We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Hangzhou!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zhongshan International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zhongshan International Hotel to your Saves list
Zhongshan International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
11
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights to watch the recent solar eclipse and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

When we first arrived there were a few problems with our room but the reception desk staff were excellent and moved us to a nicer room without any fuss.

Some of the reviews below mention that the staff here don’t speak much English but we were able to communicate effectively with the staff at the front desk and the bar. They helped us with transport, finding our way around and advice on where to watch the eclipse as well as matters to do with the hotel. There were always plenty of staff members on hand to deal with enquiries, even when the hotel was packed the night before the eclipse.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The main bedroom section had obviously been refurbished not long ago and was tastefully decorated. The bed was firm but not back-breakingly uncomfortable like usual Chinese mattresses and both me and my wife got a good night’s sleep. Only downside about the room was that the bathroom was a bit tired looking – the basin was stained and there were cracks and chips in a few places. But it was spotlessly clean which is the most important thing in my opinion.

There was free wi-fi in the rooms but as we didn’t bring our laptop we couldn’t test that. However there were two Internet ready computers on the second floor which were free to use.

The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the West Lake and there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The only downsides to this hotel (other than the tired looking bathroom) were the view and the breakfast. The hotel charges extra for a lake view room but because it is three or four blocks away the view is mainly obstructed by other buildings. We were on the 16th floor out of 17 so height was no issue but I can’t honestly say the view was worth the extra paid for it.

The breakfast was probably the worst breakfast I have ever eaten in any hotel!! It was a mixture of poor imitation Western breakfast foods and Chinese cuisine. I have had some terrible hotel breakfasts in Western countries so I can forgive a Chinese hotel in China not getting things right but all the Chinese food was limp and tasteless as well.

Overall this is a great value option for Hangzhou West Lake area. We had a great time here and will stay again when we return to Hangzhou. Highly recommended - just go elsewhere for breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

This was a very odd hotel. Nice staff with limited english and an OK location with good restaurants nearby but a 10 min walk from the lake. The rooms were OK but needed a lot of finishing touches to be worth the money. There is also a fair bit of noise in the rooms from the corridor. Not terrible for the money but i think better deals are out there. The lobby bar/coffeee room is massively over priced!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I have to add this one to have another English language review. Rooms nice, tea/coffee, good satellite bouquet, breakfast buffet mostly Chinese but fabulous, staff helpful and speak enough English, the beers in the hotel bar were 25 RMB a can, not too bad. Two bottles of water complimentary in the room every day and fresh fruit too. 10 minute walk to lake side, a variety of restaurants round the corner. Best thing? The bathroom mirror had a large rectangle in the middle that didn't steam up. Magic...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel (often billed as "ZhongShan International Hotel) and were pleased with our choice. Good room, good plumbing, good amenities, quiet room in "back" overlooking the West Lake (as we had requested). An honest 15-minute walk to the Lake, along a major street with many services you might need (banks, drugs, tourist info, etc.). Our only qualification: MAJOR limitations to the staff's English: They know enough to check you in and out well, but almost any kind of question resulted in either puzzlement (for example, a request for the hotel's card, even though we showed them such a card from our previous hotel) or an inappropriate answer (kept telling me the price of a taxi to the airport, even though I kept showing them my watch and asking "Minutes" or "hours"). (By the way, the price to the airport, taking the long -- but probably faster -- route was 96 Yuan and took about 30 minutes at morning rush hour).
Nonetheless, we would probably stay here again, and Hangzhou is truly a lovely city (of 6 million).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel in October 2008 and were very impressed with it! We read about it on our Lonely Planet guide and saw it had good ratings on TA (we couldn't read the comments, because I think they're in Chinese and Japanese, but the votes were good!), so we decided to book it and we were very pleased with it.
The hotel is very modern, it has a pleasant lobby and some 17 floors. It is located only 10 minutes away from the West Lake and it has a lot of great dining options and a night market nearby. We were given a nice room, with a bed that was bigger than king size, really huge and so comfortable! The room was nicely decorated, it had a desk, big tv, bar, large closet, modern bathroom, independent heat/cool. The bedding/sheets were new, very clean. The bathroom was clean too, very modern, had plenty of supplies. There were some cakes and fruit in our room when we arrived, and every night we were served of a sweet soup (sorry, I don't know the name of it) as dessert, which was nice. I think the room had internet connection, but we didn't bring our laptop, so we used the computer in the business center, which was a bit slow. To conclude with the room, we found it really comfortable and loved it!

Our rate included two breakfasts, which got us going until the afternoon. Breakfast had a large buffet with Chinese options (noodles, dumplings, vegetables, meat...), and also eggs, bacon, cheese, fruit, cakes and pastries. A cook prepares eggs and soup as you like it. The food was good and so was the service.

The staff was nice and courteous, their English was fine, we had no trouble communicating with them, they were helpful and arranged train tickets to Shanghai for a modest fee.

Finally, we had a great hot pot style dinner at Chuan Wei Guan Restaurant, near the hotel, I can't remember the name of the street, but it was just a couple of blocks away. The food was excellent, good service, and a very clean restaurant.

Our rate was very reasonable, 450RMB per night, including 2 breakfast, and considering the quality of the hotel we thought it was a really good deal ! We had a great time in beautiful Hangzhou, and the comfort of this hotel made our stay even more pleasant!

  • Liked — Modern facilities, cleanliness, nice staff, good location
  • Disliked — Slow internet in business center
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zhongshan International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongshan International Hotel

Address: No.15 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zhongshan International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zhongshan International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhong Shan Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhongshan International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.