We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to keep coming back here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friendship Hotel Hangzhou

Save Saved
You added Friendship Hotel Hangzhou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.53 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 1,886 hotels in Hangzhou
Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Happy to keep coming back here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 5 years and it remains my first choice for a hotel in Hangzhou. Centrally located it is an easy walk down to the lake, has many features nearby, and is an easy taxi ride to those further away.

The rooms are smaller than some other hotels, but I have always found them comfortable. Rooms are a little dated on some floors but really great on others. But I can understand they are upgrading all the time. I like the rooms with a view of the lake, but often am happy with just one of the business rooms too if on a short stay.

In terms of food there are a number of restaurants in house, but equally some great restaurants nearby too. There is a sichuan restaurant nearby which will blow your socks off! In house there is a great Japanese restaurant near the top of the hotel. I would be lying if i said I remember everything as my brother-in-law and I drank quite a lot of Saki so things got a little blurry towards the end of the evening. I do remember though great food and some beautiful and unusual options. He also ended the evening with a book about BMW's touring the Grand Canal, but neither of us are quite sure why?

Breakfast here though is a must. A fantastic selection of food, they will make your eggs how you like but sitting in the revolving restaurant and slowly watching the view change as you eat is cool!

Totally recommended for anyone. English spoken by staff is great and concierge staff are always very helpful too.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter but not all rooms have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    91
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
19
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Solo traveller, Dec 2014, 5 nights, reserved from Booking.com. Had a friend with me for 3 nights, in separate rooms.

The hotel is excellent, room service was full of amenities. I really appreciated having a mobile phone in my room, which I took with me a few times (for some reasons, my Irish phone was not working in China), and the hi-tech toilet. Despite being in city center, my room at 5th floor did not have a great view. The hotel is welcoming and staff is helpful, the ones I interacted with had at least basic English so communication was quite smooth. Hotel is 3 minutes walk from subway, 5 minutes from the West Lake in a location in which it is possible to enjoy water games several times at night.

I had a deal of about 50€/night without breakfast. I tried at dinner the restaurant on top floor, which costs 360RMB/person and is a buffet dinner. It is gorgeous, sort of Chinese/Japanese fusion and one of the best Asian dinner ever - except it closes early, so better make a reservation for an early dinner.

Great stay, and a pleasure to return in my next trip to Hangzhou.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As a family we booked two adjoining rooms in the Friendship Hotel. We had no issues with language as one of my family speaks some Mandarin. Having said that, some of the staff greeted me in English.

The rooms we had were allocated were small but spotlessly clean and well appointed. There was a note in the room indicating the hotel is under renovation between November and January, and I guess from seeing some of the other reviews that we must have been given the newly renovated rooms.

The hotel has squeezed just about everything they can into the room and bathroom. My young daughter discovered some buttons on the toilet and was a little shocked shocked at the result. She has not previously experienced a bidet. Other that that there are the usual items, safe, umbrella, shoe cleaning, mini-bar, grooming items. One item that was not present was an iron, however I expect it would be made available on request.

The lobby area in contrast to the rooms is large and grand. There is an icecream stand which makes for pestering children. But beware - the icecreams are CNY48 each. Much cheaper to go and buy one outside. We didn't experience the revolving restaurant nor breakfast as there were plenty of nearby options outside the hotel.
Overall it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night - principally to see the West Lake - and it certainly wasn't the fault of the hotel that it never stopped raining for 2 days.

I had a lake-facing room on the 8th floor - could see glimpses of the lake between buildings - not really high enough. I felt I paid a little over the odds for what was quite a small room.

The staff on the desk were very helpful - especially one lady (Dana) who spoke good English and went to some lengths to help me .... writing addresses in Chinese for taxi drivers and the like.

I agree that the prices for the revolving restaurant on the 20th floor are high .... treated myself to breakfast (118 RMB) - ate enough to see me through lunchtime too - no hassle / encouragement to go.

Room Tip: As high as possible if you want a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The bathroom was very nice and looked as if it had just been redecorated. The room itself had internet although it was not wireless. The TV worked and had all of the channels. The location is great just a short walk to the tube station and to West Lake 西湖. The revolving restaurant on the 20th floor was a rip off price we did not go in.

The staff were friendly and although their English is not very good they did seem to want to help. This was evident when I realised my Chinese was better than their English. So i made requests in Chinese instead. I would highly recommend this hotel in Hangzhou. Shop around though as the rooms vary greatly in price.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces west lake the other faces a busy but not noisy road, this is reflected i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A good hotel for the price, very close to West Lake 10 min walk, great breakfast in the revolving restaurant, watch for the catch of only 1 breakfast provided with each room. Staff were great and there always seemed to be the designated English speaking staff member to help us out, rooms were clean and while the bathroom was tiny it was adequate.
Got a good deal on Venere which included 2 breakfasts.
Chinese restaurant on the bottom floor had great food, hot and fresh with the bonus of an English speaking staff member, menu written in English with pictures.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room on a high floor fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyogo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The location is good. A couple of blocks to the West Lake, a couple of blocks from the airport limousine bus stop. Staff very friendly, but you can only make minimum requests in English/Japanese, unless you're lucky enought to get someone who can speak English/Japanese, but hey, I can't speak too much Mandarin, so I can't complain.
They let you choose comfortable pillows on request, and you can choose from things like oolong pillows, lavendar pillows, silk pillows, and etc, which was quite nice.
There's free bottled water, and there's also a tap in the bathroom for 'drinking water' so you can enjoy room-made tes/coffee, whenever you need it.
The revolving restaurant on the 20th floor is spacious, has a really good selection of food for breakfast, and a great view.
The hotel also lets you use the room mobile phone for free domestic calls, which was quite handy. It took me a while to figure out that you didn't need to push the 0 or 00 for outgoing calls, when you are using the mobile...!
There is free wi-fi in the lobby, but the connection wasn't too great, and the seating area is small.
The night market is also just a few blocks away, it feels safe to walk around at night, and the metro is also very close.
Used the metro to go to Wulinmen, where you can get on the water buses, which is quite fun, but the water buses only run about 30 minutes apart, so if you don't have enough time or language skills, sticking to a taxi for transport may be safer.
The public rental bicycles looked very good, and there's a station very close by, so if you have a backpack or shoulder bag that you can keep your valuables in, it would'nt be a bad choice.

Room Tip: If you're not too good with noises, it might be better to ask for a room away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friendship Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Hotel Hangzhou

Address: No.53 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#108 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou is a four-star Zhejiang, China hotel that offers plush accommodation and business and leisure facilities. Its convenient location near the Hangzhou's central business district is an advantage to traveling executives. This Shenzhen hotel also boasts an extensive roster of banquet halls and meeting rooms ideal for various events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Friendship Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangzhou Friendship Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendship Hotel Hangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.