We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SSAW Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SSAW Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
SSAW Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.288 Middle Shixin Road, Hangzhou 311200, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
Oxford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This place is great but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is great but and I accept that reception and waiting staff don't need to speak English, but a simple menu translation, or (god forbid, my pet hate) picture of the food on the menu, would mean that I could have had an excellent meal rather than the ok meal off of the room service menu that I actually had to have seated in the lovely restaurant.
Breakfast was also an issue as 95% Chinese patrons = 95% chinese breakfast leaving me to eat toast & jam and fruit.
These little remedies would mean I would stay here every trip I come to Hangzhou, as the decor and rooms are superb giving a relaxed feel of a cool Thai hotel! Excellent value non-the-less

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

SSAW Boutique Hotel : Boutique has been added into this hotel name to conjure up mystery and sophistication in the hope you will stay here, in reality it is hiding the fact that the location is terrible and the hotel is average. Boutique is also used as the hotels "excuse", for lack of facilities like a Gym or Pool and English TV Channels.

Location: Terrible. Not suitable location for tourists to visit central Hangzhou attractions.

The rooms are well appointed with large bathrooms, noisy timber floors (allowing you to hear every movement from adjacent rooms) and rock hard beds. The room I was assigned smelled musty, mouldy. The room was clean and did contain all the amenities you could possibly need.

Internet is provided throughout the hotel via free wifi, but in my use I found this dropped out more than stayed connected and was extremely slow. The public areas such as the cafe on the 6th floor was more stable than the room connections.

Working in the room is difficult. You can "work around" the poor wifi connection by using the LAN cable connection, but the location of power and LAN connection to the only table means that cables are stretched and hinder productive work.

Breakfast at 6th floor cafe, there where no english speaking staff. But the staff on duty did try very hard to cater for our needs. Breakfast is more Chinese orientated than to western tastes, the Chinese variety is very good and of good quality.

Security: Hassled on arrival by other (not sober) guests made the female guests uncomfortable during check in. The in room safe is too small for a standard business laptop, and in my room the safe was not even attached to any fixed structure. It could be readily moved around or out of the room. Acknowledging that in room safe should not be used for valuables anyway the hotel does offer "safe deposit" at the front desk fee of charge.

The staff are excellent! I did encounter some "no understand" shrugs which initially give the impression of "lack of caring" but given a little extra time to understand they try to accommodate your needs and are helpful when approached with issues to resolve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel resembles a top 5-star International hotel, with amenities to match. The room is spacious with excellent bathroom. The in house food is however not so 5-star and reveals it's local Chinese origins. Location is neither convenient nor tourism catered. Although there is a shopping mall attached to the hotel, the items for sale are not that appealing except to local residents. TV channels are mostly local, with one HBO channel and 2 Asian news channels in English.

The price for the accommodation is worth it though, and is a welcome retreat after a long day's work.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of rooms and stay. It is newly built next to inlong plaza, easy access to shopping areas. Rooms are very comfortable and modern. Breakfast was adequate. Would love to be back.

Room Tip: Ask for double room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel

Address: No.288 Middle Shixin Road, Hangzhou 311200, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SSAW Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.