We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service, good value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The East Hotel Hangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The East Hotel Hangzhou to your Saves list
The East Hotel Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.198 South Hushu Road, Gongshu District, Hangzhou 310011, China   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
33% Off of Room Rate!
Ranked #3 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great customer service, good value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel was a good surprise. The bed were very comfortable and spacious, comes with a free mini bar which is a bonus. Food in the hotel were decent too, especially when I was there on a public holiday, everywhere else is packed. Service is top notch, Xavier was super helpful and we even got them to buy our train tickets in advance. Most of the staff speaks good English.
Location is a little farther from the lake, but they do have bicycles free to borrow or it's just a 5min ride in a cab.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia z, Public Relations Manager at The East Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Littlegodzilla,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The East Hotel Hangzhou on tripadvisor.com

We hope to see you soon again and do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations here.

Sincerely,

Lu Feng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    17
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
43
6
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madliena, Malta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel confirms the accuracy of Tripadvisor. More than justifies its ranking. Great design (very zen and relaxing) and huge comfortable rooms.Was receiving from work trip in HK and was ideal. Location not the best but taxis are inexpensive.

Front desk was superlative.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia z, Public Relations Manager at The East Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear AuntyBernie,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The East Hotel Hangzhou on tripadvisor.com

It is great to read that you call us “Spot on the ranking”. I am delighted to know that your stay was a pleasant one and that you recommend us to other like minded travelers here.

We hope to see you soon again and do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations here.

Sincerely,

Lu Feng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here 1 night. It is a great spot and high standard establishment. The room is spacious. Really there is no complains to be made.

2 things I would like to point out here:
1. The decor in the lifts are little dark minded. It is special, but not very welcoming.
2. I can see some small signs that the hotel is no longer a new one, some corners in the room shows a bit of wearing and tearing as most hotels do. Please keep up the maintenance. I would certainly like to stay here again. But if next time it is not as good, as most hotels tend to become, it will be a big disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia z, Public Relations Manager at The East Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear edwinzcx,

It is wonderful to hear such helpful feedback,we much appreciate your positive comments. So glad you enjoyed your experience. Hotel will try every effort to make a better level of service quality. We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Lu Feng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Wonderful hotel design, wonderful hotel facilities, wonderful hotel services. Nice location near to business district, shopping area, and 15 mins working distance to subway station. Amazing free mini bar and even prepare the most famous Hangzhoz green tea in the room. Can't be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia z, Public Relations Manager at The East Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Greeting from The East Hotel Hangzhou! It is wonderful to hear such good feedback, so glad you enjoyed your experience.Many thanks and please come back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candas, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Wow! Hereby to share my experience at The East Hotel Hangzhou and do a highly recommendation for all the travellers who have the plan to visit Hangzhou.
This boutique hotel located very close to the bussiness area, a little bit far away from the famous lake, but this didn't affect my sightseeing at all coz the guys at lobby were really trying their best to help me get a cab, by using app or add around 1 dollar as tip for the drivers, thanks for their hlep, but the government should take some effective measures to fix this problem, the city got a very bad traffic situation on rush hour and really difficult to get a cab.
Rooms were morden designed and well furnished, the double basin, iphone docking, free mini bar, etc. do not worry about those stuff coz the receptionist will escort you to room directly afer check in and make a detailed introduction with good english, which i even can't expect at those branded luxury hotels.
The only negative thing i want to say is the noise from outside, but the hotel manager told me they have started to install the double glazing since this month, the problem could be solved recently.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia z, Public Relations Manager at The East Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greeting from The East Hotel Hangzhou! It is wonderful to hear such good feedback, so glad you enjoyed your experience, the team will be very proud to hear such high praise of our service.Many thanks and please come back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The décor is very nice. The room is not huge but it's very comfortable. I just want to stay in the shower for days! Staff is super nice, place is clean, can't ask for more... wait they have a choice of pillows??? The place is a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia z, Public Relations Manager at The East Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greeting from The East Hotel Hangzhou! So glad you enjoyed your experience, the team will be very proud to hear such high praise of our service.Welcome to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Brilliant hotel - rooms are kitted out with high end fittings and fixtures, staff are friendly and efficient and they provide free bike rentals due to being a bit out of town. Overall, great value for money. I would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia z, Public Relations Manager at The East Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greeting from The East Hotel Hangzhou! It is wonderful to hear such good feedback, so glad you enjoyed your experience, the team will be very proud to hear such high praise of our service.Many thanks and please come back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The East Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The East Hotel Hangzhou

Address: No.198 South Hushu Road, Gongshu District, Hangzhou 310011, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The East Hotel Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Hotel is an intelligent 5 star luxury hotel based on the West Lake theme cultural. Just around 10 minutes to the West Lake by drive. Hotel is located in the middle of Hangzhou shopping center, next to the Wulin square. And contains the free gym and wifi service. All the guests can enjoy the free local famous Hupao mineral water and fresh Longjin tea in room.Also hotel offers SMART cars available for your self-drive and airport pickup also make your journey much funny. With the West Lake designing concept, hotel presents a new stylish taste by offering you the in-house scenic sports visit. The East Hotel has a total of 122 luxury rooms and suites. Our superior rooms, each designed with a spacious size of 54sqm, containing a 16sqm bathroom with walk-in shower and separated large bathtub, combined with the top grade silk bedclothes, all enjoy spectacular views of the bustling city center. Each room is fully equipped with intelligent audio-visual system, WIFI internet access, intelligent audio docking station, 40” Samsung LCD TV, and 19” TV in the bathroom, providing full audio-visual enjoyment for our guests.East Café is the hotel's main dinning venue offering exquisite Hangzhou cuisine, showcasing the finest in local fresh organic produce and prepared by our master chef with a pure, healthy and environmentally friendly approach that will surely excite your taste buds, setting itself apart from traditional dining establishment. The in-room mini-bar offers a choice of complimentary beverage for guest enjoyment.No matter the artistic designing and the sweet service, hotel all shows the delicate luxury and elevating to a serene place above the bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The East Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The East Hotel Hangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.