We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake to your Saves list
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights enjoy 25% off
Ranked #28 of 1,968 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
indonesia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Need renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I usually like Sofitel brand..and I hope I will feel the same as I arrive in Hangzhou,especially I had seen the room from the website,so luxury,nice,warm..but I feel disappointed when I see the rooms 345 and 314,so standard,not as luxury as the other Sofitel (like in Queenstown,Auckland)..not
like 5 star hotel.
The location is very good,very near to West lake,and also you can just walk 10 minutes to Hefang street.The receptionist could speak English very well and she served us best..
So just need renovation,especially if it's quite expensive hotel..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear HC1969,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake! We are working on improvement of living environment. All ambassadors in Sofitel will continually strive to improve service quality, thus make you feel good value for money.

I’m looking forward to meeting you again soon!Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    161
    58
    31
    13
See reviews for
44
69
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location between the lake and town area. Recently renovated rooms and facilities. Breakfast buffet was the best we had during our tour of China. Staff were very helpful and friendly even though they were obviously quite new.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear HC1969,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ideal location for tourists visiting hangzhou, very close to west lake can be reached less than five minutes by walk, very nice reception and understanding customer service. Rooms are very clean and spacious in short very ideal for business and pleasure !!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Chellasamy V,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights beginning of March 2014. The whole experience truly reflects the 5 star status.
Breakfast-choice was abundant and food is good. The proximity of the hotel to the Westlake is a definate plus.I would stay there again if I were to visit to Hangzhou again.

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe room on the 4th floor. This hotel is very central to visit all the attractions an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear TWGoh,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Planned to spend the weekend in Shanghai but ended up in Hangzhou on short notice. Was stressing out about lodging because it was a busy weekend. Ended up at Sofitel West Lake and my problem was solved.

It's China so I was prepared to be put thru the ringer for last second booking. After some negotiation, their ***extremely charming*** front desk manager Linda found me a room at a reasonable price. Linda even threw in free breakfast. Was prepared to proposed at this point, but sadly all I had was a bag of Jelly Belly.

Did not experienced the renovation problems staff mentioned. No construction noise, AC was ice cold. Room had great city view with a slice of the lake. The fresh fruits and cookies were nice touch.

Can't complaint about the location. walk thru the underpass the lakeside mall greets you with Starbucks and Haagendazs. After the familiar, venture out to the scenic West Lake and blend in with the gracious locals. Here's a pro tip - take the island ferry, two hops get you far. Walk as much as you want, then take the taxi back.

One of the best "change of plan" ever.

Room Tip: Ask for Linda Zhang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear ChuckL_Seattle,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. It's in a great location. The only downside was that I thought we would have a lake view. It is not on the lake at all.

The staff were great, the hotel was very clean. They just recently re-painted some of the rooms. Make sure you don't get one of those rooms, unless you like breathing in strong paint air. They should open the windows to let the air out. They have a great spa that opens super late. Ask for the free breakfast.

I would stay here again. :)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't have the paint smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Brigitte2000,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake.

I am delighted to read that you are satisfied with our staff and hotel cleaness. We regret that the construction work caused inconvenience during your stay. However, as you have noticed, we are on the process of renovation and we will try our best to minimize the effects to the guests.

I sincerely invite you to visit our hotel again and I believe that our hotel can serve you better in near future.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#24 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#90 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is located on the banks of the city's famous West Lake, close to the central business district. The hotel features 200 elegantly furnished rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and beauty salon. The executive lounge offers panoramic views of West Lake and there are conference facilities available for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.