We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great breakfast buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake to your Saves list
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 363 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and great breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Its location is excellent! Just walking distance to West Lake (and it's on the "good" side of West Lake that's close to downtown). It's hard to get taxi in Hangzhou, so great location is important. We arrived by train and saw long taxi lineup at the station. So we decide to take subway instead and this hotel is accessible by subway (about 10 min walk).

The location is excellent as major sightseeing areas are just within walking distance (e.g. West Lake, Song Dynasty Street). It will save you a lot of finding taxi and traffic time. It is also accessible by bus, which gives you an alternate choice when you can't find taxi.

The room is spacious and beds are comfortable. Staff are friendly.

The breakfast buffet is included in our booking and there are lots of varieties in the buffet.

In summary, it's definitely a excellent choice and worth its price for its location, service and food. We will stay there again on our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Timberwolf2013,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    156
    57
    31
    13
See reviews for
41
64
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
483 reviews 483 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located adjacent to West Lake and at a metro stop. The food available in the restaurant was quite expensive so we opted to eat locally at a restaurant recommended by the staff. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was well equipped and the amenities, lovely.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Andrea T,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The true gauge of any good hotel is the quality of its service, and the Sofitel in Hangzhou clearly sets the standard. Situated close to both West Lake and downtown, this newly renovated hotel is small enough to offer a boutique feel but big enough to offer all the amenities of a larger hotel. Suites are spacious and bright with well-appointed bathrooms that have separate showers and toilets. Our suite had a TV in both the main room and bathroom. We also had access to the Club Floor which was spacious, bright, and a soothing sanctuary to which you could retire at the end of the day. Food selection in this lounge was varied and the wine offered was premium quality. Likewise, the main restaurant offered one of the most comprehensive breakfast buffets I have seen in a long time and the quality of offerings was outstanding. But in the end, it was the service that won us over: from the warm greeting of Francois, the Manager to the very helpful and enthusiastic front office staff, everything was first class. And of particular note was the Concierge, Aaron, an enthusiastic and extremely professional young man who seemed to have the intuitive ability to be at our service whenever we needed anything and to work above and beyond what one would normally expect to ensure we were well taken care of. Overall, this is a great hotel with a great staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear worldlyCanada,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I usually like Sofitel brand..and I hope I will feel the same as I arrive in Hangzhou,especially I had seen the room from the website,so luxury,nice,warm..but I feel disappointed when I see the rooms 345 and 314,so standard,not as luxury as the other Sofitel (like in Queenstown,Auckland)..not
like 5 star hotel.
The location is very good,very near to West lake,and also you can just walk 10 minutes to Hefang street.The receptionist could speak English very well and she served us best..
So just need renovation,especially if it's quite expensive hotel..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear HC1969,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake! We are working on improvement of living environment. All ambassadors in Sofitel will continually strive to improve service quality, thus make you feel good value for money.

I’m looking forward to meeting you again soon!Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location between the lake and town area. Recently renovated rooms and facilities. Breakfast buffet was the best we had during our tour of China. Staff were very helpful and friendly even though they were obviously quite new.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear HC1969,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ideal location for tourists visiting hangzhou, very close to west lake can be reached less than five minutes by walk, very nice reception and understanding customer service. Rooms are very clean and spacious in short very ideal for business and pleasure !!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Chellasamy V,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights beginning of March 2014. The whole experience truly reflects the 5 star status.
Breakfast-choice was abundant and food is good. The proximity of the hotel to the Westlake is a definate plus.I would stay there again if I were to visit to Hangzhou again.

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe room on the 4th floor. This hotel is very central to visit all the attractions an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear TWGoh,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#116 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is located on the banks of the city's famous West Lake, close to the central business district. The hotel features 200 elegantly furnished rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and beauty salon. The executive lounge offers panoramic views of West Lake and there are conference facilities available for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.