We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best located hotels around West Lake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hangzhou to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.28 Hubin Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 1,962 Hotels in Hangzhou
Macau, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of best located hotels around West Lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There are some great famous hotels around West Lake, but only Hyatt Regency has its uniqueness with convenience in shopping, dinning. The most value of this hotel is its location, not just facing directly to West Lake, but it is inside the town with lot of restaurants, cafe around. The most famous traditional restaurant - The Grandmas has a branch just several minutes walking distance. Honestly, the hotel is a little over-priced, although some of their front desk staff provide very good services and polite. The breakfast isn't very good with the 5-stars standard and expensive (if you have to pay). It is the hotel if location and convenience are mostly be concern.

Room Tip: Some will recommend to choose the Lake View rooms, but I don't think the price is justified when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    250
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
67
76
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If i have to visit China again i will certainly visit this hotel in Hangzhou.Excellent location and the west lake is just outside the hotel.Service is excellent and staff are superb and efficient.Infact it started to rain out of the blue and the hotel arranged umbrellas impromptu.
They could have done better for in room amenities and the lobby area.
The buzz is around the west lake area and you can just stroll around the lake area for the whole day.The musical fountain is one of the best i have ever seen. I don't know about the business traveller but if you are visiting Hangzhou to just chill and relax then this hotel is an excellent choice.Surprisingly there are many indian restaurents as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year a traditionally quiet period. We were quoted a price of US$385 including breakfast which we accepted expecting a fantastic room overlooking west lake. When we arrived we were told we had to pay an extra US$7 per day for an internet connection in our room - unbelievable!! We were then shown to a very dated room that had a musty smell. We were astounded considering the price. When we complained we were upgraded to the Executive Floor which was better but still grossly overpriced and very poor value for money considering the time of year.

Room Tip: Request a high floor as lower floors don't have a good lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Superb location where the lake is literally at your door step. Service was superb as we left some personal items in the room. One email later, the items were couriered to our next stop, Hyatt on the bund in Shanghai.

We would definitely stay here again as we appreciate the proximity this hotel has to the lake. No need to get stuck in congestion to explore the vast West Lake.

The hotel arranged for our train tickets with no fuss at all. Extremely efficient and hassle free travel.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room, the view is absolutely pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I always end up staying at the Hyatt when in Hangzhou, because of its fabulous location, but the hotel is dated and the beds are way too soft, when you sit on it think of a Banana bed. But again the location is what keeps bringing me back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaoxing, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We're an expat family (10+ yrs in China) living not too awfully far from here. We've stayed here (and in countless other Chinese hotels) several times, and (although it's not perfect -- see below), we really love and appreciate the Hyatt. For anyone "on a budget," the price will seem steep, but if you've been away from home a while and need/want a really nice break from it all, then this place is totally worth the price. The location is THE BEST, no contest. The personal service and attention are often AMAZING -- like providing (without additional charge) a comfy yet spacious baby bed, child's slippers, Johnson's wash and lotion, and (GET THIS!) a FREE teddy bear from Harrods of England! AND... When we forgot to bring a diaper for overnight and called to ask if they happened to have any (which they didn't), they asked what size then went outside in the rain at night and bought diapers, giving us more than a night's supply for FREE! This would NOT happen at any other hotel in town. Trust me. These are the kind of blessings that keep us coming back at least once or twice a year to relax and recharge. Also, the spa is great, room service is fabulous and affordable, breakfast is excellent, late check-out times... Our only complaints are: There's apparently no free wi-fi in rooms (seems crazy in 2012, esp'ly at this level), the satellite TV doesn't include Nickelodeon or anything good for foreign kids (I think, though, that this might be a satellite service issue throughout China, not necessarily a Hyatt problem), and just once my wife was hassled somewhat about taking our 3-yr-old into the hot tub, although she did prevail without any real trouble. LAST WORDS: Only if you are really spoiled could you not appreciate this place. It is a top-notch hotel and ultimately worth every penny.

Room Tip: Every room is amazingly quiet; lake view is nice, of course, but not a must. If you're a hungry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hyatt Regency has the best location from all hotels in Hangzhou, just in front of West Lake.
very nice rooms, some with a little garden, from most rooms you have a good view to the lake.
two restaurants, one western, one chinese food, both offer outstanding high quality.
service is great, near all staff speak english, they are really friendly and attentive.

we can highly recommend Hyatt Regency Hangzhou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Address: No.28 Hubin Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#6 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#7 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#116 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Hyatt Hangzhou
Hangzhou Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.