We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor location, mishandled booking - a disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SanLi New Century Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SanLi New Century Grand Hotel to your Saves list
SanLi New Century Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.538 Shaoxing Road, Xiacheng District, Hangzhou 310004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 25 Reviews
Linz, Austria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“very poor location, mishandled booking - a disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

to start of with something positive, the hardware of the hotel looks decent - it just recently opened and "New Century" (Kay Yuan) is actually a favorite chinese hotelchain-brand - their property in Zhuji for example is simply excellent.

now why is this hotel a disaster than ?
- the location is in about the ugliest quarter pf Hangzhou. the block adjacent to the hotel consists of one "chicken"-street after another.- it couldnot be a worse area really
- to go to anywhere in Hangzhou from the hotel - city-center, Westlake, trainstation you need at least half an hour depending on the traffic it could be more - per taxi/car - thats about the only option. and if you dont have one booked in advance, expect to wait, arranging a taxxi quickly is not the strong suite of the hotel-staff. best is go there if you must by your own car.

the frontdesk staff - english-skills and suitability of this hotel for non-chinese ?
well you will get checked in and out but dont expect to be able sorting out anything except the most basic in english - i wouldnot bet on it that they could handle for ex. room-service orders trouble-free - this one is frequented predominantly by chinese as for its out-of-center location. we didnot see any other foreigners there, so the staff doesnot have much chance to practice on english

i did have a bizarre incident with the frontdesk that left me puzzled and speechless for the first time in 8 years traveling china.
when i went there i booked through booking.com - they had a special rate.package online btw
i guess thats the route most tripadvisor-users would book this one.

well, suprise suprise. - upon check-in the frontdesk bluntly said they wouldnot give us the special rate package we booked through booking.com.
there they were - having the booking-confirmation from booking.com in hands and refusing to acknowledge what we had booked.
i complained with booking.com - their reply: give us 7 days to work that out with the hotel ....... Uh, 7 days ? - i might be 6 timezones westwards in 7 days time.

so the conclusion of this stay:
- this hotel is rubbish !
- booking.com is a nice tool for booking online and is far better than for.ex. agoda, but in case there is a problem with a hotel booking, you are left on your own - their customer-service is useless basically.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I searched for awhile for a one a night stay, was gonna go with Tea Boutique or Crystal Orange, but both were fully booked. Was a little weary of booking an unknown Chinese luxury hotel, but decided to go on faith after reading some of the other reviews.

Very pleasantly surprised!! Room was very spacious, clean, well furnished, and new. Usually the pictures in the hotel websites are better than the real thing, but in this case, what you see is what you get. Bath room is extremely spacious and clean, with both a soaking tub and standing shower. Overall, the room quality is the same as a $200 night Rennaisance hotel in Shanghai.

It coms with a breakfast too. Not as good as renaissance but its free and has a good selection, so can't complain. The service of the hotel staff was great as well. Genuine care about helping the customers. Im bilingual and conversed with them in chinese, but overheard front desk staff speaking English and it was good.

The only downside was that its about a 30 yuAn taxi ride from west lake. Only there for a day so wasnt a deal breaker bc i didnt need to travel back and forth. If you do it might be a factor as hangzhou traffic can get pretty nasty.

Got a good deal on agoda for 70 usd, definitely a great bang for my buck!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for one night, very clean, very good beds, washroom clean and very bright.
Breakfast buffet was loaded with options for every taste.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. Stay was only one night. Beds very comfortable. Room well appointed. Hotel is brand new. Limited business center hours. Has nice area outside of hotel by the canal. Able to watch an old couple fishing early in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

It was a new hotel. When I stayed there, it was less then 2 months old. All the facilities are very new. However, me and other friends in a few other rooms experienced problems of internet cable connection. There was a big bathroom with shower and tub, which was good. The design was modern and classy. The glass, not wall, between the bathroom and bedroom makes the room looks very spacious. The fitness center was not opened yet when I stayed. It has good restaurants with good food.
The surrondings of the premises were construction site, nothing much to walk around. There were some shops, but were not useful to me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SanLi New Century Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SanLi New Century Grand Hotel

Address: No.538 Shaoxing Road, Xiacheng District, Hangzhou 310004, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SanLi New Century Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your SanLi New Century Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SanLi New Century Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.