at $70 per night, and was certainly excellent value for money. The position is excellent - it's very convenient to getting around Hiroshima and seeing the main sites, either walking or by tram. Also close to the downtown shopping areas, that we loved (although it does sound strange to say "I bought this in Hiroshima"!!).
The rooms really are tiny, but they are spotlessly clean, the bathroom is funky - it is all made from one piece of plastic or fiberglass or something similar. The rooms have free internet, and breakfast is also included in the price. Just make sure you go down to breakfast early enough, or some of the items will already be finished. Breakfast is at a long trestle table and a parallel long bar, so it's an opportunity to meet other guests.
I had a problem with my laptop while I was there, and they lent me their laptop from reception for both evenings, at no additional charge. I was very impressed.
All in all, I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights when sightseeing in Hiroshima. It was an excellent choice! Rooms are quite small but super clean and trendy. There's a free coffee machine on every floor where you can get cappucinos and mochas and green tea. Breakfast was included and it was excellent compared to other breakfasts we had in our hotels in Japan. There's a free spa in this hotel and free internet in the lobby. Double room was 7500 yen/night. Staff is very friendly and most of them speak excellent english.

Location is excellent, the peace memorial park and atomic bomb museum are within walking distance and there's also a huge variety of restaurants and shops nearby.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Hiroshima and it was wonderful. Staff are english speaking and friendly, rooms are clean, the location is great and there is free internet in the lobby. You receive a free Japanese and Western style breakfast every morning which is wonderful!

We walked from the JR Hiroshima station to the Hotel - a bit of a walk but definitely not too far (otherwise you can get a tram). We walked everywhere in Hiroshima as there is really no need to get transport when you are exploring the inner city (i.e. Peace Park Memorial).

For some wonderful Hiroshima Oysters, leave the hotel and head for the river and there is a Oyster bar called Oyster Onclave. Some amazing styles of Oyster and it is beautiful sitting out on the river.

Make sure while you are in Hiroshima you travel to Miyajima via train and then ferry (all covered by your JR pass). Make a day of it as it is a stunning island (and if you are keen walk to the top of the mountain, it is a hike for about 2 hours but very rewarding). Hiroshima is a beautiful city and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Hotel Active is just incredible value. It's so cheap and yet everything is completely fine, no catches. The room is small, yes, but so are most Japanese hotel rooms. It was clean and had everything I needed. There was a free breakfast, which was really substantial, staff were pleasant and accomodating and the location is excellent - right in the heart of Hiroshima and walking distance from everything.

Hotel Active really is number one for value

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

While this hotel is etremely cheap, it actually offer just what are you paying for: the smallest room I've ever seen, with a tiny square which they call window; a dismal bathroom, all made of plastic, where you can hardly have a shower; a very poor breakfast; unreasonable chekin/checkout times (3pm/10am); an internet connection just for surfing the web, useless for advance applications (vpn's and so no).
I really disagree it's the first choice in hiroshima.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Active Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Active Hiroshima

Address: 15-3 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0016, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Active Hiroshima 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Hotel Active Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Active Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.