We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 1,900 Hotels in Hangzhou
Denham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Great Location & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located adjacent to West Lake and at a metro stop. The food available in the restaurant was quite expensive so we opted to eat locally at a restaurant recommended by the staff. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was well equipped and the amenities, lovely.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Andrea T,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    151
    57
    30
    13
See reviews for
41
59
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The true gauge of any good hotel is the quality of its service, and the Sofitel in Hangzhou clearly sets the standard. Situated close to both West Lake and downtown, this newly renovated hotel is small enough to offer a boutique feel but big enough to offer all the amenities of a larger hotel. Suites are spacious and bright with well-appointed bathrooms that have separate showers and toilets. Our suite had a TV in both the main room and bathroom. We also had access to the Club Floor which was spacious, bright, and a soothing sanctuary to which you could retire at the end of the day. Food selection in this lounge was varied and the wine offered was premium quality. Likewise, the main restaurant offered one of the most comprehensive breakfast buffets I have seen in a long time and the quality of offerings was outstanding. But in the end, it was the service that won us over: from the warm greeting of Francois, the Manager to the very helpful and enthusiastic front office staff, everything was first class. And of particular note was the Concierge, Aaron, an enthusiastic and extremely professional young man who seemed to have the intuitive ability to be at our service whenever we needed anything and to work above and beyond what one would normally expect to ensure we were well taken care of. Overall, this is a great hotel with a great staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear worldlyCanada,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I usually like Sofitel brand..and I hope I will feel the same as I arrive in Hangzhou,especially I had seen the room from the website,so luxury,nice,warm..but I feel disappointed when I see the rooms 345 and 314,so standard,not as luxury as the other Sofitel (like in Queenstown,Auckland)..not
like 5 star hotel.
The location is very good,very near to West lake,and also you can just walk 10 minutes to Hefang street.The receptionist could speak English very well and she served us best..
So just need renovation,especially if it's quite expensive hotel..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear HC1969,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake! We are working on improvement of living environment. All ambassadors in Sofitel will continually strive to improve service quality, thus make you feel good value for money.

I’m looking forward to meeting you again soon!Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location between the lake and town area. Recently renovated rooms and facilities. Breakfast buffet was the best we had during our tour of China. Staff were very helpful and friendly even though they were obviously quite new.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear HC1969,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ideal location for tourists visiting hangzhou, very close to west lake can be reached less than five minutes by walk, very nice reception and understanding customer service. Rooms are very clean and spacious in short very ideal for business and pleasure !!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Chellasamy V,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights beginning of March 2014. The whole experience truly reflects the 5 star status.
Breakfast-choice was abundant and food is good. The proximity of the hotel to the Westlake is a definate plus.I would stay there again if I were to visit to Hangzhou again.

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe room on the 4th floor. This hotel is very central to visit all the attractions an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear TWGoh,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Planned to spend the weekend in Shanghai but ended up in Hangzhou on short notice. Was stressing out about lodging because it was a busy weekend. Ended up at Sofitel West Lake and my problem was solved.

It's China so I was prepared to be put thru the ringer for last second booking. After some negotiation, their ***extremely charming*** front desk manager Linda found me a room at a reasonable price. Linda even threw in free breakfast. Was prepared to proposed at this point, but sadly all I had was a bag of Jelly Belly.

Did not experienced the renovation problems staff mentioned. No construction noise, AC was ice cold. Room had great city view with a slice of the lake. The fresh fruits and cookies were nice touch.

Can't complaint about the location. walk thru the underpass the lakeside mall greets you with Starbucks and Haagendazs. After the familiar, venture out to the scenic West Lake and blend in with the gracious locals. Here's a pro tip - take the island ferry, two hops get you far. Walk as much as you want, then take the taxi back.

One of the best "change of plan" ever.

Room Tip: Ask for Linda Zhang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear ChuckL_Seattle,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#133 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is located on the banks of the city's famous West Lake, close to the central business district. The hotel features 200 elegantly furnished rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and beauty salon. The executive lounge offers panoramic views of West Lake and there are conference facilities available for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, ACCOR, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.