We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hideaway from buster and hustler city life!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.3318 Xianghu Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311258, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #31 of 1,968 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good hideaway from buster and hustler city life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a resort with a touch of Chinese traditional design with some of the rooms facing the lake, and with swans swimming and quacking. Unlike those resorts giving you an unrealistic dream-like feeling, this one is back to basic with a Chinese touch, embrace nature and relax!

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the lake if you don't mind waking up by the quacking noise of the swans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
20
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here in October. They did not take travellers checks, or cash them. Their hotel smelled nasty and smoky. If you walked to your room through the buildings, you were assaulted by the smell of mildew and nicotine.

Their executive lounge was also very smokey, and the food offered was often stale or looked inedible. The lounge CONCIERGE, Nina, however, was WONDERFUL, kind professional, and thoughtful. She kept my American son supplied with all the milk he could drink, which is quite a bit. She also surprised us by having breakfast waiting (to go) for us early, the day we left, since our cabs were arranged (by her) to come before the lounge opened.

My husband and I both got bronchitus from the mold in our building. We eventually went for treatment to a hospital in Beijing.

The staff should warn you that you will not get much rest; there are geese making noises at all hours and random fireworks throughout the day and night.

But the WORST THING was the garbage cans, next to the toilets. They were covered in feces. Apparently the plumbing doesn't work very well, so guests throw their soiled toilet paper into this can, which is NOT lined or cleaned.

Room Tip: I don't know. the whole place smelled. Maybe one NOT facing the "lake" (pond), so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We were visiting Hangzhou as part of a 4-city, nine-day visit from the USA to China. We were delighted with the peaceful, lovely waterfront setting. The rooms were very good, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered multiple stations with a variety of international cuisines. Whether you wanted sticky rice, bacon & eggs, or sushi for breakfast, you could get it here. The food quality was good. The lobby bar/lounge was relaxing and pleasant. The bartender/server offered above-and-beyond service and the youthful three-piece musical group was so much fun as these played American pop favorites with a Chinese flair. We never expected that while visiting China we would see two pretty Chinese women singing and dancing the Macarena! It was fun and the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Enjoyable place, Kind of Ressort. May buildings Spread over a Large Area. Lots of Green and Water.
Big Lobby Area.
Not much to do After hours. Good facilities for Convention.
Food ok, Atmosphere in total only so, so. Not charming and inviting, also maybe because of Little Penetration for such a Big place.
Used to Be a Sofitel when opening and for a Few Years thereafte (can still see from Symbols On Glass Doors and glass Walls).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel, like all others on our big bus tour, was preselected for us.

The wings, floors, and numbering system for this hotel were VERY confusing.

Our room was clean and nice. No reason to complain. When we first got into the room, we moved some tea cups from the top of a cabinet to a shelf directly below to make room for a suitcase. As usual for this trip, I immediately hid the water glasses [one with a hugh blob of white stuff... someone else's toothpaste on the inside?] into a drawer in the bathroom. I did this in every hotel as a reminder that the tap water was unsafe to drink.

The next morning, we had been back on the bus only a short time when our guide got a call on his cell. He asked us where our tea cups were...had we moved them to another room? We finally remembered and described what we had done with them. OK, fine. A couple of minutes later, another call....where were the water glasses? I described the drawer beside the sink where I had put them. OK, fine. The very strong feeling we got was that we would be billed for these items!

