We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book early if you want the specials” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 28 Hubin Road

28 Hubin Road
Hyatt Regency HangZhou, Hangzhou, China
0571-87791234
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,453 Restaurants in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hangzhou
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Book early if you want the specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good food but quite expensive for China. We had hoped to order the Beggars chicken served in a clay pot but were told (at 7pm) that it was sold out .Service was disappointing considering the prices.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The food and service experience were truly outstanding. We mostly followed recommendations of the very knowledgeable waiter and were excited with each and every dish. One of the highlights for our son was the beggars chicken that came to the table still within the clay mold and he was allowed to smash it with a hammer. The pyramid of pork they serve with chestnut pancakes and some bamboo stew is a must try. We had to hold back ourselves to not go again the very next day! Always again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

A friend and I chose to eat here as a special treat having seen reviews on here. We especially wanted to try the signature dish the pyramid of pork!

The resturant itself is very lush as you would expect from a Hyatt Hotel.

We ordered the pyramid of pork and were treated to a delightful eating experience. It's a kind of Jenga based destruction of a meal with an element of DIY construction kit. Having been shown how to construct the meal. It tasted fantastic.

We also ordered the braised pork rib. Which melted in the mouth with real flavour.

The meal was expensive for two mains a glass of wine and a pot of tea. At around £100-¥1000. But it was worth it for its novelty value.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“the best, no doubt, of chinese restaurants in Hangzhou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

the best restaurant in Hangzhou for chinese food.
very nice decoration, great atmosphere, very attentive service.
menue-card always has some surprising new dishes, so even
you go many times you will not feel bored.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

As you can see from the other reviews, the decor is very nice, the food delicious.

can't say anything bad about my dinner there, only thing is expect to pay 5 star hotel price, if you are ready for that, you will love it i am sure.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 28 Hubin Road also viewed

 

Been to 28 Hubin Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 28 Hubin Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.