We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good traveling night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 1,816 hotels in Hangzhou
Forlì
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“a good traveling night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been there for only one night; arriving late at the evening and leaving it early in the morning but the impression I had was really good.
Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable, brakfast buffet is really big but the really good think is the position, really near to the West Lake where you can easily have a walk after dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear bigoi75,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us! As part of Sofitel Value, we strive to chasing excellence, constantly to get one step closer to perfection and push our service better. I’m glad to hear that you had a good time in our hotel. All ambassadors in Sofitel will continually strive to improve service quality, thus make you feel good value for money. I’m looking forward to meeting you again soon!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    143
    55
    28
    13
See reviews for
38
54
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Firstly i feel cheated for paying a higher price for the "West lake avenue view room". The lake avenue has nothing to do with lake view, it means the view of the road that leads to the lake. The rooms by themselves were good and freshly furnished. The spa was not functional and they did not let the gents use the steam bath but had one for the ladies. Is it that men cant use steam bath in Chinese culture? A better choice would be Shangrila by the lake

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Aman-Tekriwal ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We will work hard to improve our facilities, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecs, Hungary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I think the room was upgraded because I stayed on the 5th floor. Big room, big bed, big desk, comfortable bathroom.
I have never seen such a well equipped room even in better quality West European hotels.
It was really very relaxing after the busy days.
Ruler, scissors, pen, calculator etc. in the drawer of the desk.
The West Lake is on the other side of the road.
Wide selection for breakfast on the 6th floor. Also some foods that are more familiar to the European stomach :-)
Very polite staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear George B ,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. All Sofitel ambassadors aim to create the feeling at home for guests. I’ very pleased to hear from you that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. I hope you will become our close friend!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel
Sofitel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel
Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#155 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is located on the banks of the city's famous West Lake, close to the central business district. The hotel features 200 elegantly furnished rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and beauty salon. The executive lounge offers panoramic views of West Lake and there are conference facilities available for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.