We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jin Sha (Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at West Lake)

Jin Sha (Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at West Lake)
No.5 Lingyin Road, Hangzhou, China
+86 571 8829 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,657 Restaurants in Hangzhou
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went there with some friends based in Hangzhou. They claim this is the best Chinese Food Restaurant in Hangzhou.
The food was excellent for both taste and presentation.
The Pork Pyramid and the Thai Style Prawns Soup (a bit spicy but unforgettable) were the two best dishes I tried and I sponsor them a lot.
The location is gorgeous. It's along the lake, in city centre, but garden is so big that you feel almost isolated...
Go and get amazed...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Above expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was expecting something good - not special. Hence the title.

Dishes were innovative with use of western ingredients that mixed well with the Chinese food.

In terms of value for money I still prefer the Shangrila's chinese restaurant.

Jinsha is more expensive but worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were staying at the Four Seasons so it was easy to dine here. They lost our reservations but accommodated us. The view would be great but it was dark. The wine list was expensive, I had a cocktail instead. The service was good. Very professional but not necessarily helpful or friendly. I think perhaps our waiter was not comfortable with his pretty good English, which is understandable. We know a lot about Chinese food and did not need guidance. We shared a duck dish, a beef dish, and some very excellent spicy green beans. The food was fresh, flavorful and delicious. I don't remember it being out of line expensive. I would return and recommend. Very quality food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“should improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

the location is wonderful, interior design with good taste.
food is not bad, but for the qualitay you get much too expensive.
service is below par, very poor english spoken from staff.

high potential, but should improve a lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food below par”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We went here with high expectations partly because of the brand name and partly because of the restaurants rating. Unfortunately, we left utterly disappointed. The atmosphere around is great and the design is up to standard.
But the food was far below par for a restaurant of this reputation. There was no creativity put into any of the dishes, except in the pricing.
The taste was dull and boring and presentation was average.
We also encountered numerous service issues. The staff was very inefficient and on 3 occasions we were delivered either wrong items or requests were simply ignored.
Sorry, got to do better than this.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jin Sha (Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at West Lake) also viewed

 

Been to Jin Sha (Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at West Lake)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jin Sha (Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at West Lake), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.