We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-10-10 Nishi, Minami8jo, Chuo-ku, Sapporo, Hokkaido 064-0808, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 160 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Surprising hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights. I booked via their Japanese website, which seems to offer better deals. I was able to secure their top room (Premier) with breakfast for a fantastic rate.

Upon arriving, I took the airport shuttle from CTS and it drops you off literally a block away. However, you have to find your bearings a bit as it's not well marked. Overall, this is a very new-ish hotel and it shows. The location is very good and you can either take a short subway ride to the city centre or you can easily walk there in about 10-15 minutes.

Upon check-in, the service received was quite good. Normal Japanese hospitality. However, what was surprising was that they advised they'd be CHARGING THE FULL AMOUNT IMMEDIATELY. I'm used to staying in tons of hotels and the only other time this has happened was in a dodgy hotel in Rome. I was pretty surprised as also no other hotel in Japan (that I've stayed in) does this. Oh well, I let them do it as you soon learn it's pointless arguing "against the rules".

The room itself was quite modern. Somewhat spacious by Japanese standards. I also had a crib put in. The mattress was firm enough, the workdesk pretty large, and lots of plugs for charging a multitude of electronic gizmos. There was also an air purifier in the room, if you cared to turn it on. The bathroom was a little smaller than expected but perfectly functional.

The breakfast was a buffet that catered more towards quantity than quality. After I arrived there a little earlier on my 2nd morning, I understood why. This hotel is packed with tour groups. And, it seems the poor restaurant staff have to deal with this ridiculous number of people coming in. If you're to get a comped breakfast, you should have a coupon but I saw tons of tourists not bothering to show or, if stopped because they didn't have one, they'd return in 5-10 minutes and sneak in. Honestly, it's better to arrive for breakfast after 9 am as all of the tour groups have left and it's a little more sane.

It rained when I was there and there was a complimentary umbrella rack with all the cheapie see-through plastic umbrellas. I didn't really care that they were cheap but they worked and there were lots of them.

Upon check-out, it's a short walk again to the airport shuttle stop which offers a very convenient way to return to the airport.

I'd definitely return but gave it 4 stars due to the bizarre rule about full payment on check-in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    106
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
61
58
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The check in was smooth although 2pm check in rigorously applied. Rooms were surprisingly large easily accommodating large 3 beds. Very clean and well appointed bathroom. Wifi worked easily. It is well located and easy walk to the city. Nearby metro or tram and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity it. Breakfast better than ok with a Japanese fast focus. Lawsons in the building.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. After spending 2 weeks paying USD$200+/night at ski resorts, this was an amazing deal with a much nicer room at less than half the ski resort price. I chose this place based on proximity to the Sapporo Beer Museum. As it turns out, I should have measured. This is 2 miles from the beer museum. In the summer, I'm sure it is a pleasant walk. In a blizzard...I survived and still have all my fingers and toes. For those wishing for less of a walk, there is a subway station about a block away. It's about 1 to 1 1/2 hours from here to the airport via bus which picks up about a block away. Not particularly convenient for the airport. However, the hotel, itself, is great!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a "best view" here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a hotel with a 3-star lobby but a 5-star room. The room is trendy and spacious, a rare gem in the city. It is not in the busiest part of the main road, but that is what I prefer -- the distance from the hotel to the hustle bustle shopping area and eateries provides me with a good walk after a nice meal. It is a 10 to 20 minutes walk from the noisiest part of the main road back to the hotel, and it's a straight way ahead so you won't get lost.

Clean is the room and so is the corridor. The smell, one thing that I am always fussy about, is clean, too, as I hate the smell of cigarette smoke and worn-out carpet that is common in many 3 or 4-star hotels in Japan.

Lawson the convenient store is on the ground floor of the hotel building, so you'll get anything even in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in this new and modern hotel near Sapporo's Susukino district for two nights recently. It is a short subway ride away (3 stops) from Sapporo JR station.

The hotel is conveniently located close to the Nakajimakoen subway station, and it takes approximately 6-8 minutes to walk here from the station.

Our room on the highest floor of the hotel is spacious for Japanese hotel room standards and well designed with a large study table and a single seater sofa with leg rest. The bathroom had ample space to move around in and the water pressure is very strong with good, consistently flowing warm water.

The bedroom and bathroom was clean and tidy upon check-in and was well upkept throughout our stay here.

Wifi was readily available in the room. Surfing speed was good and signal strength strong.

Breakfast selection was fairly wide and varied with a good number of Japanese and Asian dishes.

There are a number of restaurants closeby and quite a few convenience stores in the vicinity. In fact there is a Lawson convenience store situated right next to the hotel where you can buy mineral water, beer, snacks, food, toiletries, etc.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here in this nice hotel and will definitely stay here again when we return to Sapporo in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed 1 night in transit to Rusutsu. Triple room, breakfast included. Great value. Room was spacious and had a good selection of amenities. Nice design. Modern interior throughout hotel. Comfortable bed and able to adjust temperature of the room. Good breakfast selection and staff service. Would recommend and stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the Christmas Break.

Best Western Nakajima Park offers consistent top quality service at a price that cannot be beaten in Sapporo for what you get.

Christmas breakfast was also interesting this year. They had a few extra items out in the menu including roasted chicken.

This really is Sapporo's best cost performance hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park

Address: 3-10-10 Nishi, Minami8jo, Chuo-ku, Sapporo, Hokkaido 064-0808, Japan
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Sapporo Nakajima Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.