We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in central Hangzhou” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant Marco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Merchant Marco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merchant Marco Hotel
No.38 Pinghai Road, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 1,886 hotels in Hangzhou
Bern
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great stay in central Hangzhou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is one of the few gems I've been staying in China that does not claim to be a 5* super hotel (while barely being 3*+), but rather sells itself as a 4* hotel. And indeed it is, but a very nice 4*, only lacking a few services to be a true 5*.

Good things: Very good service, checkin/checkout, great shower/toilet, DRINKING WATER TAB (awesome!), soft and comfy bed, quiet despite being at a main road during night, good aircon, good TV. The room (standard room) wasn't very big, but absolutely large enough.

I didn't like the hallway to the rooms very much, but that's about it. Elevator system is efficient, never long waiting times. Really couldn't find much to complain at all in the hotel.

It's situated somewhere between the train station and the lake, definitely better to reach from the train than the airport (but a taxi for about 20$ will do the job, too), there is a night market just around the corner every evening, and the bar area is still within walking distance, too.

Really couldn't find anything to complain in this hotel. Oh, and to top it off, I got it for an absolute bargain - about 50$ only.

Sounds too much like an advertisement? Rest assure, it's not, it was just one of the very few Chinese hotels doing pretty much everything right. Next time in Hangzhou, it will be 100% either this hotel, or the same brand Edgelake, which is nearer to the bar scene and the lake (might be better if coming from the airport, but less good if from the train)

The only (small and temporary) thing not perfectly is that during the current construction of the Hangzhou Metro, there is some construction going on around the hotel - not too near and not very bothersome, and once finished, will have good public transportation as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    100
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
11
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This 4 star hotel is located within 10min walking distance to west lake, which is the reason why i chose this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised that it was just 8 to 10 min walk to the nearby newly opened subway line, the nearest station is called "Long Xiang Qiao". We took CRH from Shanghai, reached Hangzhou railway station, the metro here is called "Chen Zhan", only 2 stops from our hotel. We stayed a night on 25 Dec, was given an upgrade of room, booked from ctrip.com, was given free fruits as welcome gift in room. Like to compliment on the good service rendered by a hotel staff - Carter Lee, he helped to make few calls to help us locate a muffler which my hubby forgotten in a restaurant near Wulin Square, we managed to retrieve it :) I heard the hotel is undergoing renovation, but we dont feel any discomfort. Overall, nice stay i would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in Oct 12. Booked a double room on the executive floor and was very happy with my room. Newly renovated with flat screen TV, separate bathroom and toilet. Good quality products/materials used for the room. Buffet breakfast was the best we had in China. It's a true international buffet (unlike other Chinese hotels which claim to have international buffet but they serve China-style hashbrown, sausages etc which taste weird).

Staff were very friendly and attentive. We wanted to go to grandma's kitchen and they gave us clear directions. It was raining on our way out and they reminded us to bring the umbrella in our room with us. We booked the Impression Westlake ticket through the concierge and paid the full price of RMB260 per person (we heard that we could get discounted tickets of RMB220 near the lake but we didn't have time to scout). When we collected our tickets from the ticket counter before the show, to our surprise we were given very good seats i.e. first 2 seats in the first row.

We took the airport bus to the airport. Please note that you should walk to the opposite side of the road to Zhongshan hotel, buy the airport bus ticket from Zhongshan hotel concierge and wait outside Zhongshan hotel. Merchant Marco hotel bellboy helped us cross the road but he gave us wrong info (to wait at the open car park next to Zhongshan hotel). We missed the first bus that came as we didn't have tickets. As this is a public bus with Zhongshan hotel being a middle stop, they wouldn't wait for you. You need to be ready with your ticket.

Overall pleasant stay and I will definitely stay here again if I go back to Hangzhou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel is clean and spacious. Excellent service. 8 mins walk to west lake. Convenient as many restaurants and shops around the hotel. You can also grab some local tidbits near the hotel. Recommend to have your lunch or dinner at Pinghai 53 Restaurant, just opp the hotel. The food was just marvelous, great service and not too expensive. We had the double steam fish head (must try), fried squid, vegetables, rice and Longjing tea for 2 person and the total bill was RMB145.

Taxi from Hangzhou Railway Station to hotel = RMB11 and taxi from hotel to Hangzhou Airport = RMB115.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We love the buffet on the 1st level - we had a business lunch there, and also dinner and the food was great both times, for both variety and value for money. We had salmon sashimi, prawns, scallops, and loads of salads, fruit, and desserts. Also had the option of lovely beef steaks, soup cooked to your own requirements (ie noodles and veges, chinese style) ... I'd recommend this highly.
Cost for lunch was a little over 120 RMB for lunch and a little over 200 RMB for dinner. Hotel guests get a 30% discount for dinner, not sure about a discount for lunch.
One of the chefs speak great English, but the other staff in the restaurant speak none/v.little. If you have no questions though and just say 'buffet' you'll be fine.

Room Tip: If you're not a fan of noise from renovations, and expect to spend a lot of time in the room, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for one night on a recent trip to China. A good quality hotel with efficient check in and friendly staff. Walking distance to the west lake district, which is very nice. Nice ommlette made to order for breakfast. Nice room, not much of a view, but a great shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed for 3 days in Merchant Marco hotel in September. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is in walking distance to the westlake and the 'city center'. The staf was very kind and the breakfast was also quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merchant Marco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Marco Hotel

Address: No.38 Pinghai Road, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao and Despegar.com so you can book your Merchant Marco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Marco Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant Marco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.