We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake to your Saves list
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 1,960 Hotels in Hangzhou
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    152
    57
    30
    13
See reviews for
41
60
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Taxi driver knew the hotel andhad no problems getting their. The driveway is actually the pedestrian walkway so the driver dropped me off at the street corner rather than drive in.

The hotel is rather old and is under renovation. They were almost done with the new reception when I left. Not sure when all the renovations would be completed.

Check in was at a temporary set of tables. It was smooth. Not much seating at the lobby though.

Was assigned a room at the 5th floor. This was the club floor. It seems renovations have yet to start for this floor. A colleague staying at the 3rd floor seemed to have a newer room.

The room was much too hot upon entering. Front desk suggested to turn off the AC entirely but the room was too stuffy. Thankfully, the window could be open and they delivered a fan. The room itself was pretty big. There was a good work desk and wired internet connectivity. There was a large in room safe and 2 bottle of water provided free. L'occitane toiletries were provided and a good set of amenities. The room and bathroom themselves were clean but showing age. Nevertheless, well maintained enough. The bathroom could do with a towel bar close by the shower stall though.

Breakfast was on the 6th floor. The spread was ok. Checkout was smooth and the staff called for a taxi for me. 

 Overall, the staff were very helpful and service was great.  The infrastructure would hopefully be better after the renovations.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Plus2kids,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding to your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. We are working on improvement of living environment. I believe our hotel will meet your expectations better next time. Thank you again for your support!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been there for only one night; arriving late at the evening and leaving it early in the morning but the impression I had was really good.
Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable, brakfast buffet is really big but the really good think is the position, really near to the West Lake where you can easily have a walk after dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear bigoi75,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us! As part of Sofitel Value, we strive to chasing excellence, constantly to get one step closer to perfection and push our service better. I’m glad to hear that you had a good time in our hotel. All ambassadors in Sofitel will continually strive to improve service quality, thus make you feel good value for money. I’m looking forward to meeting you again soon!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Firstly i feel cheated for paying a higher price for the "West lake avenue view room". The lake avenue has nothing to do with lake view, it means the view of the road that leads to the lake. The rooms by themselves were good and freshly furnished. The spa was not functional and they did not let the gents use the steam bath but had one for the ladies. Is it that men cant use steam bath in Chinese culture? A better choice would be Shangrila by the lake

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Aman-Tekriwal ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We will work hard to improve our facilities, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#129 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is located on the banks of the city's famous West Lake, close to the central business district. The hotel features 200 elegantly furnished rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and beauty salon. The executive lounge offers panoramic views of West Lake and there are conference facilities available for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.