We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Active Hiroshima

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hiroshima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Active Hiroshima
Save
You added Hotel Active Hiroshima to your Saves list
15-3 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0016, Hiroshima Prefecture (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a great hotel and extraordinary value. It seems newish and is well fitted out; it’s well located – very central. My room was very comfortable, very clean and I had an openable window which allowed me to sleep without air-conditioning. Great laundry facilities and a good generous breakfast too given the room rate – mostly Japanese cuisine, but plenty for the western taste buds too. The staff on duty during my stay spoke little English, but were helpful and we managed to communicate despite my poor Japanese. I’d certainly stay here again and highly recommend it. The value is truly extraordinary!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
71
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very close to the tram station which is a few stops away from JR station.

Lots of restaurants and undercover mall within a few blocks away

Room was small but expected for Japanese standards and especially the good price (you could just about open 1 large suitcase)

Breakfast was surprisingly good and plentiful given the price / night with hot and cold selections (though mainly japanese cuisine)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is modern with small but clean rooms. The service was great as we used the luggage forwarding here and it worked perfectly.
The breakfast was a japanese buffet which was good but the tables were rather cramped.
The best thing about the hotel is its excellent location right next to a tram stop for going to the peace park, the railway station and the port for Miajima.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is located just between the central train station and the Peace Memorial Park. Therefore it is perfect if you are traveling by train.

Off course the staff speaks zero English, but that is one of the charms of Japan. Excellent service. They even gave us an umbrella on a rainy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a double room and a twin room on the 6th floor. The double was so small thee was no room to swing a cat, whereas the twin was slightly larger (and cost more!). No tea or coffee making facilities in the room but there is a shared espresso machine on the floor near the lifts. Location is five trams stops from the station, and very close to tram stop. Location is right in the entertainment district but noise was not a problem. Excellent buffet breakfast is included, and good vending machines are located in the breakfast room. Wifi only available in lobby and breakfast room, not in rooms. This seems to be more a business hotel for Japanese businessmen. only drawback was they could not accommodate a request to have adjoining rooms.all in all very good value for money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Location is perfect, close to the centre and close to Hiroshima central station, in the main avenue of the city. The hotel is very nice, with modern interiors. It has a small onsen. Breakfast is included and they have a lot of different stuff. Prize is surprisingly low for its quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I read reviews on TripAdvisor and wonder why this mid-range hotel could make it to top of the list in Hiroshima, so i decided to try it myself.

In terms of room quality, I think there is no big difference between rooms offered by other Japan hotel chains with similar price range, such as APA, and DormyInn.

So what make this hotel out-perform other hotels in the same grade? I guess it's the general designs, atmosphere and the complimentary breakfast. The design of the lobby is definitely a more stylish/boutique type of lobby with good music. Also they placed a complimentary coffee machine on every floor, free coffee/chocolate 24hours! The breakfast is better than other chain like ToyokoInn, plus it's complimentary.

The onsen, I would say it's better-than-nothing type of onsen. It's really really small, and it like a warm water pool rather than a proper onsen. So if you're too busy to try the onsen, you've missed nothing.

Location-wise, it's good. It's right next to a streetcar station. You will use the streetcar a lot anyway - you will regret if you don't. And it's walkable distance from popular shopping/dining area.

But there is one thing that stop me from visiting this hotel again, it's the internet connection. I'm a freelance worker so I rely on the internet connection to make a living. They provide LAN cable only (no Wifi), which is fine to me because I carry my own portable router. What's killing me is that you cannot use SSH over its internet connection, that means I can't commit my code to github without doing tunnelling. I've never experience this in other hotels in a dozen of hotels i stay in past few weeks...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Active Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Active Hiroshima

Address: 15-3 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0016, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Active Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.