We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
Dragon Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.120 Shuguang Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,962 Hotels in Hangzhou
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chinese 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is a chinese 5 star for business. Everything looks nice, but lack of atmosphere. I have had lunch in the italian restaurant, the food was ok. I could use my 300 CNY coupon which I received upon checkin. So that was a good deal.
Also check-out at 5AM was smooth and convenient.
I would not recommend this hotel for first time China visitors or for leisure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    66
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
11
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was suggested to stay here due its location and its apparently good restaurant.
I left quite disappointed to be honest. The rooms are large but lack ambiance.
The english level of the staff was quite poor and attention to detail was not there.
I was quite unhappy with the buffet restaurant. The buffet is very big, but unfortunately that does not necessarily mean good, as was proven here. They appeared to have lot of choices (many dishes were acuattly repeated at different areas of the buffet), but the quality was below average.
Meat was dry, oysters were of low quality and the foie gras was a joke. I would suggest they scale down and provide higher quality.
I did not feel comfortable in the hotel and checked out one day early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here while in Hangzhou for work: our workshop hosts had arranged the logistics ... and they arranged very well. The rooms are probably larger and more luxurious than any I've stayed in on my travels. Quiet, comfortable, modern with technology so uptodate that you are almost 'guided' to your room from the moment you step into the lift. There's a range of food options - though not entirely easy for a vegetarian, I didn't go hungry. I was happy to eat local food but do also try the Italian restaurant - the service was great and everyone was very happy to practice their English (just as well because my mandarin is rather pitiful).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDragonHangzhou, Res. Dep at Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Dragon Hotel.We always give empathetic service to our guests.Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is probably one of the best hotels I have set foot in. Well I was lucky as I was on a business trip so I didn't have to pay anything for the luxuries. The rooms are so poshly furnished with a bathroom that you wouldn't believe. Very big and comfy bed and food was excellent, not just good, but excellent. Originally, I booked for breakfast for two days in a row but after the first day I decided I didn't want breakfast for the second day (too much good food everywhere..). The chap at the reception thought I cancelled second day's breakfast because I didn't like the food there (but I have never said anything of that sort), and to compensate "for my discomfort of having to have a breakfast on the first day that I didn't enjoy", I was offered free breakfast for the rest of my stay. I think I can live there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Really a world class hotel. Great service, ultra modern facilities, excellent food - either local or a great Italian restaurant.
West Lake is a must visit in hangzhou

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

It is the best wonderful hotel in China.There are beautiful garden,big room,good bathroom.You can get exprerience with advanced science and technology.You would like to join the full breakfast.By the way,you will find more pretty grils in the hotel! Good luck!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good facilities and service. Not next to the lake, but very close to it. Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hotel

Address: No.120 Shuguang Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#9 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#101 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hangzhou Dragon Hotel is located at a business, financial, and cultural center. The Dragon is also the first intelligent hotel to offer a full range of accessible high technology to its guests. The entire area of the hotel totals over 110,000 square meters, and surrounds guests with a warm, luxurious, and comfortable environment. A unique courtyard design, styled after Hangzhou's South Chang-Jiang River, provides a perfect place for guests to relax and indulge their creative sides. The Dragon is near the International Convention Center, the International company Management Office, the Municipal General Office, and is just a walk away from the prosperous downtown area. With such an exceptional geographic location within the city of Hangzhou, the Dragon is the best choice for both busy business professionals, and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.