We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable time at the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiroi Koibito Park

Shiroi Koibito Park
2-2-11-36 Miyanosawa Nishi-ku, Sapporo, Hokkaido 063-0059, Japan
+81 11-666-1481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Shopping in Sapporo
Type: Factory Tours, Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No visit to this unforgettable walk through the culture and history of chocolate would be complete without a snack in the Chocolate Lounge.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable time at the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the first touristy place we visited when in Hokkaido.
The chance to see the famous biscuits being produced and checked was interesting though the place was really packed.

I especially enjoyed my time relaxing in the cafe with cupcake and ice cream! It also provided a good view of the surrounding sports field.

There are many photo opportunities in the well laid out garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    193
    43
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Park with lots of things to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited this place thinking that it would just be a chocolate factory showing their history and how the chocos were made. But we were so wrong! This place had so much more things. The rose garden and toy museum were one of them. My favourite place was the one where we could see through a glass panel and look at how our favourite chocolates were made! Overall, this is a great place for families with kids to visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Must include a visit to the cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a great time wandering through the museum. You need to take time to view the well thought out exhibits and also watch the chocolate biscuit production on the factory floor which is a clean room with workers dressed in white overalls and shoe covers and masks and blue gloves. There are also activities like cookie making for those folks with little kids. We watched a little girl, decked out in overalls and a chef's hat, gleefully roll out cookie dough supervised by her mother and 2 staff. After the exhibits, don't forget to make a stop at the cafe and try to get a table by the window. You can enjoy the beautiful view of the mountains in the distance, while enjoying ice cream decorated with the signature biscuits, and hot chocolate with orange liqueur.

Getting there was a little tricky - we took a subway to Miyanosawa station but there was not much signage to Shiroi Koibito Park. Just remember - walk towards "Cheria" which is an Education Centre. When you emerge from the front of Cheria, cross the road and you can't miss the Chocolate Factory building.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pricey entrance fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place is more a museum for toys, gramophone, cups, chocolate labels, rose garden than a confectionary so we are kind of disappointed because we are interested only in the confectionary bit. The guide book promises lots of free sampling which is not the case as everybody is given only a piece of cookie on payment of the 600 yen entrance fee. We probably get more free sampling in a typical supermarket (lol!). The highlight of the visit is probably the demo on candy making which ironically is free for all as it is located on the merchandise floor.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Before exiting the station, get a map from the control station (see photo). Yes, they even printed them in colours. There are some signages fixed onto the lamp posts once you exit the station. So keep a lookout. The cookie-making class is conducted in mass so be early (arrive in the morning if you are keen to participate) because they have a schedule for that. I enjoy watching the cookie production. There's even a mailing service for your cookie at the retail store! But the service is not available during the weekend when I was there.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiroi Koibito Park also viewed

 

Been to Shiroi Koibito Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiroi Koibito Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.