We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Hotel in good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Hangzhou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.28 Hubin Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 1,900 Hotels in Hangzhou
Shanghai
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Overpriced Hotel in good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year a traditionally quiet period. We were quoted a price of US$385 including breakfast which we accepted expecting a fantastic room overlooking west lake. When we arrived we were told we had to pay an extra US$7 per day for an internet connection in our room - unbelievable!! We were then shown to a very dated room that had a musty smell. We were astounded considering the price. When we complained we were upgraded to the Executive Floor which was better but still grossly overpriced and very poor value for money considering the time of year.

Room Tip: Request a high floor as lower floors don't have a good lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    240
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
63
72
25
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Superb location where the lake is literally at your door step. Service was superb as we left some personal items in the room. One email later, the items were couriered to our next stop, Hyatt on the bund in Shanghai.

We would definitely stay here again as we appreciate the proximity this hotel has to the lake. No need to get stuck in congestion to explore the vast West Lake.

The hotel arranged for our train tickets with no fuss at all. Extremely efficient and hassle free travel.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room, the view is absolutely pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I always end up staying at the Hyatt when in Hangzhou, because of its fabulous location, but the hotel is dated and the beds are way too soft, when you sit on it think of a Banana bed. But again the location is what keeps bringing me back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaoxing, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We're an expat family (10+ yrs in China) living not too awfully far from here. We've stayed here (and in countless other Chinese hotels) several times, and (although it's not perfect -- see below), we really love and appreciate the Hyatt. For anyone "on a budget," the price will seem steep, but if you've been away from home a while and need/want a really nice break from it all, then this place is totally worth the price. The location is THE BEST, no contest. The personal service and attention are often AMAZING -- like providing (without additional charge) a comfy yet spacious baby bed, child's slippers, Johnson's wash and lotion, and (GET THIS!) a FREE teddy bear from Harrods of England! AND... When we forgot to bring a diaper for overnight and called to ask if they happened to have any (which they didn't), they asked what size then went outside in the rain at night and bought diapers, giving us more than a night's supply for FREE! This would NOT happen at any other hotel in town. Trust me. These are the kind of blessings that keep us coming back at least once or twice a year to relax and recharge. Also, the spa is great, room service is fabulous and affordable, breakfast is excellent, late check-out times... Our only complaints are: There's apparently no free wi-fi in rooms (seems crazy in 2012, esp'ly at this level), the satellite TV doesn't include Nickelodeon or anything good for foreign kids (I think, though, that this might be a satellite service issue throughout China, not necessarily a Hyatt problem), and just once my wife was hassled somewhat about taking our 3-yr-old into the hot tub, although she did prevail without any real trouble. LAST WORDS: Only if you are really spoiled could you not appreciate this place. It is a top-notch hotel and ultimately worth every penny.

Room Tip: Every room is amazingly quiet; lake view is nice, of course, but not a must. If you're a hungry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hyatt Regency has the best location from all hotels in Hangzhou, just in front of West Lake.
very nice rooms, some with a little garden, from most rooms you have a good view to the lake.
two restaurants, one western, one chinese food, both offer outstanding high quality.
service is great, near all staff speak english, they are really friendly and attentive.

we can highly recommend Hyatt Regency Hangzhou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hangzhou is known as Heaven on Earth (prior to the invention of traffic and coal fuelled electricty, I guess); the Hyatt on the West lake could well be known as a little bit of heaven. It is peaceful, luxurous, and wonderfully comfortable. We had a suite, which was brilliant, with breathtaking views over the lake -- including from the decadent bathroom. The Club level service, fod, and drink all great. (Some Club lounges exclude children below a certain age, I always wondered why. Now I think I know: energetic three and four years olds at cocktail hour perhaps not the best of combinations -- but the staff were generous and thoughtful wih their attention.)

Overall, a wonderful place, and the best I know in Hangzhou.

Room Tip: Lake view, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Really really..nice place,located close to the lake.
the room are very spcious and clean and the service very efficient.
the international buffet little bit expencive but overall good hotel. i suggest this hotel all solo traveller and couple and business man

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Address: No.28 Hubin Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#7 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#131 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hangzhou 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Hyatt Hangzhou
Hangzhou Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.