The room was nice. Breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The staff is not as they should be to give correct, adequate advice to us, such as where to have breakfast as I update the room & was entitled to have free breakfast to the club...
The room is not as good, cyber as I had expected, compared with the photos shown in the website..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I had read a couple of very good reviews here and therefore decided to book this hotel for a family vacation to get away from Shanghai. It sounded so perfect, nice surroundings, a bit away from westlake, but therefore calm and definitely enjoyable.
To start with the one positive experience, the swimming pool was great and our kids enjoyed every minute. Apart from that, everything was far from perfect, and this is one hotel I would never consider returning to.
The rooms were basically ok, but not overwhelming, we could hear the nearby traffic all evening. The food experience was simply awful. Since our kids usually love hotel buffets, we had booked the breakfast for an extremely high price, and I have to say it was the worst ever served to me. When we arrived, the Western Cafe was crowded by some conference, and we were guided to the Chinese restaurant. We were offered a table with people smoking to our left, and people smoking to our right, they did not separate in between. Neither the drinks nor the food had English signs on them. The bread looked old. There was toast, but no toaster. There was no decent cheese or sausage, no butter, nothing, and the warm section looked disgusting to me. When I asked for milk to put in my coffee, they brought me a cup of cold milk with a tablespoon in it. Actually, I would have considered it funny in a Chinese simple location, but not in Sofitel. We called the manager to complain and got an upgrade to the business lounge for the next day. Service was a lot better, of course, so was the coffee, but the food was just the same (the toaster did not help to cheer me up)
The hotel is really far from the center, we were just lucky we had a private car. the adjacent lake was ok, but nothing, believe me nothing, compared to the beauty and charm of the westlake surroundings.
I would never ever come back here, and am sorry I went.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort

Address: No.3318 Xianghu Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311258, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#69 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wenyan Town, near the junction of the Qiantang, Fuchun and Puyang Rivers, the Resort presents an idyllic natural environment and incorporates the Xiang Lake tourism area, an official venue for the World Leisure Expo 2011. Hotel covers an area of 94,000 square meters; forested 28,221 square meters. Situated by Tiger Mountain, the hotel has its own Swan Lake, where the Swans, Ducks and Mandarin Ducks are dwelling. In the hotel, you will enjoy the natural beauty away from the modern life. Having a meeting or on a trip – whatever your purpose is, our hotel will provide every convenience to guarantee your trip is a success. Our hotel can be used as an extension of your office. We have 301 distinctive rooms, including 19 suites, 62 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are well-designed with the minimum size of 40 square meters; some rooms even have a feature balcony for you to enjoy the stunning view of the lakes and mountains. Zest CaféZest Café located on the first floor of Conference centre, the elegant and stylish lake-view International restaurant, you can order exquisite food delicacies cooked by our hotel chef. It also serves International buffet, with seafood selection, authentic Brazilian barbecue, cocktails and desserts, presenting you a feast of delicacy.Waterfront Terrace Waterfront terrace on the Swan Lake can be used for various outdoor parties and is an ideal choice for private gatherings, weddings, product promotions, cocktail receptions and company meetings.Tao Yuan Chinese RestaurantIn a luxurious and elegant atmosphere, enjoy the modern-style Cantonese cuisine, delicate Hangzhou cuisine, local Sanjiang special cuisine and a variety of afternoon tea dim sums. 37 private rooms in diversified styles and a function room for 550 guests can accommodate functions of all sizes. Muse Lobby BarRelaxing and easy atmosphere, flavorful coffee, authentic tea, exquisite snacks and mellow wines, Muse Lobby Bar is an excellent venue for a business negotiation with your partner or a friends gathering. The resort is at the prime location of Hangzhou whether it’s for business or leisure purpose.It has 21 meeting rooms in different size and design. The impressive Xanadu ballroom offers 864 square meter of event space and accommodates up to 800 guests for a theater style meeting and 550 guests for a round table dinner set up. The 460-square-meters Xiang Lake ballroom can accommodate up to 350 guests for a classroom set up, and cocktail reception for 550 guests. The VIP Reception Centre located by the Swan Lake, it is an exclusive meeting and dining venue and ideal for private dinners, weddings, cocktails and corporate meetings. Other meeting rooms of various sizes that offer the organizers and participants ample space which can handle groups of 10 to 450 people.The resort offers meeting organizers and participants world-class meeting facilities including the latest audiovisual equipment which are supported by the services of a team of professionally trained staff. For absolute relaxation, you can unwind with an invigorating swim in our 25-meter lap pool; practice your swing at the tennis court, test your skills in the billiard chess and table tennis room, enjoy fishing and boating in the lake that commands a majestic view of the surrounding with the company of swans. The health centre features a gymnasium with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. For a moment of serenity, the jogging or bike trail provides an interesting option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou
Accor Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.