We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character for business or family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.511 Moganshan Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310005, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 77 Reviews
Leeds, UT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel with character for business or family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks in 2007 and returned again in 2012 after trying other hotels in the area. To refine my rating some I would give it average plus. My room on the 4th floor was a junior suite with separate bedroom with office desk and king bed. The room is aging but still reflects quality and good taste. The room is also clean and has lots of windows for light, although the views in the area are just nearby midrise apartment building. For amenities the room had two TV's and artwork displayed on a built-in cabinet. It is overall clean and neat. The bed is the hard Chinese style I sleep well on but it takes some getting used to. Breakfast has an average selection of Western and Chinese food and the service is average to good. The location is a long walk or reasonably short taxi to West Lake Area.

Overall there isn't anything to complain about for the price and the reason I like the place is the people that work here and stay here. I've repeatedly met tourist travelers and hard working chinese people on business that are enjoyable to chat with and characters in a nice way. Also, there is a nearby fresh food market about 3 minutes walk that is a great experience to visit. The building is plainly visible from the hotel rooms looking south and every imaginable local food is traded here.

The irony of this place is I didn't want to stay here the first time in 2007 since I wanted to experience China and not be in just another western hotel that could be anywhere. Turns out this is a great place to stay if you want to mingle with real chinese business people and well traveled western tourists. Just take time to say hello at breakfast!

Room Tip: All rooms to the south and east are quiet. I think the higher floors have been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    45
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
4
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Living in the US you would think Best Western is on the lower end of the scale when it comes to hotels. In Hangzhou there are MULTIPLE options and all having the same or similar price range.

The good: For Americans, a best western is just that, a basic hotel, having all the basics you would need and know that it is somewhat more western vs. other hotels out there. They have a breakfast which is ok, but nothing special. The hotel itself is clean and for the most part pretty well kept.

The bad: In the winter or cold months, you can't really turn off the heater unless you turn off the fan entirely. When doing that and keep the windows closed your room becomes very stuffy and not so great for getting sleep. The bed is VERY stiff, so unless you are used to a stiff bed, it may take your body a few days to get used to it.

Location: Overall the location is in a good area, and somewhat central. If you need to get out of the city within a few minutes barring any traffic you can make your way out of the city pretty easy. Also there are many places walking distance from the hotel, and most of the door men speak some English. If you have never been to the city or don't speak the language and take a cab, make sure they start the meter starts after you get in. Also tell the person behind the reception area where you want to go and about how much it should cost BEFORE hand. That way you can have the bellman tell the cab driver the area, and cost your willing to pay. Just as an FYI, the cab drivers drive quite aggressive, even for China. Also they often times take the longer ways around. Just make sure before you get in the cab the fair is set and make sure the bellman tells the driver where you want to go if you don't speak Chinese.

On a whole can't complain too much but have stayed at nicer places that are not as westernized as this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a business center on the 9th floor but not sure if those rooms cost more per night. Also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stopped in this hotel on business and unfortunately it is a little bit tired. The rooms particularly lower floor all surfaces worn, carpet and bathrooms have definitely seen better days.
Staff friendly and helpful. Air conditioning does not cool room down in Winter could not get room temp below 24.
Breakfast ok but buffet dinner can be a little disappointing.
Location is out of city centre with very little going on around the area, but not a major problem as taxi to west lake is less than 30RMB.

Room Tip: pay a little bit more for the upper floor rooms - drinking water fountain in bathroom and proper cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Large and grand looking on the inside with attentive and helpful staff. Many cannot speak good English so be patient and speak slowly. Loved my first taste of the famous 'long jing' tea in the restaurant, and rooms provide long jing and green tea bags. A couple of faults - beds were very hard and the room ventilation was inadequate. Air cons were not working properly and the room was stuffy and smelt a bit smoky. The restaurant had the best crab fried rice I've ever tasted and the breakfast was yummy with lots of choices! Location was not ideal as it was far from West Lake and we had to take a taxi. Very busy area with shopping centre a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was by far the worst hotel we stayed in in China. The entrance and public areas were very inviting.
The main problem was the air conditioning in our bedroom. It made us ill, they were supposed to send someone to check it out, they didn`t bother. The bathroom was cramped, and there was black mould on the tiles.
Certainly in need of updating.
Not much choice of western breakfast, very limited.

