We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Sculpture parc outside Sapporo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerenuma Park

Moerenuma Park
1-1 Moerenuma Koen, Higashiku, Sapporo, Hokkaido 007-0011, Japan
+81 11-790-1231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 136 Attractions in Sapporo
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Interesting Sculpture parc outside Sapporo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Moerenuma Park is located north east of Sapporo not so convenient to reach. From the Sapporo station you can take the bus number 59 to the last station. From there it si a 10minutes walk.

The Park offers a great combination of sculptures, which are actually more buildings than sculptures, and possibilities for picknick and playground for children. Founded and designed by Isamu Noguchi on the ground of a former waste treatment plant in 1988, there are about 10 major structures, which are perfectly designed in harmony with the landscape: mountains, rivers, fountains and the landmark glass pyramid. There are many lawns and water places which are ideal to sit on or play in on hot summer days for the whole family.

From the play mountain and the amphitheatre you will have a very nice view of the distant Sapporo skyline.

To go around you might rent a bike for 300Y per person which is a very convenient way of seeing all exhibits.

Despite the fact that it takes some time to reach this place, I recommend this as a very nice and inspiring trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    122
    31
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Surprisingly fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I thought the design/architecture sounded interesting enough to warrant the roughly one hour of subway and bus travel to warrant going, but we ended up staying longer and had a great time. This is the opposite of an electronic arcade; you make your own fun. The hills, glass pyramid and fountains are a feast for the eyes and as KanoSouthCarolina says, the people watching is fun. You can stretch your legs on a rental bike $2 for 2 hours (free park admission) and it's fun to make a circuit or two on the 4 km perimeter bike path. Don't miss the sea fountain... I don't want to post a spoiler but I've never seen a fountain do what it does. It starts at 15 after the hour during summer months and lasts 40 minutes. Stay past the big initial geyser. Food choices were really limited; bring snacks. The whole park is sculpture and very cool.

The Tohu subway line from Sapporo station has English signs and it's just 3 stops out. The bus pulls up right outside and -again - it has a sign in English as well as an English announcement. You won't get lost.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We rented bikes to cycling around the park to save time and really enjoyed it. Beautiful landscape. Could not believe that this place used to be garbage dump site. The fountain show is nice and not to be missed.

I lost my glasses somewhere in the park, and got it back from information centre. There was really someone who cares!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilseck, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Flower Festival during visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a great park for walking and relaxing. It is a wonderful People watching park that is well used by the local Sapporans. It is also close the shopping and restaurants. It also has music venues and at the time of our visit it had a flower festival going on with many presentations sponsored by companies, it was an amazing display of Floral Artistry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous bike ride around an amazing park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We obtained a 1-day subway and bus pass for Sapporo and headed straight to Moerenuma Park. The park is gorgeous and not to be missed! Some of the playgrounds and sculptures were designed by Isamu Noguchi. Fantastic views at the top of "Play Mountain" and "Mt. Moere". We rented bikes within the park and had the most gorgeous summer ride. It was safe for my 8-year-old daughter since the park is closed to vehicles. Playgrounds for children are dotted throughout the park and my daughter had a field day! We wish we could have stayed longer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerenuma Park also viewed

 

Been to Moerenuma Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerenuma Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.