We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, could not belive what we got for our ££” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapporo Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sapporo Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Sapporo Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-2 Kita 1 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo, Hokkaido 060-0001, Japan (Nishi Juitchome Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Excellent value, could not belive what we got for our ££”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Sapporo, and to be honest we really could of done with another nights stay as we really did enjoy the city itself.

After getting a tad confused with the exit to the hotel (there is a underground labyrinth as ever which means you can get from the station into the hotel without going outside) We arrived to a warm welcome by reception, and a bell boy soon had everything ready to go to our room, all very efficient.

Our room was a very nicely decorated refurbished room, large and spacious with 2 queen beds (thats what was on offer at time of booking) but with a small window that could not be opened, however the air-con which was need was very good. WI-FI was very fast, and tea/coffee facilities however I do object to being charged for ice, even if it was delivered promptly with another very friendly member of staff.

Both the bed and bedding were of good quality and comfortable nights sleep was had with excellent blackout curtains. The bathroom was the usual type of ships cabin (but watch that step out into the bedroom from the bathroom itself) but the toiletries were very good and the towels were large, white and fluffy and were big enough for Western guests unlike some hotels. Both rooms were spotless as well.

There are many places around the hotel to eat/drink and a Starbucks is attached to the hotel downstairs.

We left our luggage to collect later on after checking out, this was all done again with friendly helpful staff. Each and every member of staff we dealt with was the same, well done the Grand for this.

All in all I thought this hotel was excellent value for money at 16,000JPY (£50!!!! Per night) for the 2 nights for the standard of the room we had and the facilities and would defiantly stay again, this is why I'm giving this hotel 5* for value above everything else

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    367
    130
    21
    8
See reviews for
225
98
149
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The lobby looks great but I will not considered the room I stayed a 4 star standard. Small room, simple interior in the room and not cozy. Breakfast is only so so. Not really very near to shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed Sapporo Grand Hotel past winter 2013, a lot of snow Sapporo! But easy access from JR Sapporo Station via underground passage.
Many restaurants and Bars to choose in this hotel. Three restaurants are open for breakfast, and I recommend Japanese Restaurant. Enjoy Hokkaido regional foods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Main strengths of this hotel must be location and cleanliness of rooms however my impression having stayed here for 5 nights is that it is catered to local domestic travellers. The Concierge service is non-existant and the assistance given by Reception re sightseeing and restaurants is poor. When i asked for a restaurant recommendation i was given 1 name and an address, no explanation etc / when asked about local day tours, was given a tel number and asked to call my self / when asking about going to sapporo beer factory, was told to go by taxi and no mention of sapporo bus walk etc! We stayed in the comfort floors but room was very very small, no view, low ceilings (1524 and 1525). Breakfast buffet choice was also limited compared with other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utaradit, Uttaradit, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The excellent thing is the good location. We walk to the clock tower for 5 minutes and the old government building for 5 min too. The room quite too small and the bathroom too. We stay for 1 night after long trip for 3 nights in Hokkaido and we had 2 Big suitcases so it didn't have enough area for them. The breakfast was OK. You can found Egg boiled in this hotel but 3 others before had not. But the station of the food was quite too small and located in center of the big room so you should come early to avoid many people in the rush hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivychurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sapporo Grand Hotel for three nights during our month-long tour of Japan.

The hotel building is beautiful and has a very ‘old-fashioned’ feel to it, in keeping with the age and style of the hotel building.

Our room was a good size and very comfortable but looked out onto the interior courtyard – no view, the room was very dark and the windows could not be opened. We asked to change rooms but were told they did not have any other rooms available. No doubt our room was much quieter than one overlooking the street but it felt somewhat claustrophobic.

There were tea making facilities and free wifi. However, I did object to paying 300 yen for a bucket of ice!

Most of the hotel staff spoke some English and all were very friendly and helpful.

Travel Tip:
Make use of the underground passage linking the hotel to the JR and subway stations as well as to an amazing shopping complex. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the JR station and about 5 to the subway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapporo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapporo Grand Hotel

Address: 4-2 Kita 1 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo, Hokkaido 060-0001, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Nishi Juitchome Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sapporo Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Sapporo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapporo Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.