We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectedly Fine. . . though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.289 Jianguo North Road, Xiacheng District, Hangzhou 310003, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #50 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 214 Reviews
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Expectedly Fine. . . though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Most stays at Holiday Inns in China are fine, much better than the US Holiday Inns. But I hear that Holiday Inn US is getting its act together.

You expect the rooms, service, amenities to be up to standard, since it is rated as a 4-star hotel in China. But its the little things that make the difference in the stay. These little things will eat at you, yet they are not that important. My biggest gripe is that the Hotel didn't provide bell boys in securing taxis when we needed them. Hangzhou is notorious for having too few taxis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear thirstypig,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I understand your concerns about the taxis service in Hangzhou, this is challenge that all the Hotels are facing in Hangzhou and one that we are pushing the Local authority to solve.

We do offer a Hotel Car service, that can be pre-booked for your next trip around the City if needed. This is by far the best option if you have alot of business to do while you are in Hangzhou

Once again, thank you very much for your comments. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    108
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
21
23
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Clean, friendly and good service. Breakfast was more than Ok, the rooms very clean and staff friendly. They try as good they can to communicate in English, and to help you find solutions for your demands. The boys at the entrance desk was extraordinary service minded, -, it is my duty to help our guests he said and turned around refusing any tips in spite of the demanding scandinavian ignorant guests
The traffic is a bit noisy, but styaing in chinese metropoles you have to accept that listening to birds is rather difficult activity. Its a bit too long to walk to the west lake, but you can take taxi many times each day and still it will be cheaper that staying at the lakeside hotels. I could easily recommand this hotel for anyone visiting Hangzhou.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MrRennebu,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay with us!

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center! I am glad to know you enjoyed our service, food, rooms and staff.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed here several times and although it is not a five star hotel, it is always a pleasant enough stay. Beds are comfortable and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Holiday Inns are always a safe choice in China and this one is no exception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear NRHVancouver,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay with us!

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center! I am glad to know you enjoyed the beds and service.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I actually have been to this hotel many times. I go for the facilities. I really like the coffe and
baked goods in the lobby....but my favorite thing is the massage center in the basement.
The oil massage there is very good and relaxing. You can watch TV with HBO and good movies
while you get the massage...if you try it, you will like it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear MrJohnscriticalnote,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center! I am glad to know you enjoyed our food and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center in the near future.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Was here for 5 nights for large group conference. Guestrooms were well kept, majority of my delegates were happy with their rooms too. Service standard two thumbs up. GM personally attended to some chores that you never think that a hotel GM would normally bother to do. Our BBQ dinner at the riverside was excellent, delegates were happy that we did something different -- thanks to the hotel for suggesting this. The only set back was guestrooms did not have wifi, otherwise it will all be perfect,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear SoephySue,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay with us!

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center! I am glad to know you enjoyed our service and staff. The service that you received was due to our great team working together, not just the GM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center in the near future.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

this hotel is not up to the usual standards, sloppy check in, unexceptional breakfast, and with the exception of the waitress in the Stocks bar who was very happy it all seemed to be a bit of a chore tothe rest! wont return in a hurry

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Wcan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I was concerned to learn of the problems experienced with your stay. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. The service you received is not in line with our usually high standards.

I believe that I have we already met during your check-out and explain this situation to you, but If you would like to discuss this further with you, please email at jason.burnett@ihg.com.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice, clean and very well-serviced Hotel with good location. I have stayed in this hotel more then 30 nights in total during my trips to Hangzhou. I have stayed in different rooms, all bright, very well kept and of good size. You can sometimes hear the traffic from rooms on lower levels floors facing the street. If possible try to get room facing the canal (river). It also gives you a very nice morning view!
Standard room are really good class. Upgrading, usually adding 200-300 RMB per night, gives you a bit more space, but considering the good size and level of the standard room I see no reason for the upgrade unless you want to have that little luxury feeling.
I travel a lot and spend many night per year in 5 star hotels. Honestly this hotel offers the athmosphere, service and the special "guest attention" like any 5 star hotel but to a very affordable price. Staff is very professional, caring and showing great integrity.Breakfast is good and offers many choices also for Europeans who don't like the typical Chinese breakfast.
Considering the dangerous traffic situation inthe street, this Hotel has an advantage of "yard" and a local small street inside the bigger main street. Feels very safe.

I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone with a medium budget or all smart people who are looking for Great Value for Money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Gunan,
Thank you for taking the time to input your comment about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center and also for providing such great detail.

We are very proud heard that you had such a good experience at our hotel during your trips to Hangzhou. I am glad to know you enjoyed our service, food, location and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center in the near future.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center

Address: No.289 Jianguo North Road, Xiacheng District, Hangzhou 310003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and be productive in the heart of vibrant Hangzhou at the towering Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre.The aluminium and mirror-glass frontage of the 26-floor Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre hotel presides over Hangzhou's central commercial hub, close by to shops, restaurants and offices. A sweeping staircase leads from the mezzanine Lobby to Aromas restaurant, overlooking the leafy East River. Bullet trains reach nearby Hangzhou rail station from Shanghai in just 40 minutes, and you can jet into Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport, 25km away.Upgrade to a fresh Executive room for complimentary wireless Internet and cocktail hour in the duplex Executive Lounge on the 25th and 26th floors. Meetings at companies like Nokia, Coca Cola and Merck are within 10km of this modern, office-district hotel. We can host your banquets for up to 300 people in the elegant daylit ballroom.Sing your heart out in the private, state-of-the-art KTV lounges on the 4th floor. Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre is just a 20-minute amble from the picturesque West Lake and a short 10km drive from the mountainside Buddhist shrines at Lingyin Temple.Rack up at the billiards table while our live duo entertains in trendy Stocks bar. You can dip in the 5th-floor swimming pool and treat yourself to a massage and sauna session on your relaxing stay at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre.Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center will renovate swimming pool & gym during Sep 01 the middle ten days of January 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.