We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broke my heart.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maruyama Zoo

Maruyama Zoo
Miyagaoka 3 Banchi 1, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 064-0959, Hokkaido
+81 11-621-1426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 136 Attractions in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 stars 261 Reviews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amusement park and penguin pool make this zoo a popular spot for children.
Sapporo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Broke my heart.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Small, cramped cages and old mangy animals really left me feeling awful. Zoos as educational centres that have large enclosures and as close to natural habitats as possible are the only kind of acceptable zoos in my book. This isn't one of those places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    136
    33
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A day for children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This zoo is in the process of being upgraded and some of the older accommodation for the animals is not up to standard .The new enclosures are however good. There is a nice walk up through the woods from the Jinga temple

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great for kids during snow festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

It was fabulous! Some of the reviews we read were not that great but it isn't a huge place. They had ice slides constructed for the kids and adults and we loved it. It was fun to go even though it snowed a little

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Made us sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I felt awful seeing the animals living in the conditions that they were in.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
福岡
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Zoo at maruyama”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I found the zoo at Maruyama to be a horrible example of animal cruelty. The cages were too small, the animals seemed sick and bored. The facilities were old but maintained. There were a moderate variety of the animals. There are much better zoos to visit in Japan.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maruyama Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Maruyama Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maruyama Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.