Room Tip: We were in room 429, overlooking the airconditioning ducts in the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mernda, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We cannot fault this hotel. Unfortunately only had one night here on our China Tour. Front Desk staff very friendly and efficient. When I think of this hotel, I remember the buffet dinner that we had that night. One word - fantastic - This would have to be the best buffet ever. Anything and everything you could think of was there. Even a chocolate fountain. The variety was huge. Same with breakfast the next morning. Our room was 431 and I can't complain. Spacious room, comfortable bed. Also all amenities in the bathroom. No noise. Had a great sleep. Again cannot fault this hotel. Nice area from what I can remember. Would stay here again if we were ever in Hangzhou, China again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I go to Hangzhou for business at least once a month and whenever I am in Hangzhou, I either stay at the Best Western or the Hyatt. My advice? Splurge a little and stay at the Hyatt if you are looking to experience Hangzhou as a tourist.

This entire hotel is dated with poor staff training, I am a Mandarin speaker and still find it hard to communicate with them and get things done. It regularly takes 3-4 front office staff 10-15 minutes to check me into my room. I will say however, that the ladies at the Business Centre have always been professional and very helpful; they will be happy to purchase train tickets for you if you are looking to make a trip to/from Shanghai or other cities.

The rooms are spacious but old, there is no guarantee that the air conditioner will work in summer, and no guarantee that the heater will work in the winter. The restaurant serves a wide range and variety of breakfast and dinner buffet foods but everything is mediocre. The hotel's location is inconvenient and far away from most tourist hotspots.

There are many hotels located on the West Lake that are, although pricier, a better value for money and you will have a MUCH better stay in Hangzhou. Be sure to go to Xihu Chuntian for lunch or dinner (101-102 Nanshan Lu).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel

Address: No.511 Moganshan Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#87 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel is the first member hotel of global biggest monomer chain-like hotel group - Best Western International in Eastern China is a four-star boutique business hotel. The hotel with excellent management concept and service levels repeatedly won Best Western International Hotel Group Global Service Quality Diamond award and Top Ten hotel in Zhejiang Province award, the industry has a higher reputation and market recognition.Hotel is located in the canal business circle, adjacent to the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal, the traffic is convenient. It is only ten minutes drive to the famous west lake scenic area and the first national wetland park - Xixi wetland. In the commercial circle there have many well-known commercial complex building such as Hangzhou Tower,Wulin Intime department store,International Tower,Hangzhou department store brings your travel more convenient. At the same time, the Wulin garments street, Silian 166 creative park , Zhang Koizumi scissors Museum, Museum of Wang Xingji fan, Du Jinsheng Silk Museum and the West Lake Cultural Arts Center and other well-known characteristics of places close to the hotel allows you to savor Hangzhou has a long history of culture and personality of art life. A few minutes away from the hotel Xin Yifang Food Street , Shengli River Food Street and Da Dou Road Food Street and other specialties blocks also allows you to Hangzhou features authentic delicacies taste over and over!In the 2012 the hotel has comprehensive upgraded. Through the use of venue and water features, the railings painted columns, Hangzhou silk and Suzhou Embroidery is the use of Jiangnan cultural elements, highlighting the features of the Poetry and South charm. The hotel has 234 sets of rooms, finely decorated, complete and perfect the use of the most appropriate body structure bedding, new LCD TV and free broadband. Yue Jiangnan Restaurant, Li Jingyuan cafe and Auspicious fashion cuisine restaurant decoration are simple and full of personality, and to hire chefs cooking food from around the world. At the same time to accommodate more than 300 multi-purpose hall with six vary in size conference room conference center, well-equipped, professional services, is the ideal choice for organizing large-scale events and business meetings.Away from the busy, shake off the hubbub, relaxed, comfortable business and leisure trip, all at Best Western Hangzhou hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.