We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.28 Hushu South Road, Hangzhou 310006 , China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 1,900 hotels in Hangzhou
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The service was first-class. The check in manager Daisy was friendly, polite and helpful and created an excellent impression. It was also really nice on arrival to receive a cup of hot lemon tea. Just what was needed after walking around in the cold weather! After check in, when we discovered our room didn't have a bath-tub the hotel quickly and happily moved us to another room with a bath. All of the other staff we encountered through our stay were friendly and obviously well trained, always smiling and saying hello. There were other nice touches such as an offer of free late check out if we needed it. The breakfast was excellent with a good range of both Western and Chinese options. The swimming pool and spa centre is really nice and includes a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which are great after a long day sightseeing.

The only slight issues I would note are: 1. the bathroom and bedroom in the rooms are separated only by a large glass window which means there is zero privacy when in the bathroom. There should at least be a panel of frosted glass. 2. The swimming pool water could be slightly warmer.

However, for us these were only minor complaints. Overall we had an excellent stay. Why can't all hotels train their staff as well as here? We highly recommend.

Room Tip: The higher floors (14th and 15th) have a view of West Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    88
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
31
7
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Nice exterior and the lobby area.
Greated by friendly staff and bellboy.

The concierge staff is very helpful and friendly. We are very impressed with the service provided.
Breakfast was good with variety of food. The pastry area was superb.

Staff will help to get a taxi for your convenience.

Room was clean and spacious.

Will definitely come back for my next trip to hangzhou,

The only negative point is we dont get a west lake view room. it would have be perfect by then.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Courtyard. Our request for a ‘non-smoking’ room was not registered when we arrived so they asked if we would mind taking a ‘smoking’ room instead. We took it since we were only staying the night and we couldn’t be bothered to wait for a ‘non-smoking’ room to come up. The smoking room was bearable.

The room was very basic. Yes, we could smell the smoke in the room but we got used to it after a while.

The Courtyard was in a good location – and there were a wide selection of restaurants within walking distance.

Because it shared some common facilities with the J.W. Marriott, we enjoyed the gym and pool facilities for the night.

We loved...
=========
• Good location – pretty central
• Next the JW Marriott – excellent pool facilities

We didn't like...
===========
•Very basic
•Smoky room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stay at Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin every time I travel to Hangzhou. Because I am a Marriott gold member, I got upgraded to executive level and have the access to the lounge for every stay. The staff there are just outstanding. The service and food at the happy hour at this lounge is just outstanding compares to other Courtyard I stay or even better than most of the JW hotels.

Room is spacious and clean. Location is perfect. Now you can walk to take the new subway. I would like to take this review to honor Jason, who recently got promoted, he deserved it. All young ladies who work there are just lovely and I enjoy every stay.

The front desk staff is excellent as well. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: higher floor can see the WestLake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of courtyard marriott hotel. The Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou is definitely one of the best. The hotel is less than three years old and the room is very spacious. Courtyard Wulin shared the gym and SPA with JW Marriott. Therefore, the facility is pretty much the same but Courtyard has much better price. I used the computer in the lobby to surf internet for free.

Definitely like the concierge desk. Everyone has been helpful in giving direction, help us to get train tickets and get taxi.

The location is good for shopping and restaurants. The biggest shopping mall is less than five minutes walk with more than 20 restaurants for selections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A 5-star experience in what is billed as a 4-star hotel. It is not an inexpensive hotel, but the excellent service and location makes this a great deal. I particularly like the hotel's decor. Nearby are Hangzhou's largest shopping mall, the historic Grand Canal and the famous West Lake is not that far away. Rush hour traffic is a problem until the city's subway is completed in about a year's time.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors give a view of West Lake, Hangzhou's landmark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I usually stay at the Oakwood when I go to Hangzhou, but traffic is worse day by day, so I tried the Marriott Courtyard which is at a more convenient location for me (I need to go to YanAn Rd every day)..
The hotel is new, the room is good (although much smaller than Oakwood). I had a very good price, RMB650 with no breakfast and free internet. If you want to have breakfast it's better to take the rate including it, as there are no nearby places to have western breakfast (unless you consider a KFC)
Being so central I was suprised that the hotel is not noisy at all, sleep quality was very good.
I tried the swimming pool and it was good too, clean and a good 21-22 metres to swim, and not corwded at all (it was me and another guy)
Staff is very good in general

Room Tip: As always in noisy China, ask for high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin

Address: No.28 Hushu South Road, Hangzhou 310006 , China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#103 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin makes life on the road most enjoyable. The hotel’s guest rooms feature comfortable bedding with fluffy pillows, comforters and plush mattress toppers, individual climate control thermostats, mini-bar and many extras with deluxe or executive rooms as well as spacious suites available. The executive lounge boasts spectacular views of downtown where beverages and light snacks are served daily. We're also proud to share a modern lobby where you can sit, use the personal computers, be connected to free Wi-Fi or grab something light from MoMo-to-go. Take full advantage of the on-site amenities including an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Our on site restaurant, MoMo Café offers full breakfast and all day dining serving Hong Kong tea café specialties. Whether visiting Hangzhou for business or leisure, you'll find friendly staff, many amenities and superb location at the Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hangzhou Wulin Hotel Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.