We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
Dragon Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.120 Shuguang Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 1,998 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chinese 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is a chinese 5 star for business. Everything looks nice, but lack of atmosphere. I have had lunch in the italian restaurant, the food was ok. I could use my 300 CNY coupon which I received upon checkin. So that was a good deal.
Also check-out at 5AM was smooth and convenient.
I would not recommend this hotel for first time China visitors or for leisure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrysmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was suggested to stay here due its location and its apparently good restaurant.
I left quite disappointed to be honest. The rooms are large but lack ambiance.
The english level of the staff was quite poor and attention to detail was not there.
I was quite unhappy with the buffet restaurant. The buffet is very big, but unfortunately that does not necessarily mean good, as was proven here. They appeared to have lot of choices (many dishes were acuattly repeated at different areas of the buffet), but the quality was below average.
Meat was dry, oysters were of low quality and the foie gras was a joke. I would suggest they scale down and provide higher quality.
I did not feel comfortable in the hotel and checked out one day early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldwide32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here while in Hangzhou for work: our workshop hosts had arranged the logistics ... and they arranged very well. The rooms are probably larger and more luxurious than any I've stayed in on my travels. Quiet, comfortable, modern with technology so uptodate that you are almost 'guided' to your room from the moment you step into the lift. There's a range of food options - though not entirely easy for a vegetarian, I didn't go hungry. I was happy to eat local food but do also try the Italian restaurant - the service was great and everyone was very happy to practice their English (just as well because my mandarin is rather pitiful).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettoneyvere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDragonHangzhou, Res. Dep at Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Dragon Hotel.We always give empathetic service to our guests.Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is probably one of the best hotels I have set foot in. Well I was lucky as I was on a business trip so I didn't have to pay anything for the luxuries. The rooms are so poshly furnished with a bathroom that you wouldn't believe. Very big and comfy bed and food was excellent, not just good, but excellent. Originally, I booked for breakfast for two days in a row but after the first day I decided I didn't want breakfast for the second day (too much good food everywhere..). The chap at the reception thought I cancelled second day's breakfast because I didn't like the food there (but I have never said anything of that sort), and to compensate "for my discomfort of having to have a breakfast on the first day that I didn't enjoy", I was offered free breakfast for the rest of my stay. I think I can live there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gamfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Really a world class hotel. Great service, ultra modern facilities, excellent food - either local or a great Italian restaurant.
West Lake is a must visit in hangzhou

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarianmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It is the best wonderful hotel in China.There are beautiful garden,big room,good bathroom.You can get exprerience with advanced science and technology.You would like to join the full breakfast.By the way,you will find more pretty grils in the hotel! Good luck!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good facilities and service. Not next to the lake, but very close to it. Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cici-0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 1,998 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#9 of 1,998 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#20 of 1,998 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#28 of 1,998 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hotel

Address: No.120 Shuguang Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#11 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#81 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hangzhou Dragon Hotel is located at a business, financial, and cultural center. The Dragon is also the first intelligent hotel to offer a full range of accessible high technology to its guests. The entire area of the hotel totals over 110,000 square meters, and surrounds guests with a warm, luxurious, and comfortable environment. A unique courtyard design, styled after Hangzhou's South Chang-Jiang River, provides a perfect place for guests to relax and indulge their creative sides. The Dragon is near the International Convention Center, the International company Management Office, the Municipal General Office, and is just a walk away from the prosperous downtown area. With such an exceptional geographic location within the city of Hangzhou, the Dragon is the best choice for both busy business professionals, and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing