We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake to your Saves list
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights enjoy 25% off
Ranked #28 of 1,968 Hotels in Hangzhou
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Check in was quick. The interior is modern and the room was spacious. The bathroom had a walk in shower with a separate bath. Breakfast was okay but not great (the yoghurt wasn't cold and there wasn't any Bircher muesli). Air conditioning worked well. The hotel is in a great location at West Lake where there is so much to see eg check out the incredible fountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    161
    58
    31
    13
See reviews for
44
69
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located and was overall very nice. The room, hallways, and common areas for dining were all very clean. My first impression was this hotel had recently been remodeled. We booked a standard room with a King bed and the room itself was very large and comfortable. As we left very early in the morning I did not eat any of the free breakfast but did walk through just to look at it. There appeared to be a large variety of items to choose from. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights during a one week trip in China and found the hotel to be of high standard. It is a low rise block next to the West Lake and there is an underpass to cross the road to the lake instead of risking your live in crazy China traffic. It is more than 8 years old so expect some cracked tiles and worn out furniture in the bedroom. This area can be busy but the security and noise levels seems to be acceptable for our group of 14 people during our weekend stay.

Rooms are reasonable size but not large so good for a couple only. View from room is either a block of flats in the back or the West Lake road in front. All the usual modern convenience of 5* hotel room are available in room and the wired internet is free too (poor WIFI in hotel lounge). The buffet breakfast room is small but the spread of food is the best quality we have seen in China during our one week trip. I think the hotel should consider serving breakfast on the lovely open-air verandar next to the restaurant to relieve the morning crowd. Service standards are still the high Sofitel standards with polite and well trained staff who brings you cookies for evening turn-down. I will stay here again just for the convenience to see West Lake but never in summer because hotel aircon is in need of major upgrade!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have to pay Sofitel prices, it is fairly old hotel with poor AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Great location next to west lake. Hotel is old tired and badly needs a refurb. Still charging top rates but dishing up a substandard hotel. Just a Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked this hotel at the last minute due to a change of itinerary on a short trip to China. I simply went for the brand as Sofitel is one I regularly use in Europe. I have to agree with others here when they say it's way below the standard to be expected of a Sofitel and is now woefully overshadowed by the newer 5 Star hotels that have opened in China. What was acceptable twenty years ago is not up to scratch now.

Firstly a fine hotel should be a relaxing environment but this really does not deliver. There are few peaceful public spaces..The "Business Lounge" is just about the only one but this is all a little run down. It doesn't open until 11am.

Restaurants consist of a local Chinese and what was billed as a Western buffet. I eat in the Chinese and with some English on the menu it made for a fun and interesting meal. The buffet was in the sorry little room used for breakfast and looked pretty unappetising. On my 2nd night I wanted simple food & asked for a room service sandwich to be served in the Business Lounge. This took an hour and a half to arrive even with the lounge staff taking the initiative to phone the kitchen to chase it along.

Breakfast buffet is served in a room way to small and one seems encouraged just to grab any spare seat and to eat with the previous occupants dirty plates around you. It is basically a works canteen environment.

The swimming pool and Spa are dated and dirty. Avoid.

I'm fairly easy to please but Sofitel Westlake has not really hit the spot. It is currently number 100 on the Trip Advisor list of Hangzhou hotels so you have plenty of other, more highly rated, options at similar prices. I'd go for one of those if I were you. At least until someone decides to spend some money on this tired place.

Staff, though limited in English are seemingly pleasant and willing but the building and the systems let them down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Westlake Avenue is a very busy and noisy road. There is no real view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#23 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#89 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is located on the banks of the city's famous West Lake, close to the central business district. The hotel features 200 elegantly furnished rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and beauty salon. The executive lounge offers panoramic views of West Lake and there are conference facilities available for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.