We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake to your Saves list
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    156
    57
    31
    13
See reviews for
41
64
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is run down and tired. The staff is very nice and accommodating, but can't make up for the poor facilities. Despite the Sofitel's website, the hotel does not at present have a gym on premise, nor a spa. The room furnishings are heavily worn and threadbare. Life is not manifique at this Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Condor28 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are making efforts to improve our facilities, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First, it is super close to the stunning west lake in Hangzhou. My first impression was in the lobby and it was everything I ever wanted in a luxury hotel in a foreign country. It incorporated local decor, buildings and the chinese The room was luxurious and felt mature. It also felt unique with its decor. breakfast was great offering Chinese and American style breakfast foods in a buffet style. Price was a little on the expensive side but everyone spoke passable English. Please see my tip about internet connection in the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed here on business and did not choose the hotel, but I couldnt imagine a better hotel. Everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear professordanberg,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake! I'm glad that you were satisfied with our hotel and I believe you had a good time here. Our hotel is centrally located just a few steps away from West Lake. With the exquisitely designed rooms, we strive to make every guest feel comfortable and convenience. Thank you again for your support!

Life is magnifique!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We travel to Hangzhou and stayed in Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake during the last few days of my kids' summer holidays. We had been this hotel a few years ago and was quite satisfied with the hotel at that time. this time, we are quite disappointed by the fast deterioration of the room. There were water leaking outside the bathroom, the carpet near the bathroom was wet. The housekeeping phone services lady said to us that they would send us the welcome fruit plate TWO times (not sure if that the calls were answered by the same lady) but finally it never comes. Furthermore, we totally didn't expect that their swimming pool and gym are closed for renovation. Where does the hotel expect us to spend our time in the hotel while the ourdoor temperature is over 40 degree C??!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Travel_lover7788,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. We are working on improvement of living environment and I believe we can meet your demand better in near future. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Location and room size is good. The reception and concierge staff are also helpful to provide information needed.
Just with the door of shower of the bathroom couldn't be closed properly and water drain out to make the floor wet.
Worthy to stay as it is close to Westlake and some points of interest

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear simonli1ster,

Thank you for taking time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. For the issues you mentioned above, we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns about our facilities. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank you again for your support!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel was an incredibly great experience. The staff went far beyond any expectation my husband and l had upon arrival beginning with an upgrade to a suite and ending with the concierge Jerry accompanying us as an interpreter to handle a banking transaction and then escorting us to the train station when we left because of our being Americans in China. In addition, Phillip, one of the managers, wished us off with a gift as we left. The suite was beautiful, the amenities were Hermes, there were both a shower and a bathtub. Everything was perfect. There was some ongoing construction but it didn't cause any problems for us. We enjoyed our trip to China so much and our stay at the Sofitel was a large part of the experience.

Room Tip: The third and fifth are recommended as the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Melanie K ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding to your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I’m very pleased to hear from you that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. I hope you will become our close friend! Thank you again for sharing your experience, all the ambassadors in our hotel are looking forward to meeting you again.

Life is magnifique!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#116 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is located on the banks of the city's famous West Lake, close to the central business district. The hotel features 200 elegantly furnished rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and beauty salon. The executive lounge offers panoramic views of West Lake and there are conference facilities available for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.