We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant Marco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merchant Marco Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant Marco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38 Pinghai Road, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,976 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in Oct 12. Booked a double room on the executive floor and was very happy with my room. Newly renovated with flat screen TV, separate bathroom and toilet. Good quality products/materials used for the room. Buffet breakfast was the best we had in China. It's a true international buffet (unlike other Chinese hotels which claim to have international buffet but they serve China-style hashbrown, sausages etc which taste weird).

Staff were very friendly and attentive. We wanted to go to grandma's kitchen and they gave us clear directions. It was raining on our way out and they reminded us to bring the umbrella in our room with us. We booked the Impression Westlake ticket through the concierge and paid the full price of RMB260 per person (we heard that we could get discounted tickets of RMB220 near the lake but we didn't have time to scout). When we collected our tickets from the ticket counter before the show, to our surprise we were given very good seats i.e. first 2 seats in the first row.

We took the airport bus to the airport. Please note that you should walk to the opposite side of the road to Zhongshan hotel, buy the airport bus ticket from Zhongshan hotel concierge and wait outside Zhongshan hotel. Merchant Marco hotel bellboy helped us cross the road but he gave us wrong info (to wait at the open car park next to Zhongshan hotel). We missed the first bus that came as we didn't have tickets. As this is a public bus with Zhongshan hotel being a middle stop, they wouldn't wait for you. You need to be ready with your ticket.

Overall pleasant stay and I will definitely stay here again if I go back to Hangzhou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    109
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
16
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel is clean and spacious. Excellent service. 8 mins walk to west lake. Convenient as many restaurants and shops around the hotel. You can also grab some local tidbits near the hotel. Recommend to have your lunch or dinner at Pinghai 53 Restaurant, just opp the hotel. The food was just marvelous, great service and not too expensive. We had the double steam fish head (must try), fried squid, vegetables, rice and Longjing tea for 2 person and the total bill was RMB145.

Taxi from Hangzhou Railway Station to hotel = RMB11 and taxi from hotel to Hangzhou Airport = RMB115.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We love the buffet on the 1st level - we had a business lunch there, and also dinner and the food was great both times, for both variety and value for money. We had salmon sashimi, prawns, scallops, and loads of salads, fruit, and desserts. Also had the option of lovely beef steaks, soup cooked to your own requirements (ie noodles and veges, chinese style) ... I'd recommend this highly.
Cost for lunch was a little over 120 RMB for lunch and a little over 200 RMB for dinner. Hotel guests get a 30% discount for dinner, not sure about a discount for lunch.
One of the chefs speak great English, but the other staff in the restaurant speak none/v.little. If you have no questions though and just say 'buffet' you'll be fine.

Room Tip: If you're not a fan of noise from renovations, and expect to spend a lot of time in the room, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for one night on a recent trip to China. A good quality hotel with efficient check in and friendly staff. Walking distance to the west lake district, which is very nice. Nice ommlette made to order for breakfast. Nice room, not much of a view, but a great shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed for 3 days in Merchant Marco hotel in September. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is in walking distance to the westlake and the 'city center'. The staf was very kind and the breakfast was also quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Unfortunately, we only stayed here one night but I wish it had been longer. We were given a lovely room with lots of windows and a beautiful view. The bed was very comfortable and the room included all necessary amenities including a comfy chaise lounge. I liked that they had a "pillow menu" to choose from with different types of pillows. The breakfast was excellent with many items to choose from both Western and Chinese. The staff was very helpful. The location is excellent. We walked to the Old Town pedestrian mall which was about a half an hour walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
426 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel is on a major street not far from West Lake. But more importantly, it is across the street from one of the city tourist bus stops (Y4) and a block down from another bus that will take you straight to Lei Feng Tower (K504.)

Hangzhou's biggest problem from a tourist standpoint is the awful traffic. It is much, much worse than other Chinese cities its size. Using the public bus system helps some. (You will need to know a little Chinese or at least have destinations written out for you by hotel staff.)

I moved to this hotel from another Hangzhou hotel that was not satisfactory (XinKaiYuan.) The rooms here were comfortable and showed attention to small details. For example a humidifier was provided and fresh fruit was delivered every day. The quality of the loose leaf tea was above average and it was provided free, both red and green.

No need to buy breakfast at the hotel for 68 Yuan. Quite a few small and medium eateries are withing a block or so where you can have a satisfactory breakfast for much less.

The hotel had an English speaker on staff to help with arrangements. A pleasant young lady from Holland.

The airport bus stops nearly across the street in front of the Zhong Shan Hotel. It takes about an hour and costs 20 Yuan. One of the bellmen even carried my bags across in the rain. That was very kind of him and it left a good impression.

Room Tip: Some upper floors are being remodeled and are noisy during the daylight hours. Ask when you check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#73 of 1,976 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#3 of 1,976 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Shangcheng District
Bokai Business Hotel
Bokai Business Hotel
#54 of 1,976 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
#66 of 1,976 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#24 of 1,976 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Marco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Marco Hotel

Address: No.38 Pinghai Road, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant Marco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Merchant Marco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Marco Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant Marco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.