We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk here and a relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gu Shan (Solitary Hill)

Gu Shan (Solitary Hill)
Gushan Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310000, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$169*
and up
Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai
Ranked #6 of 236 Attractions in Hangzhou
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice walk here and a relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is not an attraction it is just a bridge with a good view across part of West Lake. The walk there and back is relaxing just keep to one side or risk being run over by cyclist. If visiting in summer (I visited during a heatwave) take plenty of water. There are plenty of toilets nearby.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    132
    28
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Most of the tourists walk along the main road along the southern part of the island where there a number of restaurants and the Zhejiang museum. The best walk is along the upper walking track that runsthrough the middel of the island to the north of the road. The track was uncrowded, scenic and relaxing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a place to relax and revital my spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

nothing to do here but to revital my spirit and relax my mind.. i dare to say this is an awesome place to just have a walk or cycling. try not to visit during public holiday coz the place will become terrible crowded with thousand head and mumbing sound.. visit during non-peak season, you will sure to have an unforgettable memory. just like me, smile and relax my mind, revital my spirit and my mind..while walking to no where with no destination and say hi to the cycling touries as well, you will feel that this is a heaven. what you need to do is just enjoy he enviroment and the smell of fresh air and blossom flowers.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice scenic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stopped by in early morning, very nice view. Except the morning exercisers are very loud - they are practicing songs with very loud microphone.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Have nothing to say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Maybe I missed something but I didn't see this place worth visiting.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gu Shan (Solitary Hill) also viewed

Hangzhou, Zhejiang
Hangzhou, Zhejiang
 

Been to Gu Shan (Solitary Hill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gu Shan (Solitary Hill), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.