We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large lake side state hotel, remote” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xihu State Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Xihu State Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xihu State Guesthouse
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Yanggong Causeway, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 1,893 hotels in Hangzhou
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Large lake side state hotel, remote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a South China tour. Arrived in evening. Room was large, excellent facilities and moderate wifi access. Decided to have dinner in main restaurant - big mistake! Buffet was cold, limited and staff spoke virtually no English, so lots of pointing and acting out. Meal was very disappointing and buffet closed at 8.30pm, when we were only ones in restaurant. Next morning, we saw lake side walks from hotel - excellent place to chill out and walk along lake. However, hotel remote from all restaurants and shops so you need taxi. Felt like staff were still learning about customer service and hang over from state run building, used mainly for business meetings and large government banquets.

Would not recommend this, unless you want to be remote, quiet and have access to taxi.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here with my China sales team for a two day meeting. If i didn't need to be back in the states right away, I would have stayed longer to enjoy the property and surrounding area more. I won't repeat a lot of what others have already written, but this is one of the most enjoyable locations I have stayed in my many travels throughout China.

It is rated as a 5 star hotel, but that may be a stretch by other standards. By China (and a lot of Asia) it fits the rating. We stayed in the main building (where registration is) and found it to be convenient and quiet. I had a room on the 2nd floor, looking out back to one of the pond areas. Room are clean, beds comfortable and the amenities are what you would expect in any major hotel.

The hotel property is very large with many walking areas, ponds, tea buildings, and of course the lake itself. From the lake side, where you can also have tea at the tea room, you can catch the sunset on the giant pagoda on the far side of the lake.

The food here is quite good, with a lot of variety. It may be a little more expensive than average meal in other Chinese hotels, but compared to the large western chains, it is a very good value.

Room Tip: It depends on what building you will be in, but ask for one facing the garden or pond. I stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

It is interesting that in the past decade each time I visited Hang Zhou I always stayed in this guesthouse. This hotel is very popular because of the fact it used to be the residence of Chairman Mao. The hotel itself is like a beautiful park since it is one part of the famous West Lake. The view is unbeatable! The hotel facilities are good but there is room for improvement in terms of services. Staffs are all very polite but lack of the sense of servicing the guests, which is quite common in China. There are not too much choices for breakfast buffet, since this hotel is not run by any international hotel management group.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed in the main building above the registration area with a view overlooking the water and the beautiful gardens. 5-star very modern room, with fresh fruit added every day. Very peaceful, no crowds and paths up the hill with good views for an easy walk to Mao's study. Breakfast is very good and wide variety of chinese and western food. Plenty of excellent restaurants just outside the grounds. Would stay here again, because of the peace and quiet with the beautiful grounds.
But beware extras are not low cost - a cup of expresso was around $9 mid afternoon. So drink you coffee with your meal (it is included in the price). Room was over $200, so not low cost but well worth the cost.

Room Tip: I liked the room in the main building, but make sure it faces forward and is not behind the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Like a hidden gem, away from the crowd. Very professional staff and pretty good food, although kinda pricy. Unfornately there was a high level foreign visit event, so building no. 1 was closed to other guests. Will stay here again, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Try to ask for 2nd floor. The room can be very moist due to the closeness to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Right at the Westlake, the Xihu State Guesthouse is perfectly located in Hangzhou.
In a huge park at the borders of the lake we found lots of tranquility and original old-style luxury ... a real retreat from the crowded and noisy city center.
Although the 5 star luxury in the hotel is not at the latest Western level, the hotel breads original communist luxury with all services we required.
We tried the hotel breakfast and lunch. Although quite expensive to Chinese standards, the food quality was also above standards, with an extensive choice in cold and hot dishes, desserts & fruits and showcooking.
Throughly it was an awesome experience in to real Chinese style luxury!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed only 1 night we had booked a non smoking room but on arrival we were given a room that was defiantly not non smoking we were told we could change rooms but we would have to pay an extra £50.00 I did not want to do this as I thought the amount we had paid was more than any other hotels that we booked in China and they were much better.
We chose this Hotel because of the location and this part we were pleased with ,the grounds were very beautiful.We visited Hangzhou to see the West Lake show and we were able to walk to the show which we really enjoyed it was very impressive.





I would go back to see the show but I would find another hotel t stay in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xihu State Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xihu State Guesthouse

Address: No.18 Yanggong Causeway, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#15 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#149 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xihu State Guesthouse 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xihu State Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xihu State Guesthouse Hotel Hangzhou
Xihu State Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xihu State Